We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fior di Loto Hotel(Juan Dolio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Real Resort(Juan Dolio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NEPTUNO'S REFUGIO(Boca Chica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
114
56
22
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
56
22
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgated communityhotel shuttlefree breakfastshuttle servicebusiness centermlb playerspool bar was not openhighest caliberdominican republicprivate beachmeeting rooma great place to stayrooms are clean and comfortableplay golfbig poolsafe arearestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 223 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Embassy Suites name has been removed from the building and everywhere inside. Hotel seems to be heading downhill. Rooms are clean, but old. The breakfast is simply "OK". The gym equipment needs attention. Pool area is nice. Unless you play golf, there is NOTHING to do at resort but relax at the pool. Surrounding areas are not safe, especially at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JetBlueDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've been there in March 2012 for a wedding and really enjoyed our stay. They have a shuttle to the beach. Very good breakfast and nice staff.
Big rooms with good amenities. The beach is fine as well. Overall Juan Dolio is a nice place for a vacation. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glushkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed over with my wife for several days and the service and amenities were terrific. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the facility was clean and very quiet. Our room was facing the pool which added a very relaxing view. Breakfast was excellent and the organic/natural juices really added a touch of class to it. Just need to add more variety of cognac to the bar (Hennessy, Remy Martin, Couvassier…). However, this does not take anything away from the quality of service or the facility. The private beach with the bungalows’/bohios in the water was first class. We will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank arthur1965_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Hodelpa Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Great Review & Headline... Top Notch

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all of our facilities including the private beach club..
We will certainly look into placing more varieties of cognac's at our bar..

We look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Sincerely
David Meakin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Hotel is OK if your are looking for a place to Relax and do nothing. Breakfast was very good, room is old furnitured, golf at the facility but NO beach. The surrounding areas (Juan Dolio) have several restaurants beachfront but not too secure latenight, so not good place for the whole family.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Vandmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Hodelpa Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor
We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We hope you will come back again soon with your family..

Once again thank you from all of us at Embassy Suites!

Sincerely
David Meakin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As expected, the Embassy Suites Juan Dolio turned out to be a very relaxing place to spend the night in. Heading back from La Romana towards Santo Domingo, it was certainly a worthwhile night stop with two of my kids aged 12 and 15.

The buffet breakfast spread was most welcome. The property in itself, being in a sort of posh residential compound made the stay feel like more of a home away from home.

Although the hotel is not a beachfront property, vans shuttle guests to and from an exclusive beach property that belongs to the Embassy Suites. Savour the beds on the water!

Tip: Even if you are in rush to get a room and if you have not made an advanced booking, try asking the hotel desk first before taking one that is offered by an online travel agency. It turned out that ours should have been cheaper by USD25 if I had asked the desk first.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CasaYsabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews