We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort for lovers and families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice resort for lovers and families”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Arrived on a Sunday, check-in was non-eventful. The initial room had two queen beds, but was only a couple. Room was also over the disco, which makes a difference at 2AM. Next morning, upgraded to VIP status. Higher floor with lower living area & verandah and upper bed with king size bed. Nice!

The VIP service was due to signing up for the IVC (vacation club). Not quite like a timeshare, but similar in marketing and execution.

The food was basic all-inclusive fare, but trying everything revealed what was worth going back for. The staff was friendly, helpful and ultimately treated us like family.

The resort has disco, casino, several non-cafeteria restaurants (Mexican, Italian, and Dominican), spa, pools, beaches (regular and VIP).

The beginning of the week was filled with mostly Euros and Canucks, but by Friday, the Dominican families blanketed the place. I love Dominicanos, but if you are not comfortable with the culture, or don't speak Spanish, Sunday-Friday are best.

As a VIP I will return. And the fact that I joined a vacation club says a lot!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank thiawroane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Hotel, Resort, Spa & Casino family is pleased to extend you our cordial greetings.

We thank you for your kind comments toward the service offered for some of our staff members, in addition to this and regarding the remarks you made to our general service, we should inform you that our Resort acknowledges that essentially through the staff courtesy, rooms comfort, cleanliness and pleasant environment, our Hotel is able to reassure the experience our clients expect during their vacations.
Although goal is to have all of our guest leave this resort completely satisfied and with plans to return.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel and will look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    558
    425
    350
    428
See reviews for
499
643
124
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

toilets did not work shower did not work took 4 days to get the upgraded room I paid for.All members of my party were sick due to food which was blah at best.
Staff were nice with acceptation of front desk which just paid lip service with no results The tour rep was only available once during week leaving no one to act on my behalf.
Do yourself a favour and spend the extra and get a real resort not one that is run down and looks like they have not done anything to it in the last 10 years I travel couple times a year and I found this place on the bottom of my list just read the other reviews to confirm.

Room Tip: book at another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure for Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino offer our cordial
We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences or discontent that you have had with the resort during you stay here.

We are also grateful for you mentioning the staff that offers a great service and we regret if at any particular moment you had the perception of not receiving an adequate service from our reception staff.

Please, let us inform you that our hotel is constantly developing improvements through modernization and embellishing of our areas. We have recently made improvements to our rooms, Disco, Snack Bar, meeting rooms, Buffet Restaurant and our recreation areas. We believe these innovations improve the hotel in comparison to previous years. We guarantee our customers continue working to improve our facilities.
We hope to have the occasion of receiving you in our Resort again in the near future, with the intention of improving the impression you have of our Hotel.

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Juan Dolio hotels

Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have read some of these reviews and people seemed to have high expectations of this resort - I don't know why. This is not a five star resort - it is probably a 3 star. That's why it is so inexpensive. I got my money's worth - decent food, a clean room, great beach, good entertainment (loved the shows) and okay drinks. The service is okay - a bit slow if you ask for extra towels. But most of the staff go out of their way to make the stay pleasant. My only complaint is if they can keep the vendors on the beach from bothering the guests - a bit of a put-off. But here you get to hang out with people from all over the world and the DR and have a great time. This is not a five star hotel so don't expect it to be perfect. You are not paying the prices for a five star hotel. It has a small casino if you like that sort of entertainment. The night club is great.

Room Tip: Ask if the rooms on the beach in the suits are available - may cost a bit more but definitely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Missguyana703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela G, E-commerce at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Client:

Please receive our warmest regards from Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino. At the time we thank you for your remarkable comments about our services and our entertainment team “The Chocolate Friends”.

We offer you our apologies if in any particular manner you felt uncomfortable due to the souvenir offer that some salesmen do when passing on the beach. We can assure you that it is not their intention to cause our dear guests any discomfort with this, but on the contraire their purpose is to provide our guests, always they are interested, with the very valued service of offering a souvenir of our country to take home.

We thank you for sharing your experience in our Resort and we hope to welcome you again in our property in the near future.

Regards,

Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

this is a awful resort. they should closed. the only thing about it is the staff and the beach. Everything else is horrible.

food without flavor, lack of salt. We had a mexican nigth and they didnt have chicken
we went to italian restaurant and they didnt have parmesan cheese
i spend 3 days and neither of them, the didnt have amareto licor in the bar
the pina coladas where serve with ice,

a women told me that when she was taking a bath the water run out.

when they gave me the room, the towels were dirty, the a/c was poor, the beds very incortable and the shower didnt work, and the spend 3 hours fixing it.

the first day we could get any beach towels they run out of clean ones.

the security of the hotel is really poor.

better go to playa esmeralda resort, my mother was there the same weekend and she had a blast.

the hotel is very old and the havent made renovations to it.

Room Tip: if u still have to go, choose a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela G, E-commerce at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Hotel, Resort, Spa & Casino family is pleased to extend you our most cordial greetings.

Here at The Coral Costa Caribe we pride ourselves on offering a wide range of high quality food specially prepared for the wide diversity of our guests. We’re sure to offer each of our valued customers some delightful meals with the splendid and desired seasoning of the Caribbean. We are here to ensure you have a good mealtime no matter which Restaurant you choose, whether it's a company event or meal with family and, or friends. Our Restaurants menus offer a mix of top quality Cuisine and popular national and international variety so our dear clients can relish different flavors within the amusing-friendly ambience of our Hotel Restaurants.

Our hotel through our Housekeeping department aims to deliver high standards of service, working with their best disposition, as part of their responsibilities on a daily basis our housekeeping staff revises every room and proceeds to change the towels according to the procedure established in our environmental friendly policy, whilst providing clean towels and bed linen is integral to supply a quality service, many guests are happy to have their towels and sheets changed less frequently to help reduce the environmental impact of our operation.

We should inform you that we have a great security staff to provide our guest the comfort and security of being home, we offer you our apologies if in any particular manner you felt insecure.

We thank you for sharing your experience in our Resort and we hope to welcome you again in our property in the near future.

Regards,

Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We read a ton of review before we picked this hotel. But, when Groupon published a deal, we decided to give it a try. First of all, we checked all the possible glitches in the room (based on reviews), only one was true - hot water. We didn't have it for the first night (the water was barely warm), but they fixed it. The restaurant were good as well. Buffet had different type of cuisine everyday of the week; and the rest of the restaurants were open on certain days of the week (probably due to off season). We were able to eat in each of them. None stood out, but they all had good food and service.
The only staff member that didn't really seem to care - a young lady at the front desk (don't recall her name). She always said that she would take care of things, and did nothing after that. But bell staff and, well, everyone else, were great! Polite, nice, helpful...You name it!
Again, probably, due to the off season, the entertainment during the weekdays was not very fun (if there was an entertainment). One night they didn't even announced the cancellation of the kids show. Can you imagine the kids disappointment?!?! We spoke to the night manager and he sent a DJ to turn the kids music. That was not enough (especially for those who just arrived and had no idea why the music if playing and there is nobody dancing), but still was very nice of him.
The beach was clean and safe. Pools were clean as well (few leafs here and there don't count).
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Will we come back? Probably not, but it has nothing to do with the resort. We just love to travel to new places:)))

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Frizzyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

this resort is a great place to spend time with your loves ones.. Its very relaxing . i recieved my room the moment i checked in . the place was great ..the rooms were cleaned and organized the only problem i had with the rooms everytime it rained the water would get inside from the balcony and when the light would go off it went of in the hotel as well for about a minute.. they have night shows which was very fun and enjoyable.. they should have more night snack options .. other then that the resort is very fun

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Upon check in I was met by the Olympus team member who immediately warned us that he is the only one we should trust because there would be others who would try and talk to us about tours and other things but we needed to be careful. Then he emphasized that while there are safes in the room, the locks have been removed and we must rent them for $3.50 per day. As if I hadn’t heard enough, he said there was only one key to the lock so if we lost it we’d have to get a locksmith who charges $50 to bust the lock and replace it. Every day (during the day) there is a DJ blasting music that is clearly heard throughout the resort and the rest of the island I’m sure. Every evening there is some sort of musical event that again can be heard clearly throughout the resort. On Saturday night (tonight) they must have hired a DJ with the biggest woofers in the Dominican Republic because the music is THUNDEROUS and sincerely impossible. Update: now there is a competition for which will be heard between club music and latin music because as I sit in my room writing this review I hear them both. Also, for some reason there seems to be thousands of people here. I don’t know if it’s because it’s an open beach resort or what but I am not going anywhere near it.
There is another company called the VIP. It almost feels like it’s a requirement to meet with them. Bottom line, they are in competition with Olympus to get you to go on excursions with them and to get you to buy property or vacation plans.
Fitness area-You won’t find pictures of it in their website because it’s all rusted out in a dingy basement. Only one of three treadmills works. The buffet area is not air conditioned. Merchants set up right outside with barely any walking room. They will persistently come up to you.
Road runs through the middle of the resort. It is in no way a private hotel. Warm water-NO Hot water. Low pressure. Dingy bathrooms. Internet $12 a day/$60-7 days. Internet very slow.
Ending on a positive note: Great Coffee, ping pong competition, if you’re a drunk you will be happy with all the others. Most workers are very humble and friendly but could use some basic customer service training. Five restaurants they only open about 2 or three depending on the day. Restaurant workers work hard for their money. You’re wondering why I didn’t leave…it was a gift vacation and they went with us so…respect. I don’t believe they’ll ever know to get on this site and read this painful review from a painful experience. I learned a great deal trust me.

Room Tip: A tip for choosing a good room??? If you are still considering staying there, I'm sorry because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank josephga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
12.7 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
13.2 mi away
Don Juan Beach Resort
Don Juan Beach Resort
#7 of 19 in Boca Chica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa

Property: Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Principal km 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe. The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing