We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Valeria Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Sosua
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Diner, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: "City" Bar & Restaurant is a small, stylish restaurant located in the Casa Valeria Hotel, perfect for breakfast, lunch or romantic dinner. The cozy bar is a great spot for cocktails. Our staff has many years of training and experience, working at several restaurants. We have developed our menu to appeal to the diverse tastes of our international patrons. Our meals are prepared with extreme care and high quality ingredients. We wash our vegetables very carefully. Our goal is to serve a very tasteful meal, cooked with great care and outstanding cleanliness. Restaurant Casa Valeria is located near the entrance of the Casa Valeria Hotel, one of Sosua's first hotels. The restaurant is a short stroll from the gorgeous Sosua Beach, and just steps from the nightlife district. We are looking forward to see and serve you!!!
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We met the owner Adrien, who took us on a tour of the hotel and eatery. The meal was so good we went twice during our stay at Sosua. Great presentation and even better taste.

Nice atmosphere and yes, we did bring our own wine on both occasions. Worth the drive from Cabaret Beach or Playa Plata for this dinner.

Will eat there again if I'm back near there...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beachfiinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 189 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

This small inn with approximately 11 rooms..is super included is breakfast which runs too noon great if u r a late sleeper..breakfast choices r variety coffee and smoothies r great..large portions won't b disappointed. Waitress and staff helpful and friendly.

Thank Dbo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We payed around 30$ for 5 people including drinks, awesome! Very nice staff, great food, nice atmosphere. Perfect place for a nice little lunch.
The variety of food is not sooo big, but everything we ordered was delicious and We'll come back :)

Thank FeliPuderzucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went here for lunch, as everyone has said the food was good. Our order took over an hour to come and it was an avocado salad that was so small left me hungry and ingredients missing.My friends pasta was okay. We had asked for some of the items on the menu but were told they could only be served later in the day (it was 2pm). I am not sure if I would give it a second chance , jury still out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SMF08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We should have been warned by the lack of visitors but decided to trust the TripAdvisor rating. Initial ordering was done by someone who did not speak English at all. Another English speaking waitress replaced her. When ordering, it appeared that basic menu entries were not available. My meat was rather good but my partner's fish was spoiled by abundant use of black sesame seeds. After asking for the bill, we noticed that our waitress left the restaurant. After 10 minutes it appeared that she had not arranged for a handover before her departure. Poor service. Don't recommend.

Thank Don_Leone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arien V, Owner at Casa Valeria Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Don Leone,
Thanks for your review, we are sorry that you are not happy with our service and it is a pity you did not share that with us when you were here. It is indeed a problem to communicate sometimes if you are in a foreign country where the native language is Spanish and you can't communicate in your home language (Dutch) but have to use English instead. To your points: entrada's : you asked for the avocado salad, which indeed was not available as the avocado is a seasonal fruit, which is just ending around this time of the year, consequently we were indeed not able to serve that.
Main dish. Your are 100% correct, your wife's Sesami Grouper has a lot black sesame seeds, that s why it is called Sesami Grouper.....! If due to the language issue you were not happy with what you had ordered, we would have been happy to replace it by an other dish if you had asked for. For the last point you are perfectly correct, waiting for your bill for 10 minutes is to long, we are sorry for that ! We hope that we clarified a little the points you have mentioned and would be happy to serve you correctly during a next visit.
Best regards
Arien / Casa Valeria Bring Your Own Wine Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Valeria Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Casa Valeria Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing