We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure in an easy to get to spot”
Review of Extreme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Extreme Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great place to stay in Cabarete or in the Caribbean in general. If you are looking for a hostel-like atmosphere where you can meet other people and you want the opportunity to do cool stuff like do a flying trapeze course in the morning while learning to kitesurf in the afternoon then this is your spot. The restaurant on the premises aint too shabby either. I went by myself, met a bunch of cool people and had a really good time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, but that is what I expected. The rooms are very clean and they give you clean drinking water so no worries there. I will definitely be back. Thanks Extreme

-Ian

Room Tip: I go a room facing the ocean which was cool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Extreme Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 314 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay in Cabarete this past summer. The hotel itself was very clean with an ocean view, limitless activities, friendly staff and a restaurant down stairs. What more could one need? Simply put, it was paradise.

Cabarate runs mostly along the north side of the island and is pretty much surrounded by ocean. It is breath taking. The beach is known as a kiting beach, great for kite surfing and surfing. If you're looking for an extreme activity this is the place to go. You can order kite surfing materials as well as receive lessons on the beach if you're a novice. The hotel also offers trapese lessons, has a half pipe and an amazing gym. The gym is simple, but has all essential equipment for a great stretch or an intense work-out.

The gym offers fitness classes in kick boxing, cross fit and yoga among other things. I had the immense pleasure of practicing yoga with Gigi, she tells us she lived in Bali for a few months and is where she became certified to teach. What more experience could you want in a yogi? She taught me a lot about posture and I learned to be extremely conscious of my spine alignment. I had no idea the difference it could really make. Her class, in a yoga loft over looking the crashing waves, is enlightening. She fixes her students often, encourages them to challenge themselves, hold the posture a few more breaths, become one with the practice. Gigi is the best yoga teacher I've had the pleasure to meet. Her morning and afternoon classes made my stay at Extreme more than worth it.

Jen and Monica also had a great impact on my trip with their many suggestions of fun things to do on the island and were always eager to help with a smile and great attitude.

Another highlight of the hotel would have to be the Chichigua restaurant located downstairs, also over looking the water. Impecable service and deliciously satisfying plates from traditional Dominican dishes to burgers, sandwiches and breakfast as well. The restaurant and hotel work together and have an organic farm off the property (I'll get to that in a minute) where a not so well known plant is cultivated. The plant is moringa and the restaurant makes pita with the leaves. The plant is higher in protein than most animal products and give the pita a unique and rich flavor. Arturo and Cesar were my two favorite servers at the restaurant with their suggestions and attentive service.

About the farm, the hotel offers a tour on Wednesdays. The farm is a vast property with some animals, but mostly plants. It is an ecosystem on its own using only the sun and the ecology of the farm to prosper. The tour is about an or two long. The guide will show you all the different plants, fruits and vegetables and will explain to you their significane in our diets or in the farm's ecosystem. You also sample many of the items such as berries, star fruit and other leafy veggies making for a satisfyingly intelligent tour. After the tour, lunch is served and prepared with ingredients right from the farm. I was lucky enough to taste Monica's coconut rice. What an amazing treat. Just when you think it's over, the fun just begins. Following lunch is the river float. You're given a large rubber float, you hop in and enjoy this naturally lazy river that runs through the most beautiful jungley mountains you've ever had the pleasure of seeing. It's honestly something from out of a movie. Be sure to bring a water proof camera, you truly won't regret it.

Horse back riding is easily accessible from the hotel's back yard (the beach) and the hotel is located in a central enough location where you can sample other restaurants and street vendors as well. YOU MUST HAVE AN EGG EMPANADA. I still crave them from time to time. Remember to add catsup.

All in all, it was a great experience for my mind, body, soul and palette. I could not have imagined a place with a more friendly staff. At one point, I was hanging out one afternoon with Gigi and some other guests just trying out our back bends, handstands and cart wheels. There really is no better place in Cabarete. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

Namaste.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meggyfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you like hanging out with cool, healthy, fit, fun and caring people extreme is the place for you.
The facilities and the staff are top class.
I will be back ASAP.
I feel much healthier after my three weeks in the extreme hotels, kitesurfing and following the various gym classes.

See you soon guys.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martinmubas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed one week with a kite surf package and loved every minute. When it wasn't windy, I was flying on the trapeze, doing yoga in the loft and hanging out with other solo travellers. I also appreciate all the green initiatives of the hotel. They run on solar power, provide big jugs of filtered water, have an organic garden and are leading the way in aquaponics. I only scratched the surface of all the potential fun the hotel offers. The staff will make sure you make the most out of your vacation. I will definitely return to this gem!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meganad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I really loved my stay at Extreme Hotel! It is right on Kite Beach and they have many activities there to choose from including aerial arts, yoga, Crossfit, fitness boxing and person training. There are also many external activities to choose from including canyoning, rafting, caving and exploring the surrounding beaches. If you are an active person, it is a dream come true. The staff is super friendly and will help set you up with what you want to do! The first day I arrived there was a hurricane and Robbie took me to the store himself and Gen made me dinner since a lot of the restaurants were closed. I also had one of the best massages there in all of my travels. It is not your typical "hotel", but is a very unique concept and blend of the best parts of many hotels that I have been to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank byrneje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friendly place just in front of the beach, very easygoin staff and simple rooms. You are bit far from Cabarete some miles but if you like kite surf, gym and enjoy the nature, thats the right place to stay and meet people like this!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calabrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The secret of the place lies within the staff and the variety of offered activities... Yoga with wonderful Molly at the Yoga Loft where you can here the waves crashing along the beach.. Or tailor-made fitness program at Rogue fitness including personal training or massages. When there's not enough wind for sailing/ kiting simply go surfing, stand up paddling or go on an excursion. The staff will organize it for you and finds a solution for every problem!
I don't know how they do it, but within a few hours you feel with the other guests and the staff like part of a sworn-in community.

The hotel is located ca. 2km outside of Cabarete at beautiful KiteBeach. To get to Cabarete simply grab a Moto, which is the first adventure;) or walk along the beach. The hotel has simple, clean rooms and runs on solar power. The eco-friendly approach is an absolute plus, e.g. the foods of the restaurant come from the hotel's own organic farm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank S9356SBPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
351 reviews
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Cabarete
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
260 reviews
1.6 mi away
SurfBreak Cabarete
SurfBreak Cabarete
#1 of 29 in Cabarete
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extreme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extreme Hotel

Address: Kite beach, km 10. 5, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range: $30 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Extreme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate action sports eco paradise in an amazing beachfront location. Kiteboarding and surfing right out front, a full service crossfit fitness center, yoga loft, Stand Up Paddle boards, Spanish Language School and a full Flying Trapeze and Circus Arts School - all in one fun place. We are have an organic farm that recycles, composts and grows part of the food we serve in our farm to table restaurant. Come on by and enjoy fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Extreme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extreme Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing