We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time.”

Morua Mai Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual Dinning in an open air ambiance ,,
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I went there by happenstance...the typical tourists walking around a new place. We had been told that if we left the resort and went in some where that didn't have prices posted - to find out the price first for a drink before sitting down for one because we could get really gouged.
Not only did I not experience that here, I didn't anywhere in Sosua.
I found this place exceptional for customer service...it wasn't busy, mind you, but they were extremely friendly. The prices were good.
The guacamole is phenomenal.
We enjoyed sitting at the bar rather than a table...the beer is FROSTY cold.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Behhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    77
    42
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must stop in Sosua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I go here every year when I am visiting Sosua. The food and atmosphere are incredible. One of the best in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“Host With The Most”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Raphael and Alexandra have been the best that Sosua has to offer for years. My wife and I have been travelling to the Sosua area for about 15 years now and always feel like we're home when we see Raphael and Alexandra. Their hospitality is unmatched by anyone, they have a laid-back but very professional approach to catering to their guests. The food is top notch quality and delicious, and the service is fantastic. No matter what resort we stay at, we always go to Morua Mai for at least 3 or 4 meals, breakfast, lunch or dinner. We can't say enough good things about Raphael and Alexandra. They are great people and they have a great restaurant. See ya next year. Steve & Lucy from Windsor, Ontario, Canada.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've eaten there a couple of times. The food is good, the owner is a great guy and we had a great conversation each time. The prices are in reason. Myself and the group that I travel with stop by on each of our visits to Sosua.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh what a night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This establishment was recommended by a owner of a different eating establishment. Upon arrival our evening quickly went downhill. The server became very distant when we indicated to him we did not want to drink that night. He did not answer questions that were asked. He fell short on the service end and the food was all right. If service in this place revolved around drinks being served then don't go if you don't drink

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark9854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morua Mai Restaurant also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Morua Mai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing