We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DELICIOUS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete

Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete
Ranked #16 of 127 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Hot weather mixed with warm ocean waters and topped off with and Ice cold tropical drinks. Come give us a try.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

i went there with my friends and it was very good and it was very good. I ordered some pizzas and it was fantastic. I was sitting out in the beach and under the shade and it was a great time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Owner at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We thank you for the wonderful comments. Our staff looks forward to your return as our staff values your business.. until the next time, your caribbean family. cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    110
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Perfect Place to Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just left Cabarete after a weekend with a group of 11+ celebrating a birthday and Lazy Dog was the cornerstone of our great weekend. We spent every day sitting on the beach...eating..talking to the great staff...and one of the owners Albert for hours...from brunch to dinner we spent the entire day here...Albert is one of the coolest bar/restaurant owners and the staff and food is amazing...next time I come to Cabarete this is the first place i will visit.
-The NY/ATL/OH Boys

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Obi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Owner at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
The Lazy Dog staff truly enjoyed your groups visit. With several choices on the beach, we thank you for your business and value your review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Our favorite spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the best place for a casual and friendly hang out. We checked out at least one new restaurant every day, but Found ourselves coming back to the lazy dog at least once a day. Albert, one of the owners, sat with us a couple of times to chitchat and made several good recommendations. Don't miss this spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quercusv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Owner at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Lazy Dog appreciates your business and values your feedback. We look forward to your possible return to the North Coast. Cheers from your caribbean family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best bar in Cabarete hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just left Cabarete after a 4 day weekend mini vacation. Lazy Dog quickly became our hang out. Finding good service in DR can be more than a challenge. At lazy dog all of our waitresses were great and friendly. Julio the manager took great care of us and Albert one of the owners was always around making sure all was running smoothly.

Drink specials were cool, Albert sent some shots over for my GF's bday twice! Food was also very good. Nice to see Cabarete with an American/Canadian vibe and food. We had wings, chicken fingers, shrimp jambalaya, pan fried pork chop, pasta with shrimp and a ribeye during our visits. We liked it all.

Had Espressos there each night and Anna our waitress from Brasil never forgot that i need a LOT of sugar with my coffee. Our last night we were a group of 8 celebrating the GFs bday and all had a blast.

The only thing that could make it better is being able to pay with credit cards, but not a big deal at all.

We will be back on our next trip to North Coast for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toasterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Owner at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello my friends.. Our entire staff appreciates your review and values your business. We know you
have a choice of where to visit and we thank you in advance. Regards from your cabarete beach family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience All Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Being from Winnipeg, MB, the NHL Jets flag is what made us stop to see this inviting bar before the others on the Cabarete strip. Food was very good as were drinks, but the prices were the best part. Two for one happy hour ensured that us students could enjoy as much as we want! Staff was awesome and enthusiastic about everything. They had live music a couple evenings and it was actually amazing. We even danced and sang along. Great place for families, friends or couples. Hell, even a business trip deserves a stop there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Owner at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Winnipegers!!! Great having you guys with us and sharing many happy hours together in our beach living room. We look forward to your return to the north coast in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing