We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the price...”
Review of Sosua Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sosua Bay Resort
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I just return from the dominican republic. i was at the Sosua Bay Resort. It was very very nice! The room was nice, clean. I had the chance to have a room with a view to the beach. The public toilet in the hall or in the hotel was INCREDIBLY clean and smell very good every day! it was a change after the toilets of Cuba! The food was good, and i'm a picky eater. They had a theme dinner every night, so it make a change of the buffet food every night. The shows was good, but i just saw 1 of the show because i was out every night! And after the shows, between 10pm to 11, everything became dead. So if you want to party, you have to go to Cabarete, 15 minutes in taxi from the hotel. So i will say for the hotel, nothing to complain. Yes it has a lot of stairs to climb, but after dinner it is good to help you digest! :) The only thing negative is that the beach is public, so you have to pay for a chair and an umbrella, unless you don't mind laying on your towel. And the fact that the beach is public, it is open to all kind of vendors you can imagine... peanut, fruits, cheap necklaces, every thing! And yes, in that sector of Puerto Plata, it is an heaven for prostitution. So be prepare to that. And to say No, nada to vendors a lot!!!! A LOT! It is frustating at last, and at the end i was aggressive. And don't take the tour to go to Puerto Plata to ''buy'' your gifts! It is not the good way to do it! Go on the streets of Sosua, Especially the boutique of Wendy's gift store, 5 minutes of the hotel, you take the street in front of the Vistorian House and go strait one corner... and See Bonita at the jewellery in the hotel lobby... she is lovely!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josjos007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Sosua Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at this resort from 12 march to 19th march... After reading all the negative things wrote about this resort I had some issues about going there. However, I certainly would return there. I work at a 5* hotel and did not expect great things there. But i was not disappointed. Staff are super great without bothering you. You can easily walk about the town without being bothered . Hellos and smiles are freely offered. There is a shopping area just beyond the hotel where you can buy just about anything and bartering is expected. A firm No and you dont have to go into the" shop" if you dont want to . Food was not the best altho alot was offered . I guess I am just picky.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvvacationNfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

i travelled alone and stayed from the 5TH-7TH jan.i chose this place cos it was close to the airport,u could walk into town& it was adjacent to a good beach.
loved the reception area/lounge -top drawer,and found the front desk fast &efficient.my room was freshly decorated,the bathroom clean if a bit tired.aircon worked fine,only one mozzy swiftly eliminated,bed ok but nasty cheap sheets.tipped the maid big and fast,and the room stayed well maintained
had to pay $20 for the safe,is that robbery?
the restaurant was very pleasant.the food varied & of good quality,although maybe not meaty enough for the north americans.coudn,t get any wine service until i tipped and then everyone wanted to serve me.
didnt do entertainment,but as ever enjoyed the sheer energy of the team around the pool.one of the sad things about the all inclusives is that in order to make the sums add up the drinks are of appalling quality and of very limited choice,"have another glass of ++++,my gringo friend" .sunbed selfishness was at a world class level most days,lots more towels than people,for huge parts of the day.
you walk out of reception,straight into the bustling or is that hastling village with its seedy bars,with their seedy punters& bar girls.i found the touting so irritating,id only go out early morning,but still got "inglesi,u want fresh girl"at 8.00 am
this resort seems to me to have lost any charm it may have had in its understandable quest to part the tourist from his money.
not my best holiday choice ever ,oh well on to the next one!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelshopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

A simple review if ou love Food and and entertainment at night this is the Spot,
on the other hand it Lacks a Beach front per say as is is located to the Side of the Hotel where all the Locals are waiting for you daily, to sell you hair extension Beach Chairs, as well the local Bazzar and flea Market are Virtually 70 meters or 100 feet from the Hotel,
the Hotel accomodations were listed as a 4 Star plus but we observed more of a 3 star rating, the bathrooms in both our rooms needed some repair, the Showers werent working properly in both, but the service to come and repair them was A1.
tTHE SINGLE MOST ANNOYING THING WAS they had salesman the whole 7 days selling time sharing, morning till night, and we dread walking by them each day not to get the pitch thrown at us one more time. they were promoting a new hotel the chain had opened relentlessly, I recommend this if there are no time sharing sales people at the Hotel and rate it a 3 1/2 star only
P.s the kitchen Staff and entertainement were 5 Stars
and the Bonus at that date was the Miss Italia Dominican Republic Pageant, Basically Local Girl From the DR with Italian heritage a one point,

GY

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank my2cents2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We stayed at the middle of november for two weeks, this hotel does not suit english people, there are not very many who stay here and german/ dutch people seem to be prefered here.

We had to do deal with unclean rooms, it is marked as 4 * hotel i would disagree completely, the hotel is very dangerous especially if the bad weather hits, there are concrete stairs every where so if you have any problems with mobility not a hotel for you!

Food is up and down not very varied, even the a la carte restaurants are basic and a bit of a letdown, during our stay we had two air conditioning machines brake down, but even when operative dont give much cold air. This sums up the hotel it is very tired and old and is not a true reflection of the picture we booked with in the thomson book.

We had a couple of rainy days which was a relief due to the heat but sosua is very poor and are not many things to do so time is often used watching tv.

Staff favour the foreign nationals and communication is very difficult, there are many better hotels in the area.

Please choose wisely

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JasonAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
Thank AngiJakobstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Katrinenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.0 mi away
Exxtraordinary Resort
Exxtraordinary Resort
#22 of 30 in Sosua
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ahnvee Resort & Sports
0.2 mi away
Victorian House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa-22
Casa-22
#10 of 30 in Sosua
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#8 of 30 in Sosua
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sosua Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sosua Bay Resort

Address: Calle Dr. Alejo Martinez 1, El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sosua
Price Range: $101 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sosua Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Sosua Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing