We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food-good service-good drinks= Lazydog” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete

Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete
Ranked #16 of 127 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Hot weather mixed with warm ocean waters and topped off with and Ice cold tropical drinks. Come give us a try.
Florida
Level Contributor
359 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good food-good service-good drinks= Lazydog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spent the day on the beach in front of the Lazydog restaurant and from the moment we arrived we could tell we made the right decision. The beach chair and drink service was excellent. The restaurant manager even stopped by just to see if everything was going good. Later in the day we went into the restaurant for more drinks and dinner. The meal was outstanding and the drinks cold. Our waitress (Brittney) was very attentive and did an excellent job of taking care of us.
The prices are very reasonable (much better than some of the other places we visited).
I understand that new management took over in April and you can tell they are out to make a great impression on both the locals and tourists alike. We will be back again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Manager at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We appreciate and value your business. cheers from the north coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    110
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stopped in to check it out, ended up spending the day! We appreciated how welcoming Albert the manager was, and Wiligins took great care of us on the beach chairs. As the evening approached, the lighting in the palm trees added to the atmosphere. We fought over the crab and lobster cakes, but the fish tacos were all mine! Brittany, Julio, and Anna were awesome!

The new decor is comfortable and bright, can't wait to visit again in November!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Manager at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We appreciate and valué your business. Cheers from the north coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My lounge for 10 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Absolutely the best place place at Cabarete beach.
Absolutly phantastic staff, the kindest I met in Dom Rep, helpful, cordial, hospitable!
The coldest beer (served in a indigenous cooler)
Now with new beach suit (lounge suite)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Manager at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We appreciate and value your business and look forward to your return. Cheers from the North Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We where staying in Puerta Plata and hired a Taxi to take us down the coast to Sosua and the driver told us about the kite sailing at Cabarete so we decided to take a look, It was amazing but the best part of the day was the Lazy Dog, right on the beach. The food was awesome and the Presidente was Ice Cold. Brian and Albert came over and talked to us they are super guys and are next trip to the Dominican we are planning and staying in Cabarete. Look forward to visiting and Dining at the Lazy Dog. Bill Manitoba

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WJH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Manager at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We appreciate and valué yogur business. Cheers from the norte coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“29 COUNTRIES LATER....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

After 29 countries, it was a pleasure to find LAZY DOG BEACH BAR AND GRILL so close to home...the combination of good food and great service, topped with an amazing north coast ocean view is the ONLY reason I leave my home of MIAMI BEACH, FL, USA

GO THERE, ask for ALBERT (manager) and you will make a friend for life... a MUST visit... DOMINICAN REPUBLIC is great, but LAZY DOG BEACH BAR AND GRILL, CABARET, and ALBERT turns great to AWESOME-like a home away from home.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dido623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazy_Dog_Bar, Manager at Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We appreciate and value your business. cheers from the north coast..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Lazy Dog Beach Bar and Grill Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing