We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean and welcoming stay in a beautiful place with stunning views!”
Review of Kite Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kite Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Cabarete
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Cozy, clean and welcoming stay in a beautiful place with stunning views!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Janina, the host/ manager of Kite Beach Hotel was very welcoming and informed us very well about what to see/ where (not) to eat /how to get around, etc.
She also organized real nice nights when we' d go out for cozy dinners in the best restaurants, with whomever felt like joining in. That's how people came together who from themselves, might not have got to know each other!
We spent an unforgettable Christmas-eve with a warm group of new - made friends!
Thanks so much, Janina!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rixtleddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    49
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
50
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winters
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our family was looking for a place to stay that would be relaxed and still within walking distance of Cabarete. Kite Beach seemed a good fit. Once Janina from Kite Beach Hotel started helping us with room, restaurant and activity advice everything just fell into place. Janina spent time sending us photos of the few rooms she had left open and we chose the more expensive room with a full front view of the ocean and kite surfers. The room was really larger than we needed, but a nice way to end vacation in the Dominican Republic. The other room options would have been fine since we were usually gone on adventure activities during the day. It was nice being able to walk the beach at sunset to Cabarete for dinner. Wish we could have walked the beach back, but Janina mentioned that because of unlighted areas, taking a taxi might be the best choice. Her recommendation of the "Otra Cosa" restaurant for my daughter's birthday was perfect. The staff were always friendly, helpful and having a secure parking area for our rental car was an added plus. Included breakfasts were very nice, even if we were only able to enjoy it one morning due to being gone on activities most of our days. Janina's friendship with Helmut and recommendation of his company's (Kayak River Adventures) "Magical Mushroom" canyoneering tour was the highlight of our time in the DR. Helmut and his wife (she runs a local pre-school for local children) really care about the culture and lives of the Dominican people.
Janina, thanks for everything you did to make our time with you truly memorable. Mike, Val and Ambi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGardnerWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I came to the Kite Beach Hotel reading great reviews but still not exactly sure what to expect. I can say now that I am leaving, that it far exceeded my expectations. Janina and crew run a great hotel. The service is kind and helpful-- always smiles on everyone's face! The rooms are very well maintained, the grounds are beautiful. It is the perfect spot for a short or long getaway! You get a front row seat to the afternoon kiting action which if you haven't seen before is nothing less than amazing. I am already planning my return. Special shout out to Stefan at Kitexcite for getting me up on the board in just a few days. It's the perfect place to learn the best sport I have ever tried.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an amazing time. A bit nervous at first not going to an all-inclusive but all my fears left me as soon as we arrived. Amazing people such as Janina greeted us upon arrival. (I also previously emailed her with questions and she responded quickly). Janina gave us amazing advise from what to do, where to eat and how to get there. If you are lucky enough you will get to hang with her and get to know her as well as Robin (owner) and his family.

Roberto and Michelle bartended almost everyday who are wonderful. I do not have enough words to express how wonderful the people are at kite beach as well as the kite school next door especially Alfredo.

The food and drinks were great. I am very picky and loved everything I ate and drank. We ate lunch and dinner there almost everynight. If you wanna eat off the hotel Ali's, Gordito's and Blue Moon are wonderful but as I said Janina will tell you. Follow her advice she knows what she is talking about.
We were suppose to leave on a Wed and extended our stay until Sat. I could of stayed forever. Everyone else we meet from the locals to the Americas who now reside there and the other guests are such cool and nice people. You will not be dissappointed (only that you have to leave)
Kite Beach we just wanna thank you and hope to see you all very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a great time! Many thanks to Janina and all the staff at KBH. Janina organized a number of events, gave us advice, made suggestions on activities, restaurants, etc. She made our trip one of those vacations you never forget!

As far as our room, our unit in the new building were spacious, clean and comfortable. The food at the hotel was great and its a good location from which to enjoy many different activities.

Wished my schedule had allowed us more time there.

I would definitely go back to KBH, have missed it since we got back to Canada.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The good: friendly people always trying to accommodate our requests, rooms in the new building were clean and comfortable, Incredible food, Great restaurants nearby and a Great location to Kite surf

The Bad: I didn’t have enough time to stay longer, I heard that the activities at the hotel after I left were amazing

The Best: From the beginning Janina was always helpful giving us advice about where to go and what to do. Also, organizing events for the guest and providing always a great environment for the guests.

The Worst: Nothing worst that going back to Canada during winter knowing that there is an amazing place in Cabaratte where I can have so much fun.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A wonderful location to kite board, relax and explore!

A special thanks to Janina for taking such great care of me your attention to all the little details that made my special was exceptional!

Kind Regards,
Craig

Room Tip: Ocean views and sea breezes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Cabarete
370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Cabarete
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agualina Kite Resort
Agualina Kite Resort
#7 of 47 in Cabarete
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kite Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kite Beach Hotel

Property: Kite Beach Hotel
Address: Sosua-Cabarete Road, Kite Beach 5 | Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kite Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kite Beach Hotel is located at the center of Cabarete's Kite Beach, each room just a few steps from the warm Caribbean waters. Both for relaxing, swimming, sun bathing at an uncrowded beach in the morning and for the action of the most exciting watersport in the afternoon, Kite Beach Hotel is the ideal place for people who like the difference. The hotel presents the best quality at the best spot at the right price. It doesn't matter if you are a water sports addict or if you want to explore the Dominican culture and country side, we can organize you a personalized vacation. In the evenings you can have either a quiet dinner at our beach front restaurant or check out the wide choice of international restaurants and bars in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kite Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kite Beach Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing