We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're Back!”
Review of El Lobo & La Sal Cocina de Mar - CLOSED

El Lobo & La Sal Cocina de Mar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Branson, Mo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We're Back!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Follow up from my review last year. We returned to the DR for two weeks the end of January 2014. We had such a great time at El Lobo last year we were anxious to return. The Sunday afternoon music on the beach is fantastic. Although our new friend Joel (owner and chef) was not there this time, Amy took great care of us and is now our new Amiga. The food is outstanding, service first class and you can't beat the perfect location right on the beach. We enjoyed it so much, we returned for our final night dinner before coming home. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darney_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must visit while in Juan Dolio”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great little spot to eat in in Juan Dolio. Found this little gem on trip advisor. So glad we went! Fresh food served with a beautiful view right on the beach. The owner came to our table and introduced himself, which I though was a nice touch too. The fried fish and Ceviche were my top picks. Oh, and the ice cold Presidente is always nice :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 19Aimz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A good place”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

On our way from Samana to punta Cana, we stopped at El Lobo y La Sal en Juan Dolio.
We had a good time there. Nice place, directly on the beach.
It is clean and the staff is very nice.
The food was OK to good, as well as the service.
The main drwaback is that when you seat inside (I mean on the covered terrace), the position of the umbrellas on the beach in front of the restaurant hide the view over the sea... Why, when you have such a nice spot on the beach, would you waste such a nice view with those ugly sun umbrellas ??? Set them higher or change the location of the beach tables, but please open up that nice view !
All in all, a nice place, somewhere between average and very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious, Seafood Flavors by the Sea”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My dear friend Chef Rosa Maria (very well known as La Chefa in Dominican Republic) and her husband took us to this seaside culinary paradise a couple of weeks ago. It was a sunny, breezy day and while the entrance to El Lobo y La Sal (the wolf and the salt) is unassuming, once you enter, you are hit by the aromas of the kitchen, the courteous service and the sea breeze; a piece of heaven on earth.
We put ourselves in the hands of Owner Chef Joel and he proceeded to seduce our palate beginning with the traditional Dominican "Johnny Cakes” which we savored with his homemade Pickled Onion Relish. He also brought out his version of chimichurri which went great with some homemade sausages he prepares.

This was followed by an incredible presentation of a multi-flavored dish of shrimp ceviche, that had an avocado foam, some pepperoncini with saffron and sweet " gofio" - each of these flavors were set separate, so each bite had a different texture, plus the opportunity to combine flavors to your liking.

And a final convenience is that the restaurant is in the seaside town of Juan Dolio, 15 minutes from the international airport of Santo Domingo; so, if you land early and hungry its a close taxi ride; and if you want to stop before departing it also works. ENJOY!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMercedReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I went to this place base on previews reviews, the food is Terrible and overpriced. There are better option for better price in the area,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Asoto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lobo & La Sal Cocina de Mar also viewed

Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
 
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing