We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for but its good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a cheaper resort it doesnt claim to be a five star so book with that in mind.
Not everyone speaks english but most are helpful and friendly.
You have to pay for room safe (3.50 a day us funds) or you can just store or valuables in your locked luggage.
One of the a la carte resturants is down the french one everything else is open.
Rooms are old but clean.
It is a 2 hour ride from the airport 1 and a bit from the capital and taxis cost alot so keep that in mind if youd like to head out.
Superior room is worth the upgrade if u want to see the ocean book building s section f.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank a1wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hi! My husband and I literally got back from Coral Caribe this afternoon and I wanted to make sure that I wrote a review to give people a true and honest review. When we originally booked this place, we like so many others saw the horrendous reviews and tried our best to cancel our trip. Long story short, at the end of the day we went with it. I’m glad that we did because WE HAD A GREAT TIME and didn’t break the bank! Now I want to be absolutely clear, the hotel has its challenges that certainly need to be addressed, i.e., water issues and upgrading to the property grounds BUT we were on the beach all day so who really pays attention to ascetics? There is a sign the clearly says “check in at 3:00 pm” so go and hang out on the beach. Yes (as others have said), the vendors are persistent but act as if you’re reading a book or be stern and say NO, they will move on. Also, be aware of the International Vacation Club (timeshare) but just a little secret, if you act as if you’re interested the hotel will give you a pretty decent room on the 6th floor. We were fortunate and were given a (room 1631) loft. We saw inside one of the basic rooms – WHEW not good. Anyway, we had minimal issues with water and we always had towels. The staff was wonderful, food and drinks served its purpose and the beach was so relaxing. Now would we go back, no but for us it was about spending much needed quality/quantity time together. As long as you keep that in mind, you’ll be fine.

Room Tip: Remember room 1631 or any rooms located on the 6th floor of the main building worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After booking this trip and reading the reviews I was very skeptical. Upon arrival it was not as bad as I thought it would be. No problem with check in, got the best room ever, 1401 . No problem with A/C, toilet (for the illiterate there are signs in the bathroom to throw the paper in a garbage can instead, since it will plug the toilet), towels at all. Only one day we experienced some water problem, no water for a few hours, but it's understandable, consider their water system. You just have to wait and be patient. We had hot water most of the time, figured out at 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. is the best time to shower. Hairdryer worked, balcony door worked, flat screen TV worked. Staff are friendly, drinks are O.K., maybe a little watery and too sweet. Try their traditional drink called Mamajuana, it is very good. Yes, it's true locals are coming in for the weekends, but they are mostly for timeshare. They did not create any problems. Entertainment is very good at night. Beach is very, very nice. Beach towels? Old, but Who cares, after all your vacation should not be around small details. Just can't understand people who take pictures of ceilings and other things like cracks at the bathroom and stuff? After all enjoy your time outside of the room, really how much time you want to spend in your room.? Walk on the beach shore, it is a good exercise and very pleasant. Go on excursions, meet people. This was our 7th times to the Caribbean, different destinations (Mexico, Cuba, and others) and resorts, from 3 star to 5 star, so we were able to compare. If you want to be pampered then go some place else, I would recommend this resort to experience travelers, who would know how to have a good time. Food is OK, but nothing fancy. Mexican restaurant is good, Italian is O.K., Dominican is O.K., the buffet is not so good, but you will not stay hungry. Always something to find to eat, if anything then just eat fruit. It won't kill you to loose some pounds anyways :) You have to be easy going and don't complain. If you pay over a $1000 for a trip to this resort then you paid too much, but just under a 1000 it's worth it. After all we had a good time, weather was very good, no rain at all. I would recommend this resort to friends, but not to families with kids, it might be boring for them. Return? Maybe, but we like to discover other places every time we travel, so not likely, but who knows. Just remember you are exploring a different culture. Be nice to them (Dominicans) and they will be nice to you. Have a sense of humor, joke with them and you will have a good time!

Room Tip: Main building, facing the pool, 4th or 5th floor. Not above the Disco, it can get too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed her Feb. 28th - March 3rd. From the start I was greeted by several guest complaining about the rooms and the hotel services. The staff at the front desk didn't seem to even care. They continued about there business while even talking and laughing in spanish. ( very rude). I was told that it was to early to check in which was ok, but was given my hotel bracelet. The food was so nasty. Never had such bland, tasteless food at a hotel in my life. The only food that was ok was the food at the mexican resturant.The hotel is home to hookers, they basically come and hang around the hotel in search of old men with money. My room was bla, They site only shows pics of the renovated rooms. The ceiling fan wobbled and made noise for the entire time I was there. I was afraid to turn it off, bc each time I did, the insects attacked. Yes insects. While sitting down using the bathroom a big cockroach crawled up my legs.
The beach was nice and clean, but the venders came every 20 mins trying to sell you things. After a while that became annoying. This hotel is horrible, nasty, and ugly. Plzz for a couple more dollers stay somewhere nicer. Luckily i made a second reservation at belive hamaca. That was a better experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yola h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilibethG_12, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino is pleased to extend you our most cordial greetings.

Regarding your comments towards the attitude of some of our team members, allow us to inform you that we constantly train our personnel in order to ensure that we provide our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Your point of view has overwhelmed us since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

Related to the remark of our food concepts, allow us to inform you that our gastronomical offer was elaborated taking in consideration the diversity of our guests. We must mention that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of our food services has always been high, according to the opinions reflected in our weekly guests’ questionnaires.

With reference to the comment about the insects in the room, we can assure you that we have strict programs of fumigation, which are carried out continuously. However, our tropical climate and the landscaping that surrounds the hotel are factors that may influence the presence of insects.

We offer you our apologies if in any particular manner you felt uncomfortable due to the souvenir offer that some sellers do when passing on the beach. We can assure you that it is not their intention to cause our dear guests any discomfort with this, but to provide them, always they are interested, with the very valued service of offering a souvenir of our country to take home.

We would like to clarify that our Security department works towards ensuring that our property offers a family ambiance, as any type of unmoral or unethical behavior is prohibited in our Hotel.

We thank you for sharing your recent experience in our Resort and we hope to welcome you again in our property in the near future.

Regards,


Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The people at this resort were the friendliest people I have met in my life. I felt so at home and taken care of. If I did need anything it was supplied almost immediately. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Win8beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Considering my booking (all-inclusive) was ok, hotel staff was very friendly, standard rooms were mostly comfortable and safe, though the quality of construction was very poor (balcony door that couldn't close completely), toilet tank leaking inside. The all-inclusive deal was worth for the price. The beach was fine but nothing compared to the western Caribbean. Good deal worth one visit.

Room Tip: Go for upgrade from standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maribelturcios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

No running water. When it did run (rarely) there was seldom warm water (never hot). Ceiling leaked & their solution was to put a towel on the bed. After 3 days and getting the Nolitour rep involved they finally moved me. New room had no water as well. It is a unacceptable to have to check the tap on the sink to determine whether you flush the toilet or not. Gum left stuck on the shower rod from previous & staff would not clean it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mystika19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilibethG_12, GM Assistant at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Client:

The Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino is pleased to extend you our most cordial greetings.

Our Hotel greatly estimates our guest’s comments as some of these variables are things that should be taken into consideration at the moment to inset Resort improvements to keep exceeding our guest’s expectations of our services. The results of our client’s observations and suggestions have also proof to be useful by showing the essential requirements and needs of our guests as it is also a valuable tool to measure our service effectiveness.

Most importantly, it is necessary that You as our valuable customers take into consideration our hotel attributes in line with your requirements, to realize that our Hotel indeed provides optimum return valued in enjoyment and relaxation in exchange on Your investment for vacationing with us. Our clients must also be sensitive to the efforts our Resort and staff invest in fulfilling our customer expectations to enhance their level of satisfaction and confidence on our product.

We thank you for sharing your valuable comments of our Resort and we hope to welcome you again in our property in the near future.

Regards,


Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
1.2 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
172 reviews
0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Casa Hemingway
Hotel Casa Hemingway
#4 of 12 in Juan Dolio
12 reviews
12.7 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
0.5 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Principal km 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range: $106 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe. The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing