We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agualina Kite Resort
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Aqualina Kite Resort...absolutely breathtaking! Beautiful views of the ocean from our beach front balcony! Accommodations were very adequate, staff was friendly and helpful, and the price was reasonable. The maintanance staff were working on the AC in our room when we arrived, but they had the situation remedied and the unit worked great for our entire stay. We had a little problem with this shower head falling out of its holder, but once we brought it to the attention of the staff, they took care of it immediately, as well! The hotel is conveniently located to reataurants and shopping. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

- Great staff, they were super nice, helpful and they were willing to accomodate my request.
- Room is very clean, confortable and the view is amazing
- Location is great, right on the beach where there are plenty of kites. There is not a lot of sand in front of the hotel, but this is a problem for most of the hotels in the area. But the staff in the kite school were always helpful in helping with lauching and landing.
- Kite school in front of the hotel is awesome, brand new equipment and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good place to stay right in the middle of the kite beach, especially if traveling as a couple or a family. It's more comfortable than some other kite beach hotels which I'd say are more suited for budget travelers/kiters.
All the rooms and apartments have a sea view, and the staff is very nice and helpful. The place is clean. You can have breakfast right there, although it's a bit pricey relative to next door alternatives, but need to go out for dinner or order food delivery from Cabarete.
The only thing that did bother me was one particular buzzin noise coming from the outside.
All in all, I'd definitely go back to this hotel if I were to visit Caberete in the future.

Room Tip: Upper floors for view, apartments on the ground floor for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maja_y_Luka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stay here on may 10th, i travelled to see the Winbash Fest, the hotel is so simple but a good choice, they have a room with stove for 15 dollars more, you can eat on the litle town of cabarete but for me was better buy in the supermarkets( they are less than a mile away).

Room Tip: rooms with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel_S918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Agualina is super clean, the staff is kind, sweet and professional.

The location is the best....the view is great...the garden is super nice the pool is great everything is wonderful at Agualina

I have been there many times and I will go back because they always make me feel at home

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrancescoMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our room was clean, spacious, and perfectly located at the Kitesurfing School at the Kitesurfing Beach. We had a first floor room, which I would recommend for ease of access and a view of all the activities and the beach. The room was equipped with a refrigerator, including a freezer, and a stove and sink. The only complaint was that there was no coffee pot. They provided some instant coffee for the first night’s stay. We ended up buying an expresso coffee pot for about $US 4 at Janet’s Market and it worked great. The bathroom was very roomy with two sinks and a large shower. Beach towels were provided with a card. We enjoyed sitting on our patio looking at beach, enjoying our cocktails, and seeing the kites flying.

The Vaca Bar on the premises was run independently by “Cami”, a culinary-school graduate and she did an excellent job. Breakfasts were all made to order and were excellent. The lunch menu included burgers, subs, and main entrees. We had the subs and burgers and they were excellent. She has a full bar, including mama juana, the local aperitif. She bought live spiny lobsters one day and we had an excellent impromptu dinner for two on Valentine’s day of Spiny Lobster, which she grilled, spinach, sautéed potatoes, tomato salad and of course El Presidente beer and mama juana aperitif. We definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: We liked the first floor access to the activities and beach from our patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KLD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Regarding location the hotel is perfect - right on the beach, and just far enough from the Cabarete center to be away from the chaos of restaurants and shops but still a nice walk in (or 2 minute drive).

Rooms are spacious, and very clean - we had the ground floor studio and liked being able to sit out on the little patio.

Doesn't feel like a "resort" at all as it is self-contained apartments, and very small. Therefore, nice and quiet place to relax.

I rated average service as our first morning we realized the deadbolt for the lock was stuck and we couldn't open the door. Our only option to get out of the room was the patio sliding door (thank god we were ground level or else we would've been stuck inside), which can't be locked from the outside - needless to say, I wasn't going to leave our room for the day unlocked and easy for strangers to get in. That being said, we notified staff at 9:30am and it wasn't until 2pm (and four times of the staff saying "wait just one more hour") until we were told the lock couldn't be fixed at all and we switched rooms. The reason it was so frustrating was the fact that we only had 4 days in town, and spent a lot of money to be there.. and wasted more than half a day sitting around the hotel waiting for nothing. And the staff didn't seem to appreciate this, or seem to care, at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
359 reviews
0 mi away
Kite Beach Hotel
Kite Beach Hotel
#10 of 19 in Cabarete
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
376 reviews
1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agualina Kite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agualina Kite Resort

Address: Carretera Principal, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range: $66 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agualina Kite Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* beachfront hotel, all units with balcony and ocean view, pool, beach chairs, restaurant/bar, internet connection, professional and friendly service, kiteboarding school, only afew mintues from Center of Cabarete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agualina Kite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing