We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coop Marena Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coop Marena Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Wigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here in October 1997 and got lumbered with 40 Brits whose sole purpose was to criticise every single facet.

The staff are warm, genuine, and hard working and whilst the place does have shortcomings, the price of £479 for 17 days All Inclusive, yes, including the cost of flights was fantastic.

No-one died, people feigned ailments one moment and got drunk the next then had the brass nose to sue the holiday company.

Its a third world country so dont expect The Ritz.

The beach wasnt private but was gorgeous, as was the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for Air Con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulJudithLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    13
    7
    26
See reviews for
37
17
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Went here years ago and it was great but recently its been bad. You are better off spending the extra 20 bucks and staying at barcelo or costa caribe

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LOVETOTRAVEL1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Juan Dolio hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Place was a dump, no water pressure for a shower, sliding door wouldn't lock, bathroom ceiling was dripping water, room was filthy, even the chainlock was ripped out of doorframe. Don't stay here, very few gringos would brave this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucky_duck_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

This was the worst hotel/resort I have ever imagined! The rooms are disgustingly filthy, we had to beg for hot water to our rooms almost everyday to shower, & when the water worked there was no water pressure. There were 12 of us on this trip, everyone of us agree it was terrible. For the money you spend go elsewhere. The ocean on the beach area to the hotel was shallow & full of seaweed and critters. Garbage everywhere. This resort is not intended for tourists, it caters to the locals. The food was the same everyday, chicken, pasta & vegetables. Ugh, granted it was prepared differently but still just not good. The management does not care or help, and pretend to 'not speak english' when you need / want something. If you leave the resort you feel unsafe. My sister had $ stolen from her wallet that was left in her room for 15 minutes. Need I say more. There was no where to shop and nothing to do. No activities, towels or day trips. The busgirl claimed to be a registered massage therapist, she only wanted $20 USD for 10 minutes. Imagine that. We all got sick (the runs) on this trip, I assume it was the food. It was a never ending nightmare. I'm so glad to be gone from this place. Please don't go here, my comments are all true.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angrytouristcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
2.2 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#6 of 11 in Juan Dolio
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
11.6 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#4 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort
Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Juan Dolio
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coop Marena Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coop Marena Beach Resort

Property: Coop Marena Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Bulevard, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Hotel Class:3 star — Coop Marena Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Coop Marena Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coop Marena Beach Hotel Juan Dolio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing