We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Veintiuno
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa-22(Sosua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
282
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastamazing hostsour honeymoondominican republicrefreshing poolfresh ingredientscrusty breadchocolate mousseyogurtraviolicoco locofive nightssosua beachdouble showerpineapplewelcome drinkshrimp
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 287 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Without doubt my wife and I would recommend staying at Casa Veintiuno if you are traveling in the Sosua area. Mark and Saskia were amazing hosts and the hotel was a great secluded gem. There are only 3 other guest rooms so it is a great way to actually unwind and relax w/o all the hustle and bustle of the all-inclusive resorts. Food was the best in town and the pool is great. Walk to the beach is under 5 minutes and it's a very nice beach with scuba (Holland diving was what we used and the instructor, Peter, was a really nice owner who was the dive instructor as well - highly recommended).
If/when we are in the area again, we will be staying here!
can't go wrong!

Room Tip: we were in suite 2
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texastech2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Casa Veintiuno after a particularly tough winter stretch in NYC. It snowed so much...and our jobs were so stressful...and I decided to find someplace warm, someplace comforting and someplace remote. I found Sosua, Marc, Saskia, and Casa Veintiuno.

Normally after a bleak couple of months it takes us at least a few days to unwind, but it took just hours as we melted into the warmth of our hosts and the sunshine.

Our room was beautiful and we quickly realized we were staying at the best hotel in the region, but the most pleasant surprise was the food they served at breakfast and dinner. Fresh fish (weirdly, there isn't a lot of fresh fish served at local restaurants), tasty fruit, crunchy veggies and fresh juice were thoroughly enjoyable.

Marc & Saskia couldn't have been more sensitive to our needs, and they seemed to always be in tune to what we needed. They were present without being oppressive. We noticed and were appreciative of that...

All the rooms were beautiful, the pool was serene, and the beach was just a few minutes away. We took time to ride horses and explore the nearby areas, but we mostly used the time to replenish and relax in the sun...and enjoy the food and people around us.

You'll notice all the little touches Marc and Saskia provide (I don't want to spoil the experience by giving them away) and I don't think it's possible to regret a trip to Casa Veintiuno.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oogie300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We were looking for a place to spend our honeymoon. The plan was to do nothing, just lay in the sun. The Casa21 sounded perfect and after reading all the reviews, it was the only option for us.

When we were making the reservation Saskia was extremely helpful and the feeling that we have chosen the right place for us became stronger after each email. Our flight landed in Santo Domingo and Saskia had arranged taxi driver named Andy to take us from airport to the Bus station. Andy had reserved the bus tickets in advance, which was very good because the Bus was full. Bus was very new and comfortable so the four hour drive from Santo Domingo to Sosua was not that bad.

Casa Veintiuno was perfect for us. The breakfast was extremely good. From fresh fruits to omelette and croissants with Speculoos pasta. (Sorry Saskia that I ate all the Speculoos.) The dinner was also very good, every day. We ate at couple of other places but we would recommend the Casa Veintiuno.

Casa Veintiuno was very peaceful place. You could just lay and do nothing. And the beaches were very close if you wanted to lay on the sand. And Blanqito the dog was friendly and funny. But if you don't like dogs he leaves you alone.
We had a great time, thanks to Saskia, Marc & Blanqito :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mosqito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I realize this is extremely long overdue, but I did not forget to write our review! ☺ Since the reviews from Trip Advisor sealed the deal for us in booking Casaveintiuno for our Honeymoon, I had to add our two cents!

Now, where do I even begin? We booked our stay for Casaveintiuno for after Christmas and through the New Year. A perfect escape from the dead of winter! The months and weeks leading up to our travels, Saskia & Marc were hospitable toward us before we ever arrived. Their responses via e-mail were prompt. Any questions or concerns we had were addressed almost immediately.

Upon our arrival, Saskia greeted us with warm hugs and sweet hellos. No need to bother with the taxi men right out of the gate— with the week-long stay, Casaveintiuno provided our transportation to and from the airport. ☺ After we got settled in to our rooms all dressed in crisp white with a few tropical touches, we enjoyed our Welcome Cocktail—a signature Mojito—on the relaxing patio.

Going into our honeymoon in the Dominican, we considered taking part in various excursions and activities, but after we tasted the relaxing get-a-way feeling offered at Casaveintiuno, we were addicted. If you are in need of some serious relaxation in a retreat-like atmosphere, this B&B is exactly that. Here is what our time looked like at Casaveintiuno: Rise and shine, eat a breakfast fit for a king, read a book by the pool, take a nap, lunch (at the restaurant or in town), lay on the beach (3 to choose from), wander into town (a 5-10 minute walk from Casaveintiuno to the centre), come back to rest and freshen up, sip on a drink or two, dinner (& don’t forget the dessert!) topping it off with an evening wrapped up in poolside conversation with Saskia, Marc, and a few fine British friends we made during our stay. ☺

Our time in Sosua was particularly special, because we were there over New Year’s. Saskia called up a taxi for us to take over to Cabarete, a small but lively town just a few miles East of Sosua. Every restaurant/bar in Cabarete had a DJ and dance area right on the sand of the beach. We arrived just in time to hear the countdown as fireworks were leaving the white sand, bustling through the air, and exploding at what seemed just a few feet over our heads. An experience never to be forgotten. ☺

Now. The restaurant and food deserve a review all to themselves. Exquisite. Delicious. And UNBELIEVABLY GOOD. ☺ You cannot go wrong with anything you choose off of that menu. BREAKFAST? Omelette made to your liking, a wonderful Belgian spread called Speculoos (it’s amazing on croissants), sweet homemade pancakes, and tropical fruits of various shapes, colors, and textures. I could go on and on. Everything is made FRESH. Want lobster? Sure, just let them know a day or two in advance, and they can call up their fisherman so he knows to catch some that day. ☺ We tried to convince Marc to at least teach us the recipes for all of the different sauces they use in the various dishes. Each one of them…to.die.for. ☺

Saskia and Marc are so laid back and easy going, and by the end of the week, we considered them more as our friends than our hotel management. ☺ The entire crew at Casaveintiuno became familiar faces we didn’t want to leave behind, including a loving pup named Blancito . ☺ He’ll even give you a handshake, if you know the special Flemish command! ☺ We just adored everything about our entire experience at Casaveintiuno, and couldn’t have asked or dreamed of more perfect, relaxing honeymoon. We love Saskia, Marc, Blancito and the whole crew at Casaveintiuno!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLuikens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The reviews are accurate, there is something undeniably special about this place. The attention to detail is simply unmatched and is evident throughout- in the rooms, pool area, restaurant, and especially the staff. Saskia and Marc go above and beyond to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. Marc makes sure the food is top-notch and Saskia helps you plan your activities according to your interests. There are so many great activities (we did the monkey jungle and horse-back riding which were both great!). Also, nearby Sosua beach may not be for everyone, but it is great for people who are looking to immerse themselves in Dominican culture. Caberete is just a short cab ride away and is a little bit nicer beach (or at least more touristy)- and also a great place to go for dinner. I couldn't be happier with our stay at Casa 21.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quirkkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews