We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victor's at Velero

Victor's at Velero
Ranked #33 of 130 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had the best steak ever at Victor's at the Velero Beach Resort. A beautiful filet with a light peppercorn sauce cooked perfectly along with a baked potato and corn on the cob... Who knew? I was blown away!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerrenceNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
242 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Worth every penny and more”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had dinner at Victor's tonight--the new restaurant at Velero Beach Resort. This restaurant has the best food, service, prices and location for a view of all Cabarete Bay. You sit outdoors (under roof) with the ocean a few meters away at tables nicely set with white tablecloth and napkins.

The menu has a good selection of international dishes and some healthier choices than usually found at other Cabarete restaurants. Two side dishes are included with entrees with a good selection of vegetables, rice and potatoes.

I had Mahi Mahi with a fine herb sauce, a side of spinach with soy sauce and almonds and one of sauté potatoes. My husband had chicken cordon bleu (served on a tomato sauce) with Swiss potatoes and spinach. Both dishes were excellent with a good dish presentation.

The best part is the price. Menu prices include all taxes (i.e., 28%, which includes 10% legal service charge). Our two dinner entrees with one beer and one club soda totaled just RD$1,030 (without tip) or about USD$25.

I don't know of any other restaurant in Cabarete with these low prices that has similar great food and service, and with such a fantastic view. I highly recommended especially for dinner with a sunset view of Cabarete Bay.

PS: The $$$ rating is based on formal dining (not on this restaurant prices)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Expat-in-Cabarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What We Stumbled Into”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We were out walking looking for a place to have dinner and we found it! How could we have stumbled onto something so beautiful? We only had dinner and the food was excellent; the service was excellent and the view was breathtaking. Put this one on your bucket list. It was certainly a real treat. The Resort is very neat, clean and pretty. Woud love to stay there the next time I'm in town.

Helpful?
Thank mzb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient - in our hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Overpriced and eh, we ate breakfast there the first day before we realized that there is no fresh milk to be found in Cabarete - for parmalat they should not charge Starbucks' prices! The breakfast tortilla was ok. My kids kept going there and eating and charging their food to the room between meals - they liked the caribbean fish a lot - but when I tried it I found it very disappointing. Save your money for better places and go have breakfast at Friends (not on the list here for some reason).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TGV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, General Manager at Victor's at Velero, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Please be advised 3 of the reviews above are before the new chef, new menu and new pricing, came which officially began July 4. Any reviews after that ok. New wine list ready by late August.
More changes to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's at Velero also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Victor's at Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing