We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabarete
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Sans Souci Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is on the beach and is a short walk to many restaurants and bars. It was clean and had great sounds of crashing waves which helped cover up the sounds of the group in the room next door while they partied into the night.
Cabarete is a good place to spend the night if you are flying into Puerto Plata and heading south and don't want to drive at night. It seems to be pretty much a party town.
There are many, many places in this area to stay. This place was nicer than one of the others we looked at, but not someplace I would use for a long stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank nobellhops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

$2600 Pesos for 1 nite in a room w/o air overlooking the ocean on the second floor... #23

Was not impressed.... Found out the next day that there are Lots of other places for 1/2 the price w/ air and more amenities.... The place is slowly going downhill.. No one seems to care....

Bed and furnishings are threadbare.... I won't stay there again....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captsamwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

There are many things called SANS SOUCY in Cabarete... I stayed at the SANS SOUCY PLAYA - at the eastern edge of the town, right on the beach.

I stayed in room 17 for over a week and liked my experience for the most part. The AC worked, the mini fridge and and gaz stove were okay for my needs (bring matches!)

This room is very safe, on the 2nd floor, not 30m from the sea. One thing for sure IT IS NOISY. You hear the winds and waves constantly, and there is a disco 1km down the beach that creates an odd vibration like noise through the structure. So either you go to bed at 10:00 to be sound asleep before the music starts to get loud promptly at 11:00 or just bear through it... Frankly it's not that much of a bother.

Maid service was good, the place is very clean. But they all have the NO-SMILE gene -- they're very honest I guess! (it's odd since most locals I met were all VERY smiling and positive).

The overnight security crew (is happier!), they make you feel very safe, around the hotel complex and even on the beach at night. One has to be carefull after dark - as you should everywhere! - , but it is not a dangerous area.

Internet worked well, except in the evening hours where many seem to abuse the free wifi that actually works for about 2km from the hotel ! You can use skype on your iphone as if you are on a cellular.

Why did I leave ? Frankly I got tired of the wave noises !

And when mosquitoes started to be a botter - check your room to make sure the screens are shut properly -- I tried to get a different room but that didn't appear to be something they wanted to do, so instead I just left !!!

NOTE ON THE mosquitoes, contrary to what I'm used to in Canada, these are very small and you don't feel their sting (often on the lower leg) until you start to get a reaction. I would recommand you take something as a procaution before you get here, they are pretty much everywhere!

Room Tip: avoid the first floor if you are concerned with security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

If you want any sleep, don't stay here. Horrible beds, you hear everything from outside and neighbors. There is other inexpensive hotels in Cabarete that are much better. If you get ocean front room itight be ok but we got a room in the back and changed hotel after one night.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie-68-SWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

PLAYA SANS SOUCI is right on the beach; a two minute walk to everything; close to Janet's for groceries of anything you could think: a fully stocked liquor store; cold BEER in the fridge. Right next to Severino's store for fresh produce and more RUM.

Cabarete is the most beautiful town in the world and has the nicest, loving people; Once you're there all the tours are available no matter where you stay. HAVE FUN, and watch the tour sales on the beach...go to the tour offices to book. Use Iguana Mama or Mel Tours; they are the best.

Full security at Sans Souci all day and all night. Alberto who booked us in, was the nicest person you would want to meet. Maids to clean the rooms and the night security guard is very protective of the whole complex.

We stayed in an upstairs apartment for two weeks privacy; yet could have fun and enjoy evenings on the balcony without any complaints, comfort, clean and and had so much fun.

Right on the beach; free lounge chairs and wonderful Ramone who looks after your personal items when you are on the beach. There is no food service available. You do get a kitchenette with a stove sink; fridge. It is Perfect!

The hotel is just far enough on the end of the beach for quiet sleeps and close enough for partying. only a 3-minute walk and you are at bars like LAX; JOSE O'SHay's and my favorite ONO"s.

Sans Souci has one of the best rates on the beach; and I tell you I'm a bit nervous giving out this information because I would prefer that no-one go there except ME.

Will be calling Alberto soon to see if he still wears the shirt we gave him cuz you just have to bring these people gifts they are so nice. Be sure to leave a treat for the people who do an amazing job of keeping your room tidy....they are Truly Wonderful People

Cherry and Wode CANADA

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FPcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Stolen camera from the room, stolen shoes from a balcony. All by security guard. Called management two times, management doesn't care. Won't re3commend this hotel to anyone. Beware!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yugin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

I find it ironic that "sans souci" means "no worries" in French! It was all the opposite, starting with the fact that we couldn't sleep because of the noise, music and people chit chatting outside the hotel, not to mention the fact that the AC didn't work, there was just a fan blowing hot air!

I also found the guy who works there to be very unfriendly and not helpful at all!!!

Avoid this place like the plague!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joshbbQuebec_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
199 reviews
0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 19 in Cabarete
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
365 reviews
0 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
381 reviews
0 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Sans Souci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Sans Souci Hotel

Address: Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing