We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT SPOT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Velero Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT SPOT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

I just returned to New York City after spending a relaxing seven days at the Velero Beach Resort in Cabarete. The attitude, availability and service of the staff is MUCH improved under the leadership of Diane Trembley. She replaced the former manager that was rarely on the property and was fired last year. The grounds look great. The breathtaking views, an abundance of birds and the resident friendly dog Scooby add to the laid-back atmosphere. There was a pleasant blend of families and couples, I even spotted a romantic wedding taking place on the beach. The Velero Beach Resort is definitly one of my favorite get a ways. Once I was at the Velero a car was not necessary, i found it to be an easy quick walk to the grocery store, restaurants, etc
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pier1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    66
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
92
136
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed for a week here, the location is perfect with own chill our area overlooking and on the beach. Very peaceful and quiet but still in the action once you reach the main "town" street. Easy to reach all the best restaurants with short walk in several directions. The staff is great, always ready to help.
We had a junior suite which had a spacious living area and seperate bedroom and bathroom. The space and praticality of the room was great but I woiuld not exactly describe the room or the hotel to be luxurious. Everything functions OK but the finishings in the hotel is obviously a bit old and needs updated. For example, the bathroom is quite basic with a big plastic screen which you pull across the bath. The shower is not modern and just spurts out and generally it's just a bit old and grotty. The bedding is also not of great quality, with a beige blanket (which just feels a bit dirty). Anyway, I had a great time despite initial concerns mentioned but you just get used to it don't you and re-adjust your benchmark. One great thing was the free use of internet. I'm not sure if you can find a better place in Cabarete with higher standard everything, but I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipsyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letchworthgardencity
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks and had a wonderful time. The location is wonderful with beautiful views over the sea. The staff were extremely attentive and willing and determined to make our stay as good as possible.
Dianne, the manager was extremely helpful, especially when our plane was delayed.
There is plenty to do if you want to be active but we were happy to relax at the hotel, stroll along the beach to one of the many restaurants on the beach. Will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaandmichael_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Velero in one of the penthouses composed of units 531 and 532 for one week in March 2010. We loved the place! It is indeed a paradise!

I can’t speak for every unit, as it seems that each one might be furnished to the individual owner’s tastes. But high end wicker furniture with generous cushions invited us to shift into relaxation mode the moment we stepped into the penthouse. The gourmet kitchen spoke to our desire to prepare our own food after months on the road. The beds, comfy with just the right amount of support, were decked out with 100 percent cotton sheets, a perk that is not always a given in the Caribbean. The spacious balcony was the backdrop for many of our daytime activities, rain or shine. From there we had commanding views of the grounds, the pool, and the ocean. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. We read on the balcony. We napped on the balcony. We stared out at the ocean for hours on end from the balcony. We watched windsurfers, kite flyers and sunsets from the balcony.

Velero is a place where one can really kick back in a quiet, friendly well-maintained environment. The staff are competent, speak good English, and are always willing to help, yet they were never intrusive if one wanted to be left alone. They arranged our pick up from the airport which made for a hassle free transition from the airport to Cabarete at a competitive price.

If more activity is to one’s liking, there is plenty to do and see in Cabarete. The beach seems endless in both directions offering the longest beach walks that we have ever taken. (Pack a lunch.) The ocean is one of the most dramatic that we have seen, very calm in places and more lively in others….something for everyone. And if you want to go farther a field, you can catch a collectivo to a neighboring town to while away a few hours. But if you do, I bet you will be longing for that spot back on the balcony at Velero in no time!

We ate in every night. A fully stocked grocery store is less than a block from Velero. It is busy guaranteeing the freshness of the food that they sell. But there are a lot of restaurants on the beach where you can dig you toes deep into the sand as you sip on a local brew and watch the sun go down.

Velero’s location on the beach is ideal in my opinion because it is quiet both day and night. (There’s no loud head banging music here.) It is positioned on a broad point of beach that picks up breezes that gently move through the property eliminating any need to run the AC. The unit we were in had vaulted ceilings, ceiling fans and many windows throughout. It was bright, cheery, and blessed with a lot of fresh air. Other hotels on the beach do not seem to reap the benefit of these breezes because they are located in a cove like setting where the air seemed more still. If you are escaping winter, nothing says that you were successful at your attempt than opened windows and warm breezes!

We arrived at Velero frazzled and left restored mentally, physically, spiritually and emotionally. We didn’t realize how much we needed a relaxing getaway, not just a getaway, until we noticed how renewed we felt when it regrettably came time to leave. We cannot think of one negative...while just the leaving part. You won’t be disappointed if you choose Velero. We sure weren’t.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwinCitiesTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

I recently stayed 2 weeks at Velero Beach Resort with my girlfriend and I can highly recommend this hotel.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean, the staff was truly amazing and the location of the hotel is spectacular. The hotel sits right on the beach and is a 2 minute walk from a supermarket and a 10 minute walk from various beachside restaurants and bars. The hotel is also close to various windsurfing and kite schools.

The hotel restaurant with its good food, world class view of the ocean and friendly staff is one of many plusses for this hotel.

Only drawback is the expensive WiFi which costs a whopping 5 dollars a day (for a periodically unstable 1/2 mbit connection).

All in all, though, this hotel is highly recommendable and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. Also, it is worth mentioning that all the local people we met in Cabarete (be it at the hotel, at the beach or at a Iguana Mama excursion) were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jakob_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

If you are looking to get away from the madding crowd and the cattle call of the all-inclusive hotel, this the place for you. This condo complex that rents out its units when the owners aren't there is a perfect, quiet getaway in a great location. Each room has a view of the ocean. Some have kitchenettes, some don't. Manager Diane Tremblay does an outstanding job keeping the place in tip top shape. She surveys the place ceaselessly and makes sure everything is running smoothly and is immaculate. I would like to thank her for her wonderful hospitality, as well as that of all of the staff. The place has 24-hour security, which is reassuring, and the guards are friendly. The front desk staff are kind, particularly the night clerk, Wilson Sims who was especially helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and our kitchenette was well appointed (except no oven) with a gas cook top, toaster oven, coffee maker, microwave, pots, pans, bowls, etc., and enough dishes and cutlery for four. The bed was very comfortable. We had three people cleaning our room every day, including doing our dishes when we "cooked in." Even cooking on a holiday is a breeze when you have Janet's supermarket literally a two-minute walk away, with everything you need from beer and vino, to soup, to nuts (even Stacey's Pita Chips and Tostitos), and then the hotel staff does your dishes for you to boot. The infinity pool is pretty, clean and cool (they plan to repaint the bottom soon, so don't let that dissuade you). The grounds are well maintained. Just watch out for the mosquitoes in the shade and at dusk. It was fun meeting some of the condo owners and getting the skinny on the life in the neighborhood, and a taste of the retired life in paradise (something to aspire to). It gave it a more "homey" feeling than a hotel feeling. Cabarete is not too overdeveloped yet, and it is the mecca for kite sailing and windsurfing. The constant breeze makes the hot sun and humidity easy to take. If you want a multitude of restaurants and a very lively night life, it's only a short walk up the beach. We didn't eat at the hotel much, except breakfasts which were good, but not outstanding. Apparently, they are working on improving the restaurant, which is good because the site and view is the best on the beach. We ate out every evening, and we particularly enjoyed the Casanova restaurant, that has everything on the menu 1/2 price from 4 to 6 PM, even the lobster which was tender and succulent. Try to get Stephanie as your waitress because she is a sweetie. We didn't do a lot of sight seeing, just took a moto-concho or the local bus (a crowded van actually, but at 25 pesos per person, who cares) to Sosua a couple of times to snorkel and hang out at the beach for the day. Shopping in Cabarete is good, if you care to do so. There is one store called Kana Rapai Bazar that makes funky handbags and other cute things from recycled materials and they package things in quaint brown paper bags; a twist on the typical tourist fare, with an authentic local touch. It's just too bad that the locals don't use more pollution-friendly bikes and cars, because the air is blue with exhaust on the street. The other thing some people might not appreciate is the dogs that wander into the restaurants, but I didn't really mind because I love dogs. Also, it would be good if the vendors didn't bug you to buy things all the time, but especially when you're eating. That got tiresome pretty quick. You just have to be really firm with your no, gracias, and they'll move on. The weather kept threatening, but the wind blew the clouds away. You can play Cleopatra or King Tut on the canopy beds at the Velero and watch the sunset while sipping the Spanish champagne you picked up at Janet's market. The beach right in front of the hotel is not great at all, but you can walk up the beach a few hundred yards and rent a chair with full service for 100 pesos per chair per day. The beach is plenty long in both directions for good walking and/or jogging. For Canadians, there's a Scotia Bank in Cabarate, so you can get your pesos there instead of getting American money first and converting it. You just need to take your passport to the bank. The hotel front desk exchanged US money for us into pesos for a very good rate, so we appreciated that. The gym is small, but functional. The hotel arranged for a taxi for us to and from the airport ($35 US per person each way) with a clean, recent model minivan with a driver called Junior. Super nice. All and all, it's hard to beat the Velero Beach Resort Hotel in Cabarete. Thanks to Diane and her staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We made the terrible mistake of staying at the awful Paraiso Cabarete and had to escape to the Velero which is so much better - like chalk and cheese. We stayed in a junior suite and also a deluxe room and these were very nice with fanatastic views. Resort and Island not great but this is not the fault of the Velero!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielinclifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velero Beach Resort

Property: Velero Beach Resort
Address: Calle la Punta #1 | Carretera Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velero Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velero Beach Resort was the first luxury Cabarete hotel to be built and the visionary architect chose the best location on the entire beach to build. Our grounds are sheltered from the wind for the non-windsurfers, but 5 meters into the water the windsurfer or kiter will have access to the trade winds. Velero Beach Resort is the only one of the Cabarete hotels to have a small reef right out front that forms shallow tidal pools at low tide. These are perfect for the toddlers to play in protected from the waves. Our restaurant is also the only one in Cabarete that is directly on the water for perfect sunsets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Velero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velero Beach Hotel Cabarete
Velero Beach Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing