We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All 5's for El Rancho”
Review of Hotel el Rancho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Rancho
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Sosua
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“All 5's for El Rancho”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

El Rancho is perfect! Brief walk to the beaches, cafes and shopping. Clean, convenient, secure and inexpensive; we paid US $50 per night for a poolside, terrace room with a kitchenette. Stayed six days. Garden like setting with abundent hisbiscus and a large overhanging limoncillo tree. Wonderful staff: Jose, Hector, Jesus and "Soledad" the friendly hotel cat. Resturant on premises but also recommended is the Resturant Valeria in the next block and groceries try the small mercado two blocks up. Alicia Beach's Colonial Jews Park has a neat little eatery & bar. Great sunset views! Also, Luis rent a car will treat you right. Beaches charge $5 per day for two beach chairs plus umbrella and the owners will bring you drinks and food for a small price. By the way, although centerally located El Rancho is several blocks from the noisy "party" scene. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
24
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

WE LOVE THIS LITTLE HOTEL! We needed to stay one night in Sosua unexpectedly and tripped upon this wonderful little hotel that's affordable. The owner has made this place so interesting with his paintings and personal touch. Clean, quiet, safe and 2 min walk to a beautiful quiet beach. We couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff was excellent and gave us a tour of the other suites, each with its own unique decor. One suite on the third floor actually has an open grass roof which makes you feel you're really in a tropical country. Even some of the basic rooms have a small kitchenette. We will definitely be staying here again. So refreshing to stay somewhere out of the cookie cutter.

Room Tip: Top floor suites are so cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This small boutique hotel is well run by a German gentlemen and his wife. The wife is from Costa Rica so she is bi-lingual. They and the staff run a tight ship while keeping the place cozy. It's away from all the riff-raff in the town and is a block away from the nices beach in Sosua. NO VENDORS and NO ANNOYING CHARACTORS like at the main beach. The hotel also has a cool little gym which can be used 24/7. The restaurant which is by the nice small pool area is not run by the owners but leased by independant German owners and is great for all meals at excellent prices. No place better in Sosua if you have to be there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days. Pro's..#1 Quiet #2 Nice personnel #3 Restaurant food is pretty decent #4 Safe feeling.........Con's.. #1 TV's in rooms are TEENY TINY. #2 Owners keep restaurant TV on their favorite channel ignoring patrons desires...........My overall view is more positive than negative for sure........I came to this hotel as a recommendation after my safe box was tampered with and $520 stolen from me at Hotel Europa. Initially I thought it was housekeeping but upon further inquiries I was told it was surely done by Diego the owner of Europa. Never stay there. El Rancho was waaaaaaaayyyyyyy better

Room Tip: I stayed on a 1st floor room. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skatepaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I am a little hesitant to write this as I am afraid Hotel El Rancho will become so popular I won't be able to afford to stay there in June when I come back to Sosua. I stayed there 19 March - 27 March. The location was ideal to Sosua nightlife, restaurants, Mel Tours and a great little beach just a short block away. But, what made this hotel stand out were the family atmosphere that the owners instilled in every facet of the operation. The maids were courteous and professional; Carlos on the front desk was helpful and often went out of his way to ensure my stay was great. Mayela, the owner could not have been nicer. I felt as if I was a visitor in her home as opposed to a paying customer. Loved my vacation in Sosua and can't wait to come back. I am sure it will be like coming home. Literally!

Room Tip: email ahead and ask that they set up taxi service from the airport for you. Also, get the a room fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RealMikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I`ve been to El Rancho on and off for short periods, and the place is excellent for its budget. Hard to see someone that had no hot water and didn`t tell the staff, then posted about it on TA, so unfair to the H industry. I did call staff once for a minor fix and it was done within the hour, they profusely apologized ( I tip well ). The place is close to a nice beach in Sosua called Playa Alicia, on the calle sin salida. The rooms of El Rancho are clean, there`s a decent swimming pool and a small restaurant with great breakfast. There`s no elevator but these days we all need a walk, for good health. Stay as long as you want, this place is low priced and the owner wants to keep it a quiet haven, no loud party people allowed..

Room Tip: get the penthouse, definitely the best unit in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in hotel in Feb 2012. Spent a couple of nights. The hotel is located in a quiet corner not far away for the main streets. The staff is friendly. The rooms are very basic, but clean.

The negative part is, that I didn't have hot water for my entire stay. I don't mind showering with cold water during the day, but in the evenings, it was not that pleasant. I personally didn't want to complain, it's not my style, but for for you to know what to expect.

FYI: They would also charge you $ 30 USD for the remote controls (AC, TV, and Sat receiver). The money was fully refunded. No problem.

Dr. MAK.

Room Tip: A good deal if you are looking for a hotel room on the spot. No reservation required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dr_MAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 34 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#7 of 34 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 34 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropix Hotel
Tropix Hotel
#6 of 34 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Rancho

Property: Hotel el Rancho
Address: Calle Dr. Rosen 36, Sosua 1809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel el Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing