We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a good choice!”
Review of Hotel El Magnifico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Magnifico
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really a good choice!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wellmaintained facility, nice not too big buildings with appropriate (not luxury, but good enough) apartments and an extraordinary beautiful garden. The staff is great, really friendly and helpful. It's quiet and you feel safe, the beach is fantastic and not far away, many nice restaurants located at the beach. And a supermarket is just round the corner. On the more peculiar side is the location of a cementary between the hotelarea and the beach, why several apartments have that view in front.

We can recommend a visit at El Choco National Park, with beautiful nature jungle and caves, in Cabarete, even on walking distance some kilometres away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
30
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed at hotel / cóndo magnífico in cabarete for first time this past week for 2 days and was truly impressed. I've been to the Dominican republic several times. Stayed in several locations , but never cabarete. Decided to take a 10 minute cab ride from puerto plata for 600 pesos . Fell in love with the property as soon as i stepped foot inside the first room. I decided the studio room feet away from the Beach , pool, and heated jacuzi. 5 min walk to center of town restaurants and discos. Loved my stay. Will difinitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dvdmdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estonia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent little over week and rented royal suite in building nr 4, few days on the first floor and then on the second. We liked the place very much. It is quiet - just a little away from the central beach - so there is more privacy. And the little walk on the beach from the hotel to the main beach is also nice. The hotel territory is very nice and well kept. So was the suite. Clean and very spacious. It's good to have your own kitchen for breakfasts. Also the wind is blowing nicely through the apartment if you keep the shutters open - so there was no need even for A/C. One funny thing - there is a graveyard in the middle of the hotel and from the balcony you can see the crosses and graves - we didn't mind it at all and it was rather exotic :)

The stuff was helpful and friendly. So we were very happy tht we booked it and consider booking it again if we should return to Cabarete.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terri78est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We rented a two-bedroom penthouse unit so our daughter and son-in-law could stay with us as well. They are currently living in the Dominican Republic. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The unit was clean and the view of the ocean was priceless. The housekeeping staff changed the linens everyday (the towels were a bit thin). The grounds were spotless and security was a constant presence since the beaches are public in the DR. Our building looked out to the ocean and we walked along the beach to the nearby restaurants every evening. There was also a grocery store nearby where we could purchase our groceries along with shops and a bank. The taxi driver, Danny, was most accommodating - even when we had to leave at 4:30 a.m. to catch our flight. The only downsides to the unit were 1) the ants that appeared on the kitchen counter in the mornings when we woke up so we learned to keep cereal and such in the frig (we probably should have mentioned it to the front desk but it really wasn't that big of a deal for us - we usually just took care of them ourselves each morning) and 2) the bed was short for my 6'2" husband. It was a relaxing, wonderful place to stay with family. We were there just before the rates went up for the winter season so I don't know whether the level of service is any different when the establishment is completely full. We will be going back (I hope).

Room Tip: We were on the third floor so the ocean breeze was great - we never used the A/C unit in our bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was so lucky to have come across this beautiful accommodation in Fodors guide book!
I stayed for a week from 4 October. Firstly I had a wonderful spacious apartment. The bathroom and shower were great with excellent water pressure and always hot! A big comfortable bed with balcony and view to the beach and plenty of hanging space in built-in robes. The kitchen area and lounge had a large fridge which I could keep any food that I bought at Jennys
Supermarket 5 minutes away .. even though I ate out a lot!
Angela and Michelle at reception were always so helpful with their happy dispositions and Michelle

even found me an English speaking taxi driver for long trips! all staff were great. I recommend that a trip to the Oceanarium in Puerto Plata at night to see the cabaret is great value and includes dinner in their beautiful restaurant and the show was FABULOUS!!
I will certainly stay there again and loved their pool. The property and gardens is exquisite!!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Just tell them your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samoasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent a week staying at this amazing resort. It was stunningly beautiful! The resort property, the room accommodations, the staff service, all were magnificant. The resort property was a tropical paradise, and the fencing and stonework throughout the property and pathways was enchanting. The grounds were kept immaculate by the staff daily, and the view from the property to the ocean was breathtaking. The room accommodations were decorated in a modern, contemporary charm, and were pristine and comfortable. Housekeeping kept the rooms clean daily. The entire staff were personable, friendly, and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After scouring the internet for hours on end, I made the best choice I could make for help in finding the perfect place to stay in the Dominican Republic. I contacted Rimma at Sunny Villa Holidays and gave her an idea as to what my travel group was looking for. She directed me to El Magnifico and it was beyond excellent! The owner Gerrard is hands on and the building, rental units, and grounds are immaculate. The front desk staff of Angela and Michelle were so very accommodating and the security staff consisting of Joel, Junior, and Chocolate were so personable and professional. The housekeepers kept our unit spotless on a daily basis as well. The hotel is easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants in Cabarete. El Magnifico is a magical place and I look forward to visiting there again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Cabarete
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
0.5 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Magnifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Magnifico

Property: Hotel El Magnifico
Address: Calle del Cementerio, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Magnifico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel El Magnifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing