We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice boutique, small hotel; Hooked made our stay unforgettable”
Review of Hooked Cabarete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hooked Cabarete
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super nice boutique, small hotel; Hooked made our stay unforgettable”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Me and my husband were looking for a nice, small, not too touristy place not too far from the airport of Puerto Plata. We found this wonderful place Hooked Cabarete. It's like a boutique hotel with 8 studio-apartments all on the ground floor around a beatiful, large, tropical garden with pool. When we were there, quite some people that staid there were surfers or kitesurfers since Hooked is the closest spot to the surfbeach, but it was not like a young surfcamp. We didn't come to surf, but felt totally comfortable staying there since there are so many other things to do as well. Together with some other guests and the manager, we went to the 27 waterfalls (which was so great) and the owner showed us some beautiful, scret places along the north cost. We also went a day into the mountains on the quad bikes they have, we snorkeled, went horse back riding at the beach together with the neighbour friend of Hooked who has some nice horses, and made some nice long walk along the beaches (at some places where we walked it felt like being on a deserted island, so nice and quiet). Florian, the manager, helped us a lot with finding out what to do and where to go and he also recommended the nicest (and cheapest) restaurants. We also had a barbecue together with the other people at Hooked and went out to a restaurant in the mountains.

Our room was beautiful, clean and we even had our own little kitchen. And a nice private terrace with hammock! The combination of doing all these great things together with the super relaxed room and garden, made our vacation the best. We will be back!!

Sabrina & Tom from the Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabrinapeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
37
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed here as a solo traveler and had the good fortune to meet Florian the manager who made my stay very enjoyable. The two dogs are good company, the rooms are nice and simple, the sercurity is great! Great internet service.

The rooms are simple but pleasant, they have a few different styles to choose from. Florain the manager is most helpful and a great guy. the grounds are beautiful and relaxing. They have scooters on site, (be careful, roads are rough and traffic crazy).

Only a 10 minute walk from the surfing beach, mellow crowd, beautiful beaches.

Had a small problem, but Florian is quick to help out!! Cabarete has lots going on and plenty to do!

I enjoyed my stay and will be back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinnywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

5 min walk from Encuentro beach – the beach reserved for surfers. You could also walk along the beach (part of the walk is off the strip) to Kite beach.
Not in the city center but with a caro publico or motokoncho, you are just 10 minutes away. The good side – super quiet and relaxing. The apartments are very spacious with a kitchen, private shower and WC and a small patio. You can request a hammock, paid for extra. Super clean, new linens + cleaning daily; swimming pool; internet and two very cute and friendly Rottweiler’s! I recommend 2 thumbs up!

Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ValKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2009

After reading the reviews on the Hooked Cabarete website and in the Lonely Planet we booked our stay and spend 2 weeks at Hooked Cabarete. We had a blast!

The information we received from Florian was very helpful. He arranged our surf courses and took us to some nice places for dinner. The waterfall trip Hooked organized was awesome too.
The rooms are bigger than we expected and clean. Cleaning was everyday except for Sundays. The private terrace in front of every apartment was the perfect place to hang out and chill in the hammock.

We did meet a lot of people from all over the world which was very cool. The surfbeach Encuentro was practically in the Hooked frond yard so we spend a lot of time in the water surfing with the other quests.

We will be back next year for sure and want to thank Hooked for a very very pleasant stay.
Yes, I would recommend this great place to all my friends and I already did. I also recommend to take a scooter with your stay to go to town easily. It gave us the change to explore the surroundings and experience the DR even more. The scooter is great!
I miss the dogs :-)

Thanks Hooked Cabarete and see you guys next year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flower2009amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooked
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2008

After hearing positive things from friends and reading the reviews on the website, we stayed at Hooked Cabarete last February and had a great time. The owners Ybo and Chantal are so nice and they have two wonderful dogs too.
They gave us lot's of suggestions of nice things to do and we went on a couple of great trips off the beaten path.
Also together with a group of people staying at Hooked we went to an indian restaurant in the mountains. Great food and very relaxed atmosphere.
Furthermore, Ybo went on a couple of downwinders with us. fantastic waveriding from a river all the way to Encuentro where Hooked is located. This is also the main surfspot of Cabarete.
The combination of the quiet homebase at Hooked and and the option of going to all the bars and restaurants in the center was perfect.


We had the best vacation of our lives and definitely be back next year.


I can only Highly recommend Hooked Cabarete.
Thanks to Ybo and Chantal and to Bill and Sita of course ;-)


Mirjam and Michel

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank HookedHooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
2.4 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
253 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hooked Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooked Cabarete

Property: Hooked Cabarete
Address: Calle Los Cocos 120/121, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hooked Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hooked Cabarete is the accommodation located closest (500m) from the world-class surf spot called Playa Encuentro in Cabarete. Our guests are active people who "hate" big All Inclusive resorts. We cater to wave surfers, kiters, wind surfers, divers, hikers, mountain bikers, yoga enthusiasts, Spanish learners etc Our studio apartments are located around a pool in a tropical garden. Our place is very quiet, safe and clean. We drinkable water from every tap and 24/7 electricity and security. The owners Jeannette and Walter Derungs are Swiss who have lived mostly in the USA before settling in the DR. Our goal is to make sure our guests go home with happy memories of an active yet relaxing vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hooked Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing