We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s ok”

Jolly Roger Bar & Grill
Ranked #3 of 136 Restaurants in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: American, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

I have been here many times over the years. The price it a little high and food isn’t that good. I mainly go to smoke a cigar and drink a beer!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank SantiagoHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyandKelly, Owner at Jolly Roger Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Hi, we always appreciate that people have taken their personal time to write a review on our behalf. Yes, sometimes the reviews are not always positive and we chalk that up to, "we can't always please everyone" though we do try. We offer a pub grub style menu and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the food but do respect your opinion. However, we will disagree with you stating our prices are high. Our local beer is $110rd (just over $2USD), local draft beer is .80rd (under $2USD), cuba libre/santo libre is .90rd (under $2USD), along with any of our bar liqour, Corona is $180rd (under $4USD), etc, etc. Our average food price is less than $300rd(less than $6USD). We try very hard to be competitive within our market. Take care and thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 424 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2019

Great Spot to go for food, and drinks.
right in the heart of Sosua,
English service available, great rates.
Canadian Owners!!!!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Great place to hang out and people watch without getting "harassed". The owners are awesome and the staff are very attentive and understand/speak English well. Coldest and cleanest draft (Presidente Light) on the island. Your typical, but good, bar food with the exceptions of daily specials that are always aiming to please the most pickiest pallets.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doc1234562009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

the food is good but sometimes pricey for what you get.except for the fish and chips (which sucks}.couldnt find anyone that liked the fish and chips there.has presedante on draft. they do charity events to raise money for several local places.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank bbob140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyandKelly, Owner at Jolly Roger Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Hi, thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Jolly. I am sorry to hear you think the fish sucks. We do run into a problem at times because many people are expecting a battered fish that they have in Canada or the US. The fish here is not a dry fish, like cod or halibut. It does have some moisture in it. Our cooks do what they can to take it out but it is deceiving as some think it is not cooked enough. Any time you are with us please let us know when it is not up to your standards. We are very accommodating and only want the best for our customers. Hopefully you will return and give it another try. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

This is a delightful bar were ex-pats hang out in the bar area of Sosua. It offers a different experience from the rest, with bingo, good food, cold beer, friendly staff, and an overall enjoyable atmosphere. Unlike most of the rest of the bars in the area, prostitutes were not a problem.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger Bar & Grill also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Jolly Roger Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing