We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for a surf vacation”
Review of Hooked Cabarete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hooked Cabarete
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have enjoyed two weeks with Walter and Jeanette, who are excellent hosts. They make you feel like home from the moment you arrive. The place is small, friendly and very safe. The apartments have good size, a small kitchen and a large terrace. An additional advantage is the fact that you can drink the tap water.

Especially if you are looking for a surf vacation this is the perfect place to be. It is a short walk to the best surf beach (beware that surf is the best in the early morning). The owners can help you finding a board or classes if you want. After a good session you can enjoy your day at Hooked sitting at the pool, cooking, reading or socializing with the other guests. There are good yoga classes everyday that help you even relax more!

Both Cabarete and Sosua can be reached in a 10/15 minute drive by car or scooter. It is also easy to get a taxi. All in all the perfect place for a laid back surf & yoga vacation in a wonderful place with amazing people (both owners and guests).

Room Tip: There are larger apartments with three or four beds and smaller ones with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just returned from a week staying here and had an excellent time. Hooked is a few minutes walk from Encuentro so absolutely ideal if the aim of your holiday is to surf. It's also very quiet and therefore perfect for really relaxing and chilling out while on holiday.

In addition, Hooked is a small, friendly place which is also very secure due to it being a gated area.

The owners, Walter & Jeanette (and their two lovely pet dogs!) were wonderful hosts and could not have been more helpful in suggesting places to eat, arranging surfboard rental and even driving me into Cabarete town a couple of times.

The guests are an interesting international mix which also makes for an interesting stay.

Recommended - I hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A few weeks before our departure to Cabarete, we had to cancel for medical reason. A few days prior to our scheduled departure date we had the GO from the doctor. Although Hooked had no more space available, they went behond any expectations, making sure to take care of us by securing a suite at their neighbours. This meant that my husband and I would be able to spend Christmas with our son, daughter in law and 2 grand sons. We slept at the neighbours but spent our days at Hooked with our family. The day of our arrival, Jeannette accompanied us to Sosua's Supermarket to buy groceries. Christmas diner was shared with all the guests at Hooked, 10 different nationalities. Our family had a great time surfing every morning and I had my morning swim on this great beach. My husband and I had long walks on this sandy beach every day. The local fisherman came with their catch of the day, 3 big Maui-maui and all the tenants shared this wonderful meal as a Christmas diner on the BBQ. And the local fruit and veggie merchant came and we could buy fresh produce. Never had such great tasting fruits and veggies. On site Yoga classes were great, thank you Tino. Excellent service oriented people, making sure that all our needs were met. The suites \rooms are a good size, comfortable and are cleaned every day. Nice little kitchen which made it possible for us to prepare light meals while the kids are playing in the pool. Very secure and quiet environment far enough from the big buzz of the big all inclusive places. Thanks you Jeanette, Walter and your staff for your generosity and your genuine caring. It made all the difference in the world to us, a memorable Family Christmas vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancoiseSaumure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I must say Walter and Jeanette made every effort to make sure we and the other guests were taken care of. From the local dish we had for dinner the first night, I believe called Sancocho to reimbursing us for a taxi fare which I did not mind paying but Walter felt inclined to cover.
We visited DR with surfing in mind and from what I could see Hooked was the closest to the surf spots of all the others. Hooked is located in the middle of what is considered an upscale area of Encuentro. The walk to the beach is about a half mile down a gravel road. It was a nice walk every morning with the cows and horses in the fields. The surf while not being the best I have had was still great. We had 3 days of at least 3-4ft surf. There is a perfect left point at the end of the road and several reefs in front of the surfboard rental spots. I rented a board and there is a pretty good range of boards from short to long. It is a rock bottom with some sea urchins. One thing to note is the wind usually comes up at about 11am and creates quite a bit of chop. That is when it is best for the kite and windsurfing. The water and air were about 85 our entire trip.
Best bet to rent a car because any nightlife is either in Sosua or Cabarete. We felt Cabarete was the better of the 2 however the beach at Sosua if fabulous.
We met people from Germany, Holland and Russia which was surprising to me since we are from the US and it is much closer. But meeting all these different nationalities and spending time talking with them was very enlightening. One day Walter had a local fisherman bring by his catch for the day which included Octopus, Lobster and King fish. We chose the King fish and had BBQ with Walter Jeanette and Tino. Nothing better than fresh caught fish!!.
Each room is equipped with a full kitchen so you can go to the local market which had almost anything which was great.
I suggest when eating out having the Conch or as they say in DR Lambi. It is my personal fav and I had it at least once a day.
Hooked does offer Yoga and massages but we did not do any as we chose to travel around and see the country. If we were spending more time there I am sure we would have taken them up on that.
We highly recommend Hooked when traveling to DR. It was great adventure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our rental car got a flat and he took care of us. Gerd, the manager got someone to remove the tire and personally brought it to get it repaired. The car repair place knew him and just did the work immediately withouth any hassle or over payment. I don't speak Spanish and so this was definitely a plus! He dropped me and my girlfriend at breakfast/the beach. We came back to a car with a fixed wheel. We had one full day to enjoy ourselves in this part of the DR and we would have spent it getting the tire fixed if it weren't for Gerd. He was great otherwise as well. He helped with our bags and made sure everything was in place. He helped with directions as we left. We'll go back to this place because of Gerd (and his dog, Amber). I just want to thank this establishment for such a great experience when it could have been pretty crappy otherwise.

Room Tip: the apartments are equally nice from the looks of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is just awesome! Owners are really great, appartments are clean and very comfortable, people are nice, prices are great! I can just recommand this place!!
The pool is right in front of the rooms, the beach is really close, maybe 10 minutes away if you walk slowly. The surf school is cheap and helpful, even if you can't surf.
You have a place to barbecue if you want to get in touch with other people or just chill in your hammock and have your own space.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaSawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had an awesome time with my friends staying at Hooked.

Walter and Jeanette are fantastic hosts and the location is just super.

I came to surf with my friends and unfortunately the waves where not that good but we still had a great time and met a lot of other lovely guests staying at Hooked.

I can only recommend you stay here if you come to Cabarete

Location is great (very close to beach), rooms are well maintained and have everything you need andSecurity is great

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky_Payaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
3.4 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kite Beach Hotel
Kite Beach Hotel
#10 of 19 in Cabarete
186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
387 reviews
2.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hooked Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooked Cabarete

Address: Calle Los Cocos 120/121, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Price Range: $80 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hooked Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hooked is a guesthouse/surfcamp located 500m from the famous surfspot called Playa Encuentro It consists of 8 studio apartments located in a tropical garden with pool Each studio has a fully equipped kitchen and a private terrace with a hammock. Hooked provides 24/7 electricity (generator), fast wifi, drinkable water from every tab, a yoga platform, security system, optional AC, a BBQ grill area and a chill out lounge. We have studios with a queen-size bed and some with up to 4 single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hooked Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing