We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so much to do...so little time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Extreme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Extreme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so much to do...so little time...”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What an amazing week...really want to thank the staff and Robbie for sharing that little slice of heaven with me; it def was the most memorable trip yet! I’m already looking forward to the next trip…and maybe even trying out a “Warrior Week” that Robbie is dreaming up. Your spot is #1 on my list of must return places.:)

All my friends who stayed at a high end resort down the beach kept coming back to the eXtreme hotel for all the facilities. Frankly, I think they were jealous that I had all these amenities at my fingertips. I wish I had more time to attend a few of the classes and check out the organic farm but I guess I'll have to save this for my next trip. Only have to find a way to be able to tele-commute from the eXtreme hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank man l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiteloungerobbie, Manager at Extreme Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for your review!

Most guests come to eXTreme for one of the activities and focuses in on that one activity, and may try another. The kitesurfers go kiteboarding, and then may try a croffit class. The Yogis focus on yoga classes, and may try the flying trapeze or circus arts. Sometimes, and this is rare. people like you come by and DO IT ALL, and it's an amazing site to see.

Thanks for coming and having such a great time. It's pleases us to have guests like you who come to DO all the things we offer. We truly love this place, and when others love it too it's the greatest reward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    61
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
55
118
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Extreme last summer and can't wait to get back. It's a great place to go solo or with people, nice clean simple rooms, and a great vibe - easy to get into all sorts of activities and to hang out with other people if you are traveling solo. The staff was also awesome and went out of their way to ship my purse, which I had lost while traveling there, back to the US to me when it was found - so nice. Highly recommended and I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Such a great place to spend a holiday! The hotel is right on the Kite Beach - a great location for those being there for sport. Everybody was friendly and helpful: they helped us book lovely trips all over the place, spent time chatting with us, served us the best homemade food & drinks. One time, when the kitchen was closed due to preparations for Christmas, they shared with me the food that was cooked for their own family :) Well, top that! So, in case you get to read my comment, thank you guys! Especially to Genevieve, Monalisa & Giovanni! Hope to see you all soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LorenaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were booking on a budget, and were happily surprised when we got to our room. It was very spacious and nicely set up with two double beds which both had very comfortable name brand mattresses ( Serta - I looked :)). That, along with the large ceiling fans, screen windows, and screened patio doors, kept us very comfortable when we were in the room. There was also a room safe for valuables and lots of shelving and closet space to store and organize our stuff.

We started off our vacation fairly inactively just relaxing and appreciating the tropical setting, great weather, beautiful beach, central pool, and friendly people and good food at the bar / restaurant. Later, once we wanted to do more, Staff was very friendly and helpful in connecting us with opportunities for lots of activities. We didn't do it all but there is yoga, gym work outs, circus training stuff, kiting, and lots and lots of guided tours / adventures. And this is why you will not want to leave.

The more you do, the more you want to do, and the more opportunities you discover. The DR is an extended adventure waiting to happen. The Extreme Hotel and staff was the combination that opened our eyes to the possibilities while providing a friendly, safe, aesthetic, affordable home base for us while we visited the area. The waterfall tours and learning to Kite Surf were two of my highlights. I wish I was still there kiting...Also, I shopped pretty hard on learn to kite deals and I didn't find anything that came close to the standard stay and kite deal at Extreme.

One last thing, if you prefer really "high end" accommodations, and want them offered at better price than if you call a travel agent or the front desk, you probably should call Extreme to talk about your needs. When we were down there we met two couples who had done this. I think a lot of hotels down there are structured as condo owned rental pools. If you deal with the owner or extreme staff who know them, you can get a much better deal. I probably don't have this 100% correct but I know the people we met got a very good deal booking through Extreme.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Extreme for 12 days.
"G", the girl in charge, was very helpful and nice. She saw to that we got everything we needed right away.

I bought the full Kiteboarding package (65$ per hour) and I almost learned to kite good in less than 6 hours!

The restaurant has a small menu, but some of the things they offer is heavenly! (muffins, moringa-passionfruit smoothie, ice mocca, moringa-bread..)

We had really bad luck while we were in Cabarete, we caught both the Dengue Fever, an Amoeba infection, we got robbed, and credit card frauded from a local ATM.

They Yoga-loft was our favourite place, where we spent at least a couple of hours every day, both practicing yoga and brazilian jiujitsu.

The beach is wonderful! On windy days it is FULL of kites, so it can get a bit crowded, but still more than OK =)

Since nobody warned us, I will warn you:
*Dont go to far to the left on the beach with valuable stuff! We got robbed by a kid with a rusty steel-stick.
*Do NOT use the outdoor atm! Dominican republic is top 5 in the world on creditcard fraud. (we heard after we got scammed)
*Use Mosquito repellant or mosquito netting. Dengue fever is not nice.
* Do not eat uncooked food or drink tapwater. Throw it if it is uncooked, and buy expensive water.

With that said, here is a couple of other things we enjoyed while staying at extreme:

*200 m to the left, on the other side of the road, you can get CHEAP and goood coconutwater! Buy a big waterbottle and get it filled every day. Perfect hydration, and so goodylishious!

* favourite restaurants:
beach club cabarete - Fish tacos!
organic coffehouse - papaya power shake
outra cosa (next to janets, on the beach) - fanciest restaurant in cabarete, perfect food, perfect for a special special night ;)!
Presidente (not the big one, the small one with a surfboardsign and a small pool) - Fruit punch!!


We enjoyed our stay at the extreme hotel! Thank you Mona-Lisa, G, Morpheus, Matilda, Molly (yogateacher) and everyone else!

Room Tip: upper floor has refridgerators. they have hot water in all showers! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Extreme Hotel is an awesome place for active people, you can run on the beach in the morning, kite in the afternoon and do some crossfit before dinner ! Staff is awesome and will show you around and tell you all the good spots in town ! The kitesurf school is great, the owner Richard knows its stuff really well ! It's just the kind of place you feel like staying way longer than you planned. Looking foward to go back :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ErikaD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent some time in in Cabarete to go relax, booked a room at Extreme's.

Friendly staff, helpfull, good location.

Room needed a fresh coat of paint, sheets we're very basic, no Ac, but a strong ceiling fan, no tv. Really small shower towels.

Overall, not a bad experience, just average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneLoveLasTerrenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
126 reviews
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kite Beach Inn
Kite Beach Inn
#4 of 27 in Cabarete
80 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extreme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extreme Hotel

Property: Extreme Hotel
Address: Kite beach, km 10. 5, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Extreme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate action sports eco paradise in an amazing beachfront location. Kiteboarding and surfing right out front, a full service crossfit fitness center, yoga loft, Stand Up Paddle boards, Spanish Language School and a full Flying Trapeze and Circus Arts School - all in one fun place. We are have an organic farm that recycles, composts and grows part of the food we serve in our farm to table restaurant. Come on by and enjoy fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Extreme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extreme Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing