We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pass!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

So...wanted to break up the monotony of capital hotels, BIg Mistake!!! Check in is a bit slow but concierge are really nice. Front desk are pleasant too. Rooms are motel quality at best. Ugly, dusty and in desperate need of repairs. Beds are hard and linens are not nice. Buffet is dreadful and menus from the other restaurants are okay. Drinks are watered down and I'm talking only about the non-alcoholic ones. Sooo cheap. I wanted to check out the minute I saw the barrage of day-pass locals behaving badly. Customer service was very nice and offered just about everything to try and wipe the disappointed look from our faces (4 guests total ) but I preferred to lose all of my money and check out early into a more suitable place back in the capital. Stick to La Romana, Punta Cana or anywhere else. Juan Dolio and Boca Chica is in a state of despair and unless they invest millions, there is no point. Beach is okay though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsof10DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilibethGarcia, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Hotel, Resort, Spa & Casino family is pleased to extend you our most cordial greetings.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed our fabulous beach as well as our A la Carte Restaurants and that you appreciated the friendliness of our Concierge, Front Desk and Guest Service staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal, the continuous improvement of our services.

We would like to inform you that it is hotel policy to sell day passes to locals, as well as foreigners, who wish to enjoy our facilities for a day. It is important to outline that this is a regular procedure in most of the all-inclusive resorts in the world. We can assure you that this does not affect the services that we offer to the guests staying for a longer period.

Please consider that our bars are places of recreation where most of our clientele comes to unwind while enjoying a drink. Our six bar's recipes and their entertaining music create the satisfactory environment for our guests to enjoy and relax at once. A very wide selection of drinks will provide our customers the opportunity to complete the wonderful experience of their vacations. We are really sorry to know that our beverage offer was not at the level of your standards.

Our Resort acknowledges that essentially throughout the staff courtesy, rooms comfort, cleanliness and pleasant environment our Hotel is able to create the experience our clients expect during their vacations, leading to the subsequent contentment of our dear customers. Therefore, our rooms are under a constant improvement process in order to guarantee the success of our efforts for achieving customer satisfaction. For us, our customer perception of our services and accommodation is extremely valuable as it plays an important role on their satisfaction which is the key factor in the success of our aim as Hospitality Establishment.

We hope to have the occasion of receiving you in our Resort again in the near future, with the intention of improving the impression you have of our Hotel.

Regards,

Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    567
    429
    351
    431
See reviews for
509
649
127
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

i've been going to the same hotel since i was two years old. why? because my parents every time they went to a different hotel, there was a problem. always. Then, they came here. They said "here's everything we've been looking for." we go twice a year, and everytime it gets better. they have always something new to offer. I have been reading the reviews. they say they have an awful personal. How can they say that? The best personal it's here! they have now a VIP area. in the beach its so beautiful, and they're working to make it even better in more places of the hotel. Im getting amazed on every trip. Can't wait for the another trip there! Really, I LOVE IT.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been resding all of the reviews you people have been posting before and after our vacation and all I can say is bull pucky poop in other words.i had the best time of my life while I was at this resort and im not young awesome staff wonderful food the best excursions ever. If you want to stay in your room why vacation. Your supposed to be outside enjoying the weather if you come from the southern states stay home please we don't need your negativity. Try living where I do minus 30 in the winter. We are booking out next vaca for jan 2014 at coral costs caribe see you then

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel looks nice when you first arrive but you'll find the rooms are very old and there is dangerous holes in the walls were plug sockets are missing.
When you enter the pool area you'll find several people trying to sell you trips and gifts. The same people ask you over and over again everyday which drives you crazy. On the beach you are also constantly saying no to people trying to sell you things(within 10 minutes 7 different people approached me).
The only music that is played is salsa and most of the entertainment is based on salsa dancing.
At weekends the hotel is full of locals on the pull. They eat and drink the place dry!!! There is nowhere to sit in the restaurants and most of them have no manners. A few locals were even smoking weed around the pool. Mon to thurs is a lot better in the hotel.
Everybody is after a tip so have your money ready!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Juan Dolio hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I do try to find the good in even the not so great places...so lets start there, aaaaawww... well the weather was awesome - LOL. Stayed for a week Christmas 2012 - and the staff did put their hearts into making a beautiful setting for the meals for both Christmas and New Years Day! This is a very dated hotel, and has seen better days, albeit clean and the staff were friendly enough, but nothing above average! The rooms are larger but beds are super hard and my bathroom was missing wall tiles and the vanity was stained with cig. burns. The hotel itself is a smaller U shaped tiered structure, (the main building) if your room is on any of the interior tiers you will experience the "sounds" echoing from the bar, restaurant and pool area located closer to the middle of the U. As this is a smaller resort the dining room lacks in space and selection. The pool has a swim up bar, just small. There is a gym, but very dark and dated. Included is a newer casino and a nice Mexican Rest. but located across the street. The beach is probably the nicest along the stretch of resorts, but walked along to the public beach area and found it was nicer. Be advised (because I was not told by my travel agent) ...unfortunately, at this resort beach vendors are NON-STOP and unavoidable! Yes, they are making a living, and yes they go away when asked, but they switch up all day long and it is constant. I would not return. But this one helped me with my measuring stick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21ElleMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilibethGarcia, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Hotel, Resort, Spa & Casino family is pleased to extend you our most cordial greetings.

We thank you for your kind comments about our wonderful beach and the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff. We guarantee our clients that our main goal is to satisfy their requirements, for this our Hotel ensures the commitment of our staff to serve with the best disposition and willingness just as our hotel slogan “Happy to Serve You”. We reassure our clients that our Resort stops at nothing to deliver unrivaled services to the people who matter most in your business – our guests.

Allow us to inform you that our Hotel is constantly developing improvements by working towards refurbishing, landscaping and beautifying the Hotel. We have recently made some renovations in our areas such as Rooms, Disco, Snack bar, etc. Many improvements were also made in our conference rooms, including also our entertainment areas. We consider that these renovations transformed our property to a better hotel in comparison to years before. At our hotel we keep working to update our rooms, restaurants, common areas and all our meeting spaces.

We offer you our apologies if in any particular manner you felt uncomfortable due to the souvenir offer that some salesmen do when passing on the beach. We can assure you that it is not their intention to cause our dear guests any discomfort with this, but to provide them, always they are interested, with the very valued service of offering a souvenir of our country to take home.

We hope to have the occasion of receiving you in our Resort again in the near future, with the intention of improving the impression you have of our Hotel.

Regards,

Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

While I was hosted at the hotel, I felt like a queen in her palace. I got excellent service and attention by all employees. It was my birthday and received a big surprise from the staff of Customer (Lilly), Restaurant (Cesar), Staff of Activities (Friends Chocolates) and the Director of Entertainment (Juan Jose Lopez).

I would really recommend it to anyone who is willing to spend one or more nights to remember as I had.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

So let me preface this review by saying the trip was not a total loss. There were hits and misses but mostly misses. As many have said before, the rooms are in desperate need of a facelift. The rooms just look and feel dingy. The air conditioner isn't sealed well so you can see the outside around it. The beds are just raised areas with the hardest, flattest mattress known to man. If I had thought the floors clean (they were sticky), I would have preferred sleeping on them to the bed. The bathrooms are the worst of the lot. The toilet looked like it had been patched into the floor by a blind person. The shower didn’t consistently work and even when it did, there was no guarantee that the hot water worked. I believe I took one hot shower over the course of the 4 days there. The sink worked best but like the shower, the hot water was a shady bet at best.
The food was sketchy. You could find some tasty food but you have to be ok with possibly eating something that a fly may or may not have mated, been born, passed gas, or died on. It is a completely open air buffet with no protection for the food outside of steam or an errant napkin. My friend and I lived off the rice and beans mostly. We had luck with El Fogon, the Dominican a la carte restaurant. Their food was really exceptional and it was in an enclosed area. Outside of that and the morning omelet, I can’t really recommend the food.
The beach was beautiful and I have no complaints about it. It was one of the 2 highlights on this trip. The vendors are annoying but if you put on headphones and sunglasses, they mostly leave you alone.
The 2nd highlight was the ATV ride across the countryside. It had been raining so it turned into more of a mudding excursion and I think this is the norm. It was awesome. We had 6 people off the resort and 3 locals. The locals were awesome. They were really friendly and helpful. Two of the machines kept having issues but they always fixed them quickly and easily. Be aware that they will take you through a field of kids asking for money.
Overall, I’m torn between 1 and 2 stars for this hotel but I would never recommend it or go there ever again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateybugg901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilibethGarcia, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Hotel, Resort, Spa & Casino family is pleased to extend you our most cordial greetings.

We thank you for your kind appreciation of our wonderful beach, our culinary offer in our A la Carte Restaurant “El Fogon”, as well as we are pleased to know you enjoyed the four-wheel country excursion.

Pertaining your remarks about our accommodations and service, allow us to inform you our Resort has been awarded within the Superior class among the all-inclusive Hotels in the Dominican Republic; this recognition has been certified for the National Hotels Association in the Country as well as the Caribbean Hotel & Tourism Association, indicating a superior degree of excellence in our services and accommodation. We consider important to outline that this acknowledgment can only be achieved for those hotels that fulfill all necessary requirements and offer a high degree of service in all areas, which are audited from the quantitative point of view of certified inspectors. Notwithstanding, we will keep working toward the improvement of our entire Resort in order to maintain our Hotel at the excellence level our valued customers deserve and desire.

For our client’s culinary delight, our Hotel offers a versatile cuisine with the accustomed comfort that pleased our customers. Our Buffet Restaurant, three A la carte Restaurants and Snack Bar, will provide the perfect dishes for every taste, which includes from a huge, opulent continental and American breakfast in our Amber Restaurant to an excellent food and beverage menu in the Thematic Restaurant of your choice. Our menus are prepared mainly with seasoned food that matches the singular Caribbean flavors that produces the perfect gastronomic experience, health and stylish, to share with classy and exotic cocktails, hip music and interesting people from all over the world.

We hope to have the occasion of receiving you in our Resort again in the near future, with the intention of improving the impression you have of our Hotel.

Regards,

Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
172 reviews
12.7 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Hemingway
Hotel Casa Hemingway
#6 of 12 in Juan Dolio
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa

Property: Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Principal km 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe. The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing