We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sybaris Suites & Residences(Juan Dolio)(Great Value!)
$128
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emotions by Hodelpa(Juan Dolio)(Great Value!)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Plaza Real Resort(Juan Dolio)
$30
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D' Franchecis Hostal(Juan Dolio)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribe Paraiso(Juan Dolio)
$39
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa del Lago(Juan Dolio)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,356)
Filter reviews
2,356 results
Traveler rating
436
637
466
369
448
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
637
466
369
448
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 2,356 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We spent 2 weeks here and we knew from the reviews what to expect - the good/the bad. But by far it was much better than we expected. The resort is beautiful. The beach is fantastic but not for surfing - there is a breakwater which takes out the surf so the water is quite calm. The beach is wide white sand, clean - no seaweed/kelp. I've been on lots of beaches and this was one of the best. There are two small reefs inside the breakwater to snorkel on - lots of fish to see. The food was excellent, especially at the ala cart restaurants - some of the best fish I've ever had. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Yes the comments on water pressure and temperature are true, but for the most part we had good pressure and hot water. I killed a total of 3 bugs in our room - nowhere near the infestation I had read about. Just down the street are 2 internet cafes and shops. The internet is $4/hr at one and next one $2/hr. The beach vendors are definitely out in force but you say "no gracias" and they leave. We did buy a bunch of things including sunglasses which broke - but to my surprise, when I mentioned it, the vendor replaced them free. We flew into Punta Cana and it's a 3 hr drive to this resort. The drive was hairy to say the least but you get to see the countryside and how many Dominicans live and shop. If you can fly to Santo Domingo or La Romana they are much closer. All in all, a terrific vacation and everyone is jealous of our tans.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
26  Thank dhch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We spent New Years at this resort. It was a spectacular night with fireworks and a dinner on the beach. They really went out of there way to make all the guests bring in the New Year with a bang!!!!
There was alot of different kinds of food for those who like to experient and for those that don't, there was food to satisfy all. The drinks were good and cold!!!!
There was a very long wait to have dinner in the a la carte restaurants..however you learned quickly never to go for dinner when you're starving. (lol), You have to remember that everything is on Dominican time. So if you're a person that wants things done immediately or you're very impatient...then this is not the place to go.
The staff was friendly and most spoke a little English. There were beach vendors asking you to buy there stuff but they were never annoying or rude. You just have to tell them that you're not interested. The beach was not spectacular, however it was not rough to swim in.
The only disappointment we had was our room. It was not as clean as I would have perfered and we found to many bugs crawling around.( Bring cockroach spray) We were led to believe that this was a "Hilton" at time of booking, so needless to say...we were shocked.
All in all....if you are a person that expected a 4 star "Hilton" then this is not the place to go. However...if you go with the flow and remind yourself that you are in the Dominican then you'll be fine. For the price we paid for this hotel it was a great vacation.
Feel free to contact me if you need anymore info.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank RyleeBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

The Hotel itself is a nice property. Right at the beach. White sand. It has different restaurants, Italian, Mexian, Dominican and the main Buffet Restaurant.

Service at the restaurants wasn't great. At the main restaurant there were not enough waitresses, so it could take them 15 minutes to get you a glass of water. So we learned that and anything we needed we would go and get it by ourselves.

In the other restaurants there was a looong waiting list, and once we got the table, another looong wait for the food. But the food in general was good, with good variety.

Keep in mind this is a caribean country and time is not their highest priority.

People in general are very friendly.

We took a tour to see Santo Domingo the old city, but besides people chasing you down trying to sell you handcrafts, nothing really especial.

If you are looking for beach and sun to lay down and get tanned this is a good option, and pricewise is a good deal.
I even got 2 rounds of golf at the Guavaberry golf club which is like 15 minutes from the hotel.

Contact me if you want to ask specific question abouyt my experience.

andressanchez73@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank AndresSanchez73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

I booked this through Interval International. Me and my wife had a awesome time. Considering this is a all-inclusive in a third world country, it had it's faults: inconsistant water pressure and temperture, hot tubs (2) that I found were luke warm at best and don't look for top shelf liquor. On the upside of the resort: excellent hospitality, food is OK, party atmosphere, nice dance club and friendly natives (Dominicans). The casino was alright - everyone seem to be having a good time. The nitely shows were excellent. We got caught in a tropical storm and many people including us complained of water in our rooms, but it did not stop the show (partying). The hotel staff did their best to accomodiate all who needed it to include switching rooms. I've read alot of bad things about this place and I met some of the people who wrote them. If you are looking for a 5 start resort in a developed country, don't go here, but if you are looking for a good time on the cheap - this is it. Some people you just can't please and those are the ones you find by themselves not wanting to try to socialize and always have something negative to say.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
23  Thank bigal69olz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

I went there for a week in mid december. The hotel is about 30' from the Santo Domingo Airport. First impression was good: secured entrance, grounds well kept, several smiling and helpful bellmen, huge marble lobby fully decorated for Xmas. It took about 10 minutes to get a room assigned and another 30 minutes to obtain a room upgrade with ocean view (extra $30/day). Room(s) were very clean, although the hotel is almost 25 years old. The back building near the tennis courts are quieter, yet the main 6-story building is centrally located and was my choice. Room included a mini bar, TV with many international channels, plenty of storage for the clothing and luggage. Bathroom was clean and OK, yet the plumbing was deteriorating (i.e working but old). Plenty of hot water all the times. To my dismay, I had to pay an extra $3.50/day to rent the key for the safe. A/C worked very well and wasnt too noisy (window unit style). I was on the 5th floor with a nice view of the ocean, the beach and the main pool.
The choice for food places was limited; in fact breakfast, lunch and dinner took place at the main buffet restaurant. No other places open at night. There was no shortage of food and the choices were varied on a daily basis. Lots of fruits, salads, poultry, fish (more limited). One night they prepared a table with imported French cheese that was delicious; another night, they had sea food. Also plenty of pastries. They also run a grill where you could have your eggs cooked as you wished for breakfast. Table service was very friendly and fast.
There was a grill by the beach where during the day you could get a burger, a hot dog and some other food.
In addition, they had a bar by the lobby, another bar by the pool where you could order drinks. Since this is an all inclusive resort, drinks are included (beer, wine, sodas, rum, some other alcools as well); they had plenty of exotic drinks for free, and it was a lot of fun to try them out.
The beach is wide, clean and the staff provided the chairs and towels. There is also security guards, and in fact the few peddlers were no bother at all. The sand is very fine, and the water shallow ; in fact there is a small reef about 50 yards away that protects the beach form the swell. Note that there are NO umbrellas provided or available. You will be under the sun and the only protected areas are near the pool under the palm trees.
The entertainment staff consisted of 4 female dancers and 7 male dancers/hosts. The did a fairly good job and with the exception of one show, the night shows were a lot of fun. Kids' show was at 8pm, then the adult show at 9:30 pm until 10:30 pm. It was a mix of latin dancing, comedy and of course getting the crowd involved with games. It reminded me of the Club Med style of entertainment. All shows were spoken in spanish and english and french as well.
This resort sells packages to local agencies, i.e some days you will have a lot of dominicans taking over . This is not a criticism, but believe when 700 or 800 dominican people suddenly arrive in this resort, you will hear it. The place is loud between the meringue music, people talking, dancing, playing in the pool, etc.... It is a great cultural experience. These people love to have fun, drink a lot of beer (if you think the germans are THE heavy beer drinkers, wait until you see what dominicans, including the females drink).
The internet service at the hotel sucks. No WIFI of course. It's awful. Its $8/hr, to use a prehistoric computer, with a slow server, near the lobby. Also 2 of the 3 computers were out of order. I found out an internet cafe 2 minutes away with cheap and fast service. Just tip the door man 100 pesos and you'll get a lot of good info.
Last point , the excursions. The various concierges at Guest Service will try to sell you one or more excursion packages. Basically, they have 2 islands trips, a trip to Los Chavon (replica medieval village), a trip to Santo Domingo and a 4-wheeler safari. They are quite pricey. I found that renting a taxi for 3 to 5 hours was the beat deal for 4 people.

Stayed: December 2007
14  Thank NewUlysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews