We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place with nice and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place with nice and helpful staff”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best thing with this place is the actual location, walking distance to everything around Sosua. Even if it is that "central" of Sosua there is no noise at all in the evening that disturbs sleep. The rooms are at good standard (some of them under renovation), I stayed in one of the separated concrete bungalows and that was very nice. The staff both on the manager (Wilfried) side and also the others that are working in the hotel are very friendly and helpful.
So I recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fozzie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    117
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
1
14
176
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I love this place it's in a great location the staff is great the hotel is only two blocks in both direction away from the beach an the main strip of the night life. I would definitely stay here again the breakfast was great an all the other meals are inexpensive

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Isseperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This is my new place to stay in Sosua. It is off the main strip tucked away so not as much street noise. I feel more secure here. There is a large pool. A bar on site. And the food is real good. Tbe rates and rooms are comparable to other hotels in are

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank BELLYWOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had no problem with reservations and the staff was professional .they have an on site kitchen food was great !! I wouldn't advise this hotel for families but the price is fair and the location is near the beach and the nightclubs .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank cjlemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Casa Cayena is a nice oasis at a fair price. I stayed for 5 days in a pool-side room and couldn't have been more pleased with the staff, ambiance and overall service. The hotel's best quality is quiet. Its located at the end of a major street. No traffic or noisy motor coaches or people hanging around out front. Best of off, its just a short walk to a great beach, which has free wifi. The staff is friendly and the front desk knowledgable. For instance, the staff mentioned that a famous Dominican singer and band was performing at a club off the main drag. What a great dance party! I've stayed at many of Sosua's better hotels and, for my money, Casa Cayena is a great choice.

Room Tip: Go with a pool-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Primo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I only spent one night here due to my hot water requirement but the hotel had Decent breakfast, Clean rooms, 2 min walk to the beach almost perfect accept the AC didnt work and there was no hot water. It cost me $64 which is high considering the options however the location is what made this place ideal.

Room Tip: The rooms seemed to be the same throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Loco60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCayena, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sosua Sunrise, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
The Casa Cayena management team is disappointed to hear of such issues and hopefully you brought up the issues with Wilfried, the on-site manager. Knowing Wilfried, I’m sure he would have done everything to correct the problems as soon as possible.

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. We appreciate all feedback. We have a new team in place and we are doing all that we can to make Casa Cayena the best hotel in the Dominican Republic! Please return and give us a chance to prove it to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was down in Sosua for the Superbowl weekend with about 20 or so friends. They all stayed over at the Hot Box ( as I call it ) the Sea Breeze Hotel.

The friends who stayed at the Sea Breeze ALL wished they where here with me @ Casa Cayena.

This was my first stay here at this hotel, Casa Cayena.

My stay was perfect. I got the R & R I was looking for.

That weekend in Sosua has become NYC South = with ALL guys from NYPD / NYFD / MTA / Corrections and Sanitation.

Someone let the word out and now the streets are overrun with friends.

The hotel was a nice sancuary off the main strip and steps from a newly formed beach that was quiet and peaceful = I saw 2 or 3 Humpback Whales right off-shore one late afternoon.

Hotel offers free breakfeast every morning which was a nice deal.

New Manger / Owner is a true gentleman who is out to do the right thing by his guests.

My next stay in Sosua will be here at Casa Cayena.

First floor rooms are great and lead right out to the pool.

i hope they keep the prices in check!!!

Thank you to the staff at the hotel for making my Superbowl 2013 one of the best!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor to be close to the pool area!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank New-Yorker--Solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.1 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sosua
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 31 in Sosua
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa-22
Casa-22
#9 of 31 in Sosua
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sosua by the Sea
Sosua by the Sea
#6 of 31 in Sosua
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sosua Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sosua Sunrise

Property: Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Address: Calle Dr. Rosen No 25 | El Batey, Sosua 57600, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel Casa Cayena)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sosua Sunrise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilfried, owner and manager, welcomes you to the Hotel Sosua Sunrise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sosua Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing