We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WARNING!!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Upon check in I was met by the Olympus team member who immediately warned us that he is the only one we should trust because there would be others who would try and talk to us about tours and other things but we needed to be careful. Then he emphasized that while there are safes in the room, the locks have been removed and we must rent them for $3.50 per day. As if I hadn’t heard enough, he said there was only one key to the lock so if we lost it we’d have to get a locksmith who charges $50 to bust the lock and replace it. Every day (during the day) there is a DJ blasting music that is clearly heard throughout the resort and the rest of the island I’m sure. Every evening there is some sort of musical event that again can be heard clearly throughout the resort. On Saturday night (tonight) they must have hired a DJ with the biggest woofers in the Dominican Republic because the music is THUNDEROUS and sincerely impossible. Update: now there is a competition for which will be heard between club music and latin music because as I sit in my room writing this review I hear them both. Also, for some reason there seems to be thousands of people here. I don’t know if it’s because it’s an open beach resort or what but I am not going anywhere near it.
There is another company called the VIP. It almost feels like it’s a requirement to meet with them. Bottom line, they are in competition with Olympus to get you to go on excursions with them and to get you to buy property or vacation plans.
Fitness area-You won’t find pictures of it in their website because it’s all rusted out in a dingy basement. Only one of three treadmills works. The buffet area is not air conditioned. Merchants set up right outside with barely any walking room. They will persistently come up to you.
Road runs through the middle of the resort. It is in no way a private hotel. Warm water-NO Hot water. Low pressure. Dingy bathrooms. Internet $12 a day/$60-7 days. Internet very slow.
Ending on a positive note: Great Coffee, ping pong competition, if you’re a drunk you will be happy with all the others. Most workers are very humble and friendly but could use some basic customer service training. Five restaurants they only open about 2 or three depending on the day. Restaurant workers work hard for their money. You’re wondering why I didn’t leave…it was a gift vacation and they went with us so…respect. I don’t believe they’ll ever know to get on this site and read this painful review from a painful experience. I learned a great deal trust me.

Room Tip: A tip for choosing a good room??? If you are still considering staying there, I'm sorry because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank josephga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    567
    429
    351
    431
See reviews for
509
649
127
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

this resort is the worst resort ive been to!! very unpleased... rooms are very nasty , bathroom? lets not even talk about it.. the resort looks very nice outside and inside but once you go up to those rooms my god !!! I asked for my money right away took them about 4hrs to tell me that they don't do returns and the food is also nasty !!! at the mangos snack bar you have to make a line to eat raw pizza and nasty hamburgers I regret ever going to this place.. the only place to eat in this resort a little bit is the restaurant upstairs from the buffet which you have to make a reservation at no cost to eat but the food is way better than the buffet and all the other restaurants.... If youre looking to enjoy your vacation please don't go to this place you will remember this comment!!!!!!! GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I cant even help you choose a good room this resort sucks big time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nelly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela G, E-commerce at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Hotel, Resort, Spa & Casino family is pleased to extend you our most cordial greetings.

Our hotel through our Housekeeping department aims to deliver high standards of service, working with their best disposition, as part of their responsibilities on a daily basis our housekeeping staff revises every room and proceeds to change everything according to the procedure established in our environmental friendly policy, whilst providing clean towels and bed linen is integral to supply a quality service, many guests are happy to have their towels and sheets changed less frequently to help reduce the environmental impact of our operation.

Here at The Coral Costa Caribe we pride ourselves on offering a wide range of high quality food specially prepared for the wide diversity of our guests. We’re sure to offer each of our valued customers some delightful meals with the splendid and desired seasoning of the Caribbean. We are here to ensure you have a good mealtime no matter which Restaurant you choose, whether it's a company event or meal with family and, or friends. Our Restaurants menus offer a mix of top quality Cuisine and popular national and international variety so our dear clients can relish different flavors within the amusing-friendly ambience of our Hotel Restaurants.


We hope to have the occasion of receiving you in our Resort again in the near future, with the intention of improving the impression you have of our Hotel.

Regards,

Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Juan Dolio hotels

boston
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Went to the hotel on a day pass while staying at a villa in Juan Dolio. We wanted to spend a day resort style and have access to watersports. As we walked in, people in the lobby were telling us to leave....no water or working bathrooms.
We should have listened. Everything was subpar except the beach.
Food was not edible, pool was small and crowded and drinks watered down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Please stay elsewhere. Hotel is dated. Beds are OLD! Bugs in room. Food is terrible, beyond belief. Restaurants & bars close early. The staff is intolerable & not pleased to be serving you. The entertainment is a joke. Location is very far away from Santo Domingo. The only positive was the pool bar where the bartender kept the drinks flowing. This is not a vacation spot & not the place you want to be! Keep looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: No good rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rubytuezday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I am sitting here trying to book a Xmas holiday and remember I didn't write a review as I promised.

Let me just mention ONE name..... GLENDA...... If u need anything done right.... She is the girl to talk ..... DO NOT waste ur time with anybody else ...... If GLENDA was GM..... That place will be heaven.

I am not going to point out the horribleness or greatness as everything is subjective from food to drinks to amenities in comparison for the amount if money spent.

But if I was to drink the amount if drinks I had for 16 days here like I did there..... I would need intervention...... So drinks are waterdown.....

Recommendation......get FRESH JUICE from the breakfast juice station..... Buy a bottle of Dominican Rum (100 yards from hotel at a plaza ) and u are good to go.

Food...... Breakfast had a fresh juice bar.... Omelet station and YES..... Fresh breads..... So eat well and make it your biggest meal.

Lunch was a hit or miss but they TRY..... If u have a good breakfast u will be OK with a salad..... All salad was fresh.....

Dinner...... If they can't get gnocchi right ...... Caprese salad with real Basilico.... The Italian restaurant should be closed . Spoke with the chef...... And the Tiramisu was a Dominican version..... So on that .... Installations for Italian Rest are gorgeous ...... Food much to be desired .

Mexican...... Eat there any time they are open..... Just great!

Dominican...... Don't miss it and enjoy every dish in the menu and great salad bar.

Beach... Clean..... Pools good

Snack bar......mystery meat on burgers but great fries and pizzas

Shows ....... Fun

Disco bar only Functions well when Franklin is behind that bar .

Rooms...... We had Ocean view.... Great after they replaced the toilet on our second night

No heated showers... But didn't bother me.....

Free Wifi by the internet café.

Overall employees are doing the best they can with what they have.

Great beach party one day...employee attended ..... Great Xmas party and and NY with fire by the beach area.

Would I come back???? If the price is right...... Yes but will bring my own wine and Brugal rum...... The AI is good...... I didn't have to cook......or make my bed ..... But my body deserves good alcohol!

Hope this help......

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJTravels65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

when we got here, it was late at night and staff were helpful.
as we got into the holiday,we decided to go down to the beach and straight away we were harassed
by the beach vendors every 5mins, selling the same junk, you couldn't get away from them unless you
left the beach. but even then you weren't safe because they still harassed from the beach perimeter. then
when you thought you had got peace,the hotel staff harrssed you for their hotel upgrade services.
the actual room we got was dirty and never swept, when towels where taken away, at times you didn't get a replacement.
bedding was dirty,and stained no coffee maker as advertised,or hairdryer,and as it was so warm no mini fridge or bar.
to get replacement water or coffee you had to keep going to reception.
over the two weekends we were there, you had the local people stay and everything, then changed to accommodate them
but when they left so did everything else. the 3 different cuisines on offer were closed, more than open
the main swimming pool was closed for the last week of our holiday, with it being drained , painted. which it needed to be
as the filter system seemed to have failed or not just not working and water was very murky as was the smaller pool , when
we did manage to use both pools you couldn't see the bottom of these pools, as the water was murky
the hotel was in a bad state of repair drainpipes missing, facsia boards missing, when it rained you got soaked.
food was just about edible, when it was hot

in general this is not a very nice hotel,definately one to give a miss as there is nothing to do unless you book
any excursions. THE HOTEL NEEDS A TOTAL UPGRADE AND REFURBISHMENT.
This was our first and last trip to the dom rep

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

• The food was absolutely horrible. Out of all the restaurants, only one offered actual, eatable food. The rest of the food was either undercooked or unrecognizable.

• The hotel staff literally follows you around to sell their vacation package. I understand this is how a hotel makes a profit; however, there were multiple staff members who followed us around asking us if we had our presentation yet. This occurred from the beginning of our trip to the very end.

• The hotel also allows vendors to sell their items to beach goers. Again, I understand that selling these items are many of these people’s livelihood. However, within 4 minutes (literally 4) of us finding a place to lie down and relax, we had to tell 5 vendors no. Not only are they persistent and will continuously try to talk to you, they also return within several minutes to try to sell you the same items. Everywhere we went the vendors attempted to sell us something. It got to the point that we had to pretend to be asleep in order to try and enjoy the beach.

• The “sports bar” is actually a big room with two 1970s couches, complete with tears and huge slices in it. There are two pool tables (one of which is located under something that leaked an unidentifiable liquid, so there was one table that night) and you’re having a good night if at least one of the tables has enough balls for you to play a pool game.

• The room was okay. However, the bed was made with two sheets (neither one fitted) and an old mattress cover with questionable stains. The entire time we were there we never received fresh sheets (we could tell by a stain at the edge of one of our sheets).

• We didn’t have fresh towels the ENTIRE time we were there.

• The doors to our fifth floor room did not lock. This would not have been a problem if it weren’t for the fact that we heard multiple stories of people having things stolen from the room and the fact that I watched someone with a laminated I.D. card clipped to his shirt hop from one 6th floor balcony to another. Its unsettling to witness this because if he wasn’t doing something suspicious, why would he need to risk his life climbing from one balcony to another on the 6th floor?

• The AC did nothing and pretty much loosely sat in the wall. We called maintenance and the best they could do for us was pour a bottle of water over the AC and tell us that the next day someone would look at it around 9:00am, but they never showed up.

• On the weekends the resort lets local residents in. The pools became overrun with kids and all the places to eat were packed. Its unfair that we paid so much money yet we can only attempt to enjoy the amenities Wednesday through Thursday.

Room Tip: Fully inspect the bathroom and the A.C. before you get settled in! Make sure you have a safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilibethGarcia, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Hotel, Resort, Spa & Casino family is pleased to extend you our most cordial greetings.

Here at The Coral Costa Caribe we pride ourselves on offering a wide range of high quality food specially prepared for the wide diversity of our guests. We’re sure to offer each of our valued customers some delightful meals with the splendid and desired seasoning of the Caribbean. We are here to ensure you have a good mealtime no matter which Restaurant you choose, whether it's a company event or meal with family and, or friends. Our Restaurants menus offer a mix of top quality Cuisine and popular national and international variety so our dear clients can relish different flavors within the amusing-friendly ambience of our Hotel Restaurants.

Our hotel through our Housekeeping department aims to deliver high standards of service, working with their best disposition, as part of their responsibilities on a daily basis our housekeeping staff revises every room and proceeds to change the towels according to the procedure established in our environmental friendly policy, whilst providing clean towels and bed linen is integral to supply a quality service, many guests are happy to have their towels and sheets changed less frequently to help reduce the environmental impact of our operation.

Allow us to inform you we ensure a proficient maintenance service in the entire infrastructure of the Resort, as indeed we consider of great importance to keep all our rooms facilities and equipment working adequately since we recognize that maintenance effectiveness can directly affect the quality of the services our hotel provides. Therefore, we work toward ensuring that all our rooms’ show the comfort and spotless conditions our guests require; considering the direct and significant effect these matters have on guest’s impression of the hotel.

We offer you our apologies if in any particular manner you felt uncomfortable due to the souvenir offer that some salesmen do when passing on the beach. We can assure you that it is not their intention to cause our dear guests any discomfort with this, but to provide them, always they are interested, with the very valued service of offering a souvenir of our country to take home.

We would like to inform you that it is hotel policy to sell day passes to locals, as well as foreigners, who wish to enjoy our facilities for a day. It is important to outline that this is a regular procedure in most of the all-inclusive resorts in the world. We can assure you that this does not affect the services that we offer to the guests staying for a longer period.

We hope to have the occasion of receiving you in our Resort again in the near future, with the intention of improving the impression you have of our Hotel.

Regards,

Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
172 reviews
12.7 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Hemingway
Hotel Casa Hemingway
#6 of 12 in Juan Dolio
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa

Property: Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Principal km 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe. The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing