We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful with a lot of charm! You don't go wrong!”
Review of Hotel El Magnifico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Magnifico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful with a lot of charm! You don't go wrong!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Waw! What a beautiful hotel . I was amazed by the service , the clean rooms. It defenetly a place to go if you want to relax, enjoy good restaurant, do some fishing and surfing!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rileso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
30
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We spent 24 beautiful days at the El Magnifico Bldge 6 second floor. The accomodations are great with balconies on each bedroom and a spacious covered front balcony where we were able to sit every day. The hot tube was just down the path and we used it every nite. All the staff; Lisa, Olga, Carlos were more than accomodating and worked hard to make our stay wonderful. All the local people are friendly and you feel very safe on or off the property.Maid service prompt and wonderful smiling staff every day!This being our 4th stay; we were familiar with all the great places - Janet's supermarket which has really expanded and offers everything you could possibly want. Claro; still the best breakfast place in Cabarete. Dick's Bakery - fabulous cafe latte, breads and pastries; plus breakfast. The gardens of El Magnifico are amazing and still immacuately kept by the elderly gardener on staff. They can be very proud of this little oasis by the sea and we will return.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the second or penthouse levels but that is a personal perference. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband and two grown daughter recently spent 10 glorious nights at Magnifico. Lisa and Olga and all the staff were incredibly helpful. Any questions were always answered promptly and thoroughly (l would often email and night and have an answer first thing when they got into the office.) We stayed in the Penthouse in Building 6 and it was amazing! Our room had panaramic views of the the sea and the sound of wind and waves to lull us to sleep. I believe most of the buildings have this wonderful and well designed window system that is screens with semi clear louvers that can close to keep our rain but for a full ventilation. We looked at some properties that didn't have screen options in patios doors etc. We heard that mosquitos could be a problem (although we did not experience that in Feb.) but if we had chosen another accomadation, we may have been stuck without fresh air, closed in with A/C. We are not AC people. AC was an option here, but with this unit, you have natural AC from the ocean.There were a few small drawbacks, but I hesitate to even mention, because everything was so amazing:
Water: We went through a 5 gallon bottle almost every day. It was only $4 and delivered whenever we requested it. It was a little challenging to pour into pitchers and it would have been wonderful to have a dispenser.
Kitchen: Great coffee maker, no microwave (Lisa said the salt is too hard on appliances). No toaster oven but the oven did work. The stove was challenging, in that the pilots were difficult to stay lit and it took so long to even boil water, we didn't cook much.Late in the trip, I learned to close the front louvers to keep down on the wind (even though the stove is in the back of the unit). I think that would have been better. Ask Lisa or front person for anything you need (we were missing a small pot) and she will find it. No need to cook much anyway, as there are tons of good restaurants!
Shopping: Janets Supermarket (the best around I think) is a short walk which is great and Claros Restaurant is minutes away-great breakfast and lunch! There is a shorter walk to Janets that puts you directly on the street near Asian Cafe, which from our unit was easier. We found that later in the week. There is a very small number of organic/health food items available so if you are accustomed to that way of eating you will have to adjust. I did find that certain days, there was LOW stock on many items and then all of sudden everything was stocked -beautiful organic arrugula and new cheeses etc.
All in all, Magnifico is magniificent!!! We are planning a month next year in an apartment at Magnific. (cant swing the Penthouse, financially) but the surroundings, lush gardens, attentive and friendly staff, FABULOUS security will make up for the lack of ocean view. Oh if you get a chance to go for a 2 hour horse back riding with Juan, it was wonderful!! Wear long pants and tell him is the stirrup rope is chaffing your leg. I came back with an open cut area. Also, be prepared to be sore for a few days. You can catch him at the path toward the beach - he often waits in front of Otro Cosa with a couple of horses. Otro Cosa is a fabulous splurge and moments walk from Magnifico. The Filet Mignon was perfect.
Magnifico is a special property for the traveler that wants more than a fancy hotel, condo, or resort experience. It is lush, beautiful, friendly safe, quiet, has a hot tub under the stars etc. It was everything we wanted and more!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 58Baba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Beautiful villas, awesome kitchens and common areas, very nice bedrooms and common ground; only downside is not having direct access to a swim-able beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I went to check this place out for a meditation retreat and what a tranquil place. Gerard and his wife Amelia have put all their passion into the place and the results show. The lush gardens and stone walkways all over the property are magical. lots of little "hideaways". Great location - nice and quiet and private but very close walk to Cabarete Beach and all the lounges and restaurants, not that you need it with Claro next door. Best brunch ever.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shairal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was extremely impressed with this hotel! The rooms, the property, and pool were all extremely clean and organized. Even though it is near the main road you cannot hear the cars. The owner’s first language is English so it is easy to communicate with her. Overall this is one of the nicest places I have been!

Room Tip: Come in hurricane season because the rates are lower. Also the rooms rate is for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Negreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

i was looking forward to my trip to el magnifico.I think all the security guards are great and all work hard .I stayed in the penthouse suite in building 6.They have the hardest bed to sleep in and there couches smell like dirt.I was there for 5 days and the refrigerator wasn't working at all.The hotel has no swimmable beach and just to get to there unswimmable beach you have to turn into tomb raider and do flips to get there.Its real close to velero beach and there's a restaurant real close name claro which is great.Also there's a supermarket named Janet as soon as you make a right coming out of the street.It is a quiet spot but it is annoying to have to walk to the center of cabarete to go where everything is.I wouldn't stay here again even though all the staff were great.I just wish i had done better research on the cabarete which now i feel like a expert after spending ten days there

Room Tip: go elsewhere closer to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leo_travel_agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Magnifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Magnifico

Property: Hotel El Magnifico
Address: Calle del Cementerio, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Magnifico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel El Magnifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing