We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First time in Dominican Republic September 2012” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coop Marena Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coop Marena Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Juan Dolio
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time in Dominican Republic September 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

After reading the previous reviews on here I was worried after my Dominican boyfriend told me he had booked to stay here. However when we arrived I was surprised at how lovely the hotel is, especially for the price! Room was clean and air conditioning worked v well. The food was very good with everything on offer, vegetarian, fish, chicken and red meat; salads and desserts - also you can go up as many times as you want! The only complaints I had was that by the end of the weekend the pool was very dirty also the snacks during the day were not very good. Disco and beach are amazing with all drinks included and very good company :) Relaxing, beautiful and fun.

Después de leer las críticas previas en este sitio estaba preocupada que mi novio Dominicano me dijó que vamos a alojarnos alli. Sin embargo cuando llegamos estaba sorprendida que bien está, especialmente para el precio! El dormitorio era limpio y el aire acondicionado funcionaba muy bien. La comida era muy bien, con platos vegeterianos, pescado, pollo y carne de res, ensalada y postre - tambien puedes ir para comer muchas veces! Las unicas quejas que tengo es que la piscina se hizo muy sucia por el fin del fin de semana y las meriendas durante el día no estaban muy bien. La discoteca y playa eran fantasticos con todas las bebidas incluidas y buena companía :) relejante, hermosa y divertido

Room Tip: we were on the bottom floor furthest away from the large pool which was fine - quiet but still centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannah7215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    14
    8
    27
See reviews for
38
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here in October 1997 and got lumbered with 40 Brits whose sole purpose was to criticise every single facet.

The staff are warm, genuine, and hard working and whilst the place does have shortcomings, the price of £479 for 17 days All Inclusive, yes, including the cost of flights was fantastic.

No-one died, people feigned ailments one moment and got drunk the next then had the brass nose to sue the holiday company.

Its a third world country so dont expect The Ritz.

The beach wasnt private but was gorgeous, as was the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for Air Con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulJudithLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Went here years ago and it was great but recently its been bad. You are better off spending the extra 20 bucks and staying at barcelo or costa caribe

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LOVETOTRAVEL1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Juan Dolio hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Place was a dump, no water pressure for a shower, sliding door wouldn't lock, bathroom ceiling was dripping water, room was filthy, even the chainlock was ripped out of doorframe. Don't stay here, very few gringos would brave this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucky_duck_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

This was the worst hotel/resort I have ever imagined! The rooms are disgustingly filthy, we had to beg for hot water to our rooms almost everyday to shower, & when the water worked there was no water pressure. There were 12 of us on this trip, everyone of us agree it was terrible. For the money you spend go elsewhere. The ocean on the beach area to the hotel was shallow & full of seaweed and critters. Garbage everywhere. This resort is not intended for tourists, it caters to the locals. The food was the same everyday, chicken, pasta & vegetables. Ugh, granted it was prepared differently but still just not good. The management does not care or help, and pretend to 'not speak english' when you need / want something. If you leave the resort you feel unsafe. My sister had $ stolen from her wallet that was left in her room for 15 minutes. Need I say more. There was no where to shop and nothing to do. No activities, towels or day trips. The busgirl claimed to be a registered massage therapist, she only wanted $20 USD for 10 minutes. Imagine that. We all got sick (the runs) on this trip, I assume it was the food. It was a never ending nightmare. I'm so glad to be gone from this place. Please don't go here, my comments are all true.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angrytouristcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juan Dolio hotels
2.2 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#6 of 11 in Juan Dolio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort
Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Juan Dolio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coop Marena Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coop Marena Beach Resort

Property: Coop Marena Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Bulevard, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Hotel Class:3 star — Coop Marena Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Coop Marena Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coop Marena Beach Hotel Juan Dolio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing