We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jump into the ocean between courses.”
Review of VacaBar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
VacaBar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Small bar/restaurant on the beach. Magnificent view and open air sitting. Big wooden deck with bean bags to chill on. Bouncy cows for kids to play with. Reggae music most of the time. :) We are very know for our breakfast, and Sunday brunches. WE ARE BACON LOVERS. We also do lunch and dinner. We do from red thai curries, to burgers, to wraps, sandwiches, and salads. But! We also do creative recipes that change from your average lunch place.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Jump into the ocean between courses.”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This breezy little place is open on three sided to the fresh breezes and ocean views; a little hard to see from the beach due to being underneath a large tree. It seemed so cheerful from the beach, so we wandered if for lunch. Wow! Loved the food, loved the service, loved the vibe. Husband ordered "Mero" pan seared fish which was melt in your mouth...tried to rob as much of his order as I could. I had satay wrap which was kinda heavy, but delicious. The food is beautifully plated, and oh so fresh. Love the vibe here. Not only was I barefoot, but so is the wait-staff (I love that). I ordered my lunch then took a dip in the ocean while waiting to be served. Not that there was a long wait. The blonde and barefoot owner came out and ably seated and served a large party while cheerfully greeting and checking on the other diners; she seems to be contagiously happy and capable. I believe it is open only for breakfast, lunch and happy hour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    26
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best tropical setting!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I am a local and love this place. What can you ask for more then great food, good drinks, ocean front view and fun people!!! Vaca bar has been a favorite of mine but my kids and husband love the breakfast and happy hour, so that means our family is happy all around the clock, we could live there!!!! Haaaa, an amazing place not to be missed while in CabRete! Thanks!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank oshea317144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favorite spot to eat?”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Could be! We ate breakfast at this oceanside, thatched roof restaurant, complete with great views and ocean breezes! The service was prompt and attentive, the food was delicious, and the prices were reasonable! When we left the waiter and chef asked if we enjoyed our meal, thanked us for eating at their establishment, and bid us a good day! The restaurant is conveniently located beside the Aqualina Kite Resort...can't wait for the next visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lugar Especial!!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Finally we try VacaBar after a lot of poeple recommended it to us....we went for a fast lunch and we end up spending more than 2 hours there with no desire to leave!!! The place is very relaxing and sparkling at the same time, everithing is very curated from the decoration to the colorefull bords, the toilet and of course the food!!! we had a vegetarian burger that was amazing tasty and very fresh and a spicy chiken speciality, we hand up fighting with my husband to finish it!!! WE went with our 3 years old daughter and Cami was so nice to find any kind of toy to keep her busy so we had the chance to enjoy our time!! Thank you so much!!! we will be back soon!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank and48_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great tasty food on the beach”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Revisited Vacabar recently. The menu has a wide variety of choices, including nibbles, burgers of many varieties, entrees and salads which are healthy and creative. Mahi-mahi is features frequently on the menu. The bar delivers well made drinks, both with and without alcohol, and some of the coldest beers on the beach, delivered with a cosy to keep it cold. Can't beat the scenery. Water, sky and kitesurfing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyrus341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VacaBar also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing