We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thought the X in eXtreme hotel stood for Xenophilia”
Review of Extreme Hotel

Extreme Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Extreme Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scarlino, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“thought the X in eXtreme hotel stood for Xenophilia”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Well, as busy as I try to make my life I must apologize for not haven written this review earlier.

I was lucky enough to spend three weeks with the fun loving, super fit, Crew of eXtreme in December of last year. I was immediately welcomed by the friendly staff of fitness junkies. Seriously, these people offer to those whom choose to join them what I could only imagine to be similar to a fix of something elicit craved by your well being.

The grounds on where the hotel has been grown shows their love of nature and the bountifulness she can provide if cared for. They are developing an aquaponics garden to add to their already organically grown foods which they serve in the delicious juice bar/restaurant on site. The staff of which are always smiling and willing to help you combine the perfect blend of fruit or vegetables to come up with the unique flavour smoothie you are craving that day. (even if your Spanish is rubbish as mine)

The seaside yoga, weather be early morning or candlelit evening, is a rewarding prize of balance and focus. The yogis help what is already one the most beautiful practices I have ever had the pleasure of sharing, into a place to experience inner peace. With the braking waves and horses being run up the beach there is a fullness to the senses.

Their high flying misfits of physique bring out the child in everyone who wants to have a go on the high trapeze. Normally it is the local kids of the island who are the ones to encourage everyone else to try the challenge by their screams of enjoyment, rewarding catches, and fun filled misses.

For me the most rewarding experience, besides the ping pong, would have to be the high intensity Cross Fit gym run by their head trainer Zach. Zach and his Team find a way to bring out the most in you that you have, in the safest way possible. They push you to your limit, at the same time allowing yourself to go that extra step for them. These guys/girls now their stuff, a combination of life long commitments, to the ones whoms inner athlete came out on a later path, they teach as much as they to train. Simply said; if you want to know what you are capable of achieving, no matter what level you are at now, they will bring it out. I highly recommend one of Zach's very addictive post workout smoothies to enrich your already heightened sense of fit.

All this combined with some amazing offsite activities (which they happily help organize) make this to be my all time favourite getaways I have ever experienced.

Cant wait until my next visit.

Thanks again Robbie and everyone at eXtreme.
Kyle T.

Room Tip: Go with some friends and book the Penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seaz2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    62
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
55
122
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Besides the obvious value adders (on-site excellent restaurant/bar, best Gym ever, yoga, trainers, nutritionists, & kite surf school), there's so much more to this great spot.
Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Keep an ear out for group dinner invites!
Trip/activity suggestions range from informative to relaxing to awe-inspiring to wild adventures. I would recommend the farm tour to everyone.
Great relationships with other local businesses resulting in a constant stream of excellent restaurant/surf school/rental/boardshop/barber/bar/etc/etc suggestions
Did I mention the coolest gym ever? Zach & Co at Rogue fitness were extremely friendly, welcoming, knowledgeable, and engaging to every single person who walked through the door, regardless of experience or fitness level. They clearly love what they do and it shows.

If you have an active lifestyle, or would like to get more active, eXtreme hotel is THE place to be. I came here alone looking for some good surfing and I wound up with a whole wack of great experiences with some great people, both in & out of the water.

Room Tip: Bottom floor = access to an excellent communal kitchen! bring ear plugs. night time bugs + traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ekai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiteloungerobbie, Manager at Extreme Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review Ekai

We glad that you enjoy the gym - we think it's one of the coolest gyms ever as well. The crossfit, yoga and trx classes are a big draw for the guests of the hotel. We love what we do and it shows!

Glad you enjoyed the surfing, we think it's some of the most underrated surfing in the Caribbean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My three week stay at Extreme did in fact change my life. It made me realize something I had been dissecting away in my mind for about a year…

Superheroes do in fact exist!

After I read Tim Ferriss’ incredible The 4 Hour Workweek I realized that there were some people that just seemed to be having way to much fun for the amount of “work” they put in. I used quotation marks because for many of these people it seemed they actually enjoyed what they did for cash. They were just doing what they were doing and suddenly somebody decided to pay them for it. Ah… True bliss!
Well, Extreme is ground 0 for this tribe of globetrotting superheroes. Just by being there you will feel faster, stronger and happier. Everyone you come in contact with is a real life superhero that is doing their best to build a truly happy life. Everyone will brighten your day and everyone will inspire you to actually do something that day!
I did the 2 week kite package and became good enough to ride back and forth a distance that seemed blasphemously unachievable just a few days before. While they don’t have the walkie-talkies (which I wouldn’t even wear from how silly they look) the guys over at Extreme’s Kite School will watch over you like hawks… Keeping you safe way into the twilight hours of a pretty much priceless late afternoon kite session.
The rooms are incredible for what they actually cost! You have your own bathroom and fan right above your bed that will provide the perfect Caribbean seaside sleeping temperature. For food just head over to Extreme’s own Mojito Bar and ask Sonia for a delicious Crepe and maybe some Waffles… Calories over there taken on a whole different meaning. You can basically eat twice as much as you eat back home and you will probably lose weight! You’ll be sweating those waffles in about an hour while trying to body drag upwind to get your board back. But do it. Definitely learn to body drag upwind…
Nightlife is every night. You just get up at 9 or 10, have breakfast, workout, take a nap, quick luch, kite for 4 hours, have a beer with 20 of the coolest people you’ll meet in your life, take a nap, go for delicious burritos for dinner and then party ‘till 2 am.
Rinse. Wash. Repeat.
Ahhh… how I like keeping life simple.
The staff is just amazing! All of them, there are three awesome girls that will practically become your friend by Osmosis. Yes, they are that nice. And pretty too, so be warned.
Robbie, the owner is always up and about and is pretty good at Ping Pong. I think we played twice and halved things pretty fairly. I lost my credit card and he completely figured out a way for me to pay him the rest of my bill when I got home!

Zack, the crossfit guy, is one of those people that can make you happy just by walking past you. He has an incredible vibe and leads some amazing training sessions!

So tell me, when was the last time a hotel let you check out without paying your bill and just said… Hit me up when you get home… Here is my Paypal. Well, that’s the kind of place it is.
So go. Go back. And bring others.

All the people there even inspired me to create a school for superheroes. Jajajaja. You can imagine the time I had I bet. Check it out: www.expeditinghappiness.com

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank supercarlitos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Kind of a one stop shop for your active vacation. The staff is super friendly and make a point of including you immediately into their little activity group. I had a last minute change in my travel plans and the staff was flexible and able to accommodate my request. You will be able to arrange all kind of activities directly at the hotel, either using their facilities or through side trips. I took kite surfing lessons through extreme and participated in one very exhausting crossfit class...both were awesome. The Mojito bar serves good and healthy food and is tended by a very friendly group of locals. I will certainly recommend this place to friends and family headed to Cabarete.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the water. It will likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paco_gato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Yoga in the morning with Molly was exceptional. 20 yards off the beach, outdoors, and advanced as you want to be. Then to breakfast on the beach, great staff, great food. Moderate prices. Then sign up for Pilates, Kick boxing, Cross-fit, etc. By about 1-2pm, the wind is kicking it up, so on to Kiteboarding. At night, there is about a mile walk to town where there is plenty of good food, out and indoor bars, some with sports TV. Everywhere you go in Cabaret, you walk or hop on a scooter/moto for about a $1.
The hotel itself is equipped with very nice, large, if simple rooms. No TV or microwaves. You have a frig and a 5 gallon purified water tap...an absolute necessity in the DR. Don't brush your teeth from the tap.
This hotel is run by a fellow named Robby who trains his staff to be laid back, helpful and courteous, as he is.
The hotel is a bit more like a hostel in that it has more basic amenities, and it's key coolness is that it caters to an Active Crowd. This is not an all inclusive hotel, but a gathering place for people who want to try something new daily. I had a full set up trapeze and net right outside my room where some very skilled Circus folk teach flying lessons. Outrageous and fun and about 1/3 the price you'd pay anywhere in the states.
To be complete, I will say that the place is run on mostly solar, so the water can be very hard to modulate. The front couple of rooms near the office were too loud for comfort (traffic noise), but the rooms near the ocean were great.
I should also say the kiteboarding package is the way to go, here, with unlimited rentals.

Room Tip: There is no AC, but you don't need it. Request a room by the ocean if you're a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richthepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Even though I am not a kite surfer, I had a great stay here. Staff is friendly and helpful, the restaurant has great food (try the salsa) and the beach is beautiful. I walked up and down the beaches and fully enjoyed the trip.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamidah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just got back from 2 weeks at Extreme with my Fiancee. Loved every second of it.

This place is heaven on earth for the right person. If you can't live without luxury, stuffing yourself until you can't sit up, watching TV on vacation, taking 30 minute hot showers then you may have some difficulties. Otherwise embrace what this property has to offer and try anything and everything.

The staff are not your typical "desk rat front desk agents". They are floating around the property everywhere and it is obvious they love their job. Ask them anything anytime. Their recommendations are better than anything you will find on trip advisor. They also make you feel really FAT every time they walk by you all ripped and sweaty and your at the bar eating a canadian sandwich.

Extreme is walkable in the day along the beach to Cabarete bay. At night you hop on a moto bike or taxi to get to town.(3 mins) 2-5 dollars. It is a great spot to be away from the hustle and bustle of town but there are just the perfect amount of cool people around to have great company. It is a great headquarter if you are into surfing, kiteboarding, cross fit, yoga, and gymnastics, running on beach.

I think some people could get deferred from the name EXTREME. I consider an all inclusive resort EXTREME as I think I would go insane being lazy, not meeting inspiring active people, experiencing true culture and making decisions for myself, partaking in a healthy lifestyle.

The rooms have very high ceilings which I love and great balconies. There was no TV or AC which I personally don't like to have on vacation. The place felt very secure. Showers were weak but then you remember it is a solar power property ha. Pool was big and very clean. Property was well maintained and looked great. Beach was nice and sandy. Restaurant was well priced and excellent, kite school was amazing, yoga = amazing, cross fit - did not try but i'm sure it's awesome as everyone is ripped. We will be back.

Nice touch on: the included massive water jugs which were so needed and the message board which posts daily news and activities.

Thanks to all staff for everything.

Room Tip: Liked top floor for its balcony views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregoryroberthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiteloungerobbie, Manager at Extreme Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Such a cool review! Love the title.

Does it mean then if my girlfriend loves it, I'm just like Indiana Jones?

Thank you for the review. It's spot on. Extreme is totally heaven on earth for the right type of person. We strive to be the best at what we are - and action sports eco hotel that caters to fitness enthusiast, eco minded cool people. Rather than put all our efforts into the rooms, we put our efforts into the activities - because that's what we do all day!

And thank you for noticing the water jugs in the rooms! We are the only place in town that does that! It seems strange that other places don't - watch for what's coming soon - we plan to start to rain water collect drinking water as an option!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
368 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extreme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extreme Hotel

Property: Extreme Hotel
Address: Kite beach, km 10. 5, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Extreme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate action sports eco paradise in an amazing beachfront location. Kiteboarding and surfing right out front, a full service crossfit fitness center, yoga loft, Stand Up Paddle boards, Spanish Language School and a full Flying Trapeze and Circus Arts School - all in one fun place. We are have an organic farm that recycles, composts and grows part of the food we serve in our farm to table restaurant. Come on by and enjoy fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Extreme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extreme Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing