We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friiendly and good value”
Review of Extreme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Extreme Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Friiendly and good value”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The rooms are a good size, with a nice balcony overlooking the groomed gardens (and the circus trapeze). The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is serviceable, with hot water and a steady stream of water to rinse off the beach sand and salt. Having a fridge in the room is a definite benefit. Just steps from the beach with an on-site restaurant, this hotel is a gem--away from the noise and bustle of Cabarete proper. Expect to keep your own room clean--we stayed for four days and only saw the maid the day before we left. The towels were clean but thin. The onsite activities help to stave off any Caribbean lethagy, and the walk into town along the beach is wonderful. The friendliness of the people who stay at the hotel, makes up for any shortcomings, and Erica, the hotel manager, is delightful.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably quieter and in the middle--away from street noise and bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    61
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
55
120
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Extreme Hotel is awesome! I found this hotel on Groupon and recently spent a week there with my boyfriend. We can't stop bragging about this place! The people were friendly and eager to give suggestions on food/activities/nightlife, so we felt that we were able to spend our week there eating the best food and having the most fun that this area has to offer! Even so, one week was definitely not enough time here and we're trying to plan our next trip to Kite Beach/Cabarete .. and obviously staying at Extreme Hotel. Some highlights of our trip: 1. The Yoga loft right next to Extreme was amazing and super relaxing. 2. The owner, Robby, was very friendly and welcoming.. he even drove us to a gorgeous restaurant in Cabarete that he recommended for our 2 year anniversary. 3. We did a circus lesson that was very fun and definitely an unforgettable experience. 4. The food and people at the attached restaurant (Chichigua) .. AMAZING.

Extreme hotel is perfect for people who are seeking a bit of adventure and a little more than the usual beach vacation full of swimming in pools and laying by the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Great place to stay as it's a good option with beach access. It was the off season when we were there so it was pretty quiet. Definitely a nice, cheap hotel if you're not looking to spend a lot of time in your room and are around to enjoy the beach and the great outdoors! It's a quick motoconcho or beach walk away from the main part of Cabarete. They could use some new towels and a fresh coat of paint but overall was a great time and a great value in an amazing place! Going for an early morning swim with direct beach access or going to relax on the beach after a day of watersports was great. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Last winter my boyfriend and I were searching for a great place to vacation. We're both active people and we love to have adventures. Kite-surfing is something we were particularly looking, but we needed to stay within our student budget. When we found Extreme Hotel we knew we hit the jackpot. Not only did it offer a two week kite-surfing and accommodation package, but we also had access to an awesome gym that provided spin, yoga and cross-fit classes. In addition to that, we had the opportunity to take jujitsu and circus classes if we wanted. We loved this hotel also because it was comfortable. Its not a five star hotel so don't expect chocolates on the your pillow or towels folded into animals. Our room was the perfect little oasis to seclude ourselves to when the day was hot and we needed a nap. We often enjoyed having our midday snacks on our balcony.
The rooms are very basic but met our needs. We had clean bathroom, a mini fridge for our food, and safe to lock up our valuables. We enjoyed the hotel staff and always felt safe. At night after a day of kite surfing or walking around the Cabarete town, we'd go hang out at the beach side restaurant and have a few cold beers and play ping-pong with the locals.
We also liked Extreme because the owner was extremely hospitable. He took the time to show us around the town, give us some suggestions for restaurants and activities. He informed us on the different types of transportation, where we could do our banking and grocery shopping.
After hanging out with some of the guests at the hotel, we discovered that most people are frequent visitors of Extreme. I would recommend this place to anyone who is young at heart and loves to play. This is not a destination for those who wish to be pampered and have a buffet of food at their beck and call... this is for those who wish to catch the first wave, devour fresh fruit from the street markets and get to know the local culture.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank genGohier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Wonderful and exciting vacay! I really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and the awesome staff. Everyone who works and stays at the hotel is amazing and has a story to tell. Great people to party with as well! If I had to pick my favorite part, it would be the amazing food! I feasted the entire week. So don't miss out on the Chichigua restaurant/bar!! The owner (Rob) also really made our trip easy and worry-free, both before and during the trip. He was great at answering e-mails promptly and when we arrived, we gained so much knowledge about the DR and various activities just by talking to him. The Kaceitos circus was also fun and a huge success. You will never run out of things to do at eXtreme! This place is for very chill and laid back people who love to do things and have a blast. We went in with no expectations and had the most amazing time ever. Gracias extreme!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yangela3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I read many of the reviews before going on my trip and saw the few poor ones. I took their opinions into consideration but after experiencing the hotel and the atmosphere I realize why their reviews are so poor.
First of all if you are a resort goer and expect a similar resort experience at eXtreme, then yes you may be a little disappointed. This hotel IS CLEAN, and a good place to stay the night. But traveling is not about staying in your room, so as long as there is a bed and clean sheets with a shower, life is good.

What makes it unique:
What eXtreme is all about is the atmosphere. And that is something very hard to find. It is an intimate environment since the hotel is smaller, so you make friends quickly. Everyone is very chill and relaxed all the time, but attentive if you ever need anything. I needed to use the phone to make a local call and several staff members offered their personal cell phones. When you first arrive, it is a little intimidating because it seems like everyone knows each other. But after a while you find that you become friends with these people very quickly and soon you're the one on the inside looking out as new people come to the hotel and join the gang.

THERE IS SECURITY:
I noticed this was an issue in some other posts and I want to clarify this. The hotel has cameras all over the grounds and guards working simultaneously. Trust me, I met them at night after coming home from festivities. They wonder around, and are always aware of who is staying at the hotel and that is why they don't question you when you come in at night. They are incredibly informed of what is happening and who is staying at the hotel. The gate to the rooms is a sturdy rod iron one with a large lock on it that only guests have keys to. That door is going nowhere anytime soon. You should feel nothing but safe here.

Staff:

All the staff is incredibly friendly. Papo, one of the hotel managers who also runs the Jujitsu school is super nice and concerned for guests welfare. My friend had a small cold when we were there and he was always checking up on her, making sure she was feeling well and offering local remedies like coconut water etc. He is an all around helpful and nice guy. Then there is Rob, who is another manager. He is funny and is always trying to make sure guests have a great time. His biggest concern is that you are getting what you want out of your vacation. And if you're not, he will try and help you make your time there that much better. One day Rob brought in a large bag of exotic fruit to share with everyone, including guests and staff and everyone just chilled and talked while eating fruit. Like I said atmosphere is everything here!

The Circus:

There is a Circus school here that can teach you flying trapeze, silk scarf and a few other things. Paul runs the operation and is awesome. His helpers are all incredibly friendly, and helpful when you are terrified of trapezing. :) Even when it feels like they don't have you when you are grabbing the bar, they definitely got you (inside joke that your going to have to try the Trapeze to find out lol). The circus is one of the things that makes eXtreme very unique and a different experience. Definitely worth a try!

The Restaurant:

Pretty much a life saver. You start to feel like everyone is family when staying here and the family who owns the restaurant definitely takes care of you. The grilled fish is excellent! As well as the pancakes with mango and banana in them. Fruit salad is amazing, as well as the Pesto pasta! Well...everything is excellent but nothing compares to the Mango cake (when they have it). I have had some gourmet cakes before at all sorts of restaurants, but this mango cake was THE BEST cake I have ever tried. If they bake it one day make sure you get a slice! Seriously it will change the way you think about cake forever. On top of that, there is wifi at the restaurant so you can bring your laptop, chill have a drink etc. The prices are pretty average, but the food is amazing. Nothing compares to the service though, like I said they treat you like family.

Surfing,

There are two surf spots at Encuentro Beach that are excellent. "Chino's" and "Bobo's Surf's Up". I definitely recommend either of these places if you are learning to surf. Instructors are friendly, their teaching skills are awesome and all equipment is included for 1000 pesos. It's a pretty amazing time, so if you are looking to surf this is the place to do it! If you ask people around the hotel they will recommend the same places.

The facilities:
Yes the rooms are not the Royal York or the Hilton. No there is no complimentary hair dryer stuck on the wall, or iron or coffee maker. They do give you towels, and if you feel like you need more, for wash cloths etc, just ask. Like I said it's chill and they can't read your mind, so if you need something just ask someone. You'll be glad you did. There is a mini fridge for use and a safe with a key. There is no air conditioning, but you have a private patio and are right by the ocean so there is a lot of air flow. Ceiling fan comes in the rooms as well. It can get hot, but it's the Dominican, its always hot. My one and only recommendation is to bring an alarm clock. Or a watch with an alarm on it. The rooms don't come with clocks so if you want to meet people in the morning to surf, it's pretty difficult to get up on time. But other than that it's clean, so don't worry.

Transportation:

Gua-Guas are super cheap way to get around. They look like large mini vans and will usually have a guy hanging out the side door. When they come down the road you know its a Gua-Gua because they will flash their headlights at you. Ask people in the hotel how much getting to certain places should cost!! If you ask the Gua-Gua "how much is it" of course they will charge you more (why wouldn't they). So to get an accurate price, ask hotel people and just hand the money to the guy, say thanks and walk away. Nothing more. Moto's are the motorcycle's hanging around which you will see everywhere. They are a bit more expensive but more practical at night. Usually 50 pesos (per person, not per bike) will get you to Cabarete. If you try to take a taxi everywhere you will find yourself out of money pretty fast, so try to be less North American and hope on a Moto or a Gua-Gua :) When in Rome do as the Romans do.

Restaurants away from the hotel:
Blue Moon restaurant is amazing. It's a traditional indian dinner that you eat with your hands. Eneyda runs the show and you can book with her. Rob knows her and can help you set up a dinner. You need a minimum group of 8 though. But if you can scrounge up everyone you are set for an awesome night of food and drinks with friends!


Overall comments.

Absolutely amazing, I was seriously contemplating cancelling my flight home after one week. If you are a chill person, generally athletic, adventurous and are social, this is definitely the place for you! You will only be as disappointed as you make yourself! So if you're high maintenance, probably not the place for you. You simply can't beat the value here. Oh and nothing will go missing from your room by the way.

Room Tip: Room 18 has a wonderful view of the ocean and is closest to the internet router
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CydneyWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Extreme hotel is great. Pool is clean and cold. Bar restaurant is friendly with great specials and staff. Kite school and staff are very profesiomsl. Cant wait to return. AWESOME

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extreme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extreme Hotel

Property: Extreme Hotel
Address: Kite beach, km 10. 5, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Extreme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate action sports eco paradise in an amazing beachfront location. Kiteboarding and surfing right out front, a full service crossfit fitness center, yoga loft, Stand Up Paddle boards, Spanish Language School and a full Flying Trapeze and Circus Arts School - all in one fun place. We are have an organic farm that recycles, composts and grows part of the food we serve in our farm to table restaurant. Come on by and enjoy fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Extreme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extreme Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing