We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about the best you can get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velero Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just about the best you can get”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was here with a large group (14 adults) and we absolutely LOVED the Velero. It's a great place that is really well located. It's about a 2 minute walk from the local supermarket, so we had all of the necessities at hand. It's also right on the beach, so you can walk up along the beach to plenty of bars and restaurants.

While the location and rooms of the Velero were great, the thing that made it stand out was the staff. They were incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us with currency exchange (great rate, no fee, better than an ATM or the bank) and really were helpful in helping us coordinate such a large group. The onsite restaurant is pretty good, but we didn't eat there much. The prices were definitely reasonable though.

All in all, this was really a great place with exceptional staff. I'd highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: It's not a huge property, so all of the rooms are pretty well located. The suites are really ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyJ826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, General Manager at Velero Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi there and thank you for a very honest point of view. We take all such comments to heart and when possible, plausible and reasonable, we focus quickly on solutions. A couple of your comments have already been addressed and others are on the short list.
We use TA comments all the time for quality control and so appreciate all of them.
Do come back, we appreciate your business. Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    69
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
94
140
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were in Junior apartment. It is nice, clean, quite, near to beach and surf clubs, fair prices, safe. Terrace view to the ocean. Small but clean and nice pool. Breakfast menu could be better, not many choices, but there are many restaurants near by. We enjoy a lot.

Room Tip: Junior apartment have a lot of space, everything we expected, nice terrace, good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadranka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, General Manager at Velero Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Excellent to have Cabarete people come over and enjoy the experience, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Velero Beach Resort is in an ideal location on the eastern edge of the Cabarete beach. The resort is on the water with wonderful views of the ocean and the beach to the west with all of the kite boarding and windsurfing activity. A large selection of beach restaurants are short walk away. Velero Beach Resort is not, however, a luxury resort and guests should adjust their expectations accordingly. The negatives included very spotty wireless internet service (the manager stated that it was to be fixed on the day we departed), chronically unavailable beach towels, poor dinner service at the restaurant at the resort (this was our only dinner there and overall, the restaurant service was okay and the food was good/very good), hit or miss cable channels, a claustrophobic fitness center and a very subpar front desk with marginal English skills. Our junior suite was large and had a balcony with an ocean view, but it was dated and overall just okay. It did have a kitchen which was great given the extremely close proximity of a large grocery store. Surprisingly, the room is nicer than it appeared on the Internet photos. the staff was friendly and we met the manager, Ted, on our last day and he was very accommodating and assisted with the Internet issue. Despite the negatives mentioned above, this is a very nice resort for the value (we paid approximately $200 per night including tax) and we intend to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, General Manager at Velero Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, they are always helpful for us in paying attention to what our clients pay attention to. The internet problem has been fixed after pulling new wires and upgrading our system in general. I'm disappointed you received service as described in our restaurant and hope on your next visit you will see improvement. Some changes coming Feb. 15 to address just that. Chef Victor is proud of his food.
Again, thanks for all the honest comments. Cabarete sure can be fun and hope we can be your hosts next time. Please let me know anytime we're not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had such a nice time at Velero. The staff was so friendly and nice and the food at the restaurant, although simple, was delicious - one of the best meals we had. We got stuck in the DR due to travel issues and the hotel was so accommodating for our extended stay. I loved all the activities available in Cabarite - one of my favorites was the waterfall jumping - it was definitely extreme but very exciting - not for faint of heart. Velero was definitely the nicest hotel in the area with a beautiful pool and lovely staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivetoSkiNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, General Manager at Velero Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
The weather delay was unfortunate but a few more days in paradise before home to NY can't be all bad, eh. Hope you arrived safely home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

was there for two weeks around new years after some inclement weather compelled me to shred the waves for another 7 days (it was radical bra). Staff was overly accommodating and allowed me to stay for another week at a reduced rate because my trip had been extended because of the extreme and unforeseeable difficulty in getting a flight home. great hotel and arguably nicer than anything else I saw in Cabarete. If you are the type of person who only stays at the Hotel Bristol in Paris or Mandarin Oriental in New York then you might be roughing it but in a good way where you will recapture some of the dignity you might have lost by dropping a g a night. You will also like that it is located in such close proximity to the beach, windsurfing, kiting, as well as the best restaurant in town Otra Cosa. Aprovecha!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melvin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, General Manager at Velero Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Melvin, thank you! We're happy you enjoyed your stay in Cabarete and hope to see you again soon.
In a way all that nasty weather made for here a great place to be, knowing the mess up north and you stayed and shredded a few more waves. The waves are excellent in the Winter and temps in 70's and 80's doesn't hurt either.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Valero is a short walk into town yet blissfully separate from the craziness of downtown Cabarete. It is an upscale property with a more settled clientele. No worries about prostitutes and loud beer bashes here. The restaurant sits overlooking the beach and has wonderful nightly and lunch specials. The dinner specials run around $15 US and include a glass of fairly good wine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thweety49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, General Manager at Velero Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi there Thweety, happy you liked the peace and quiet. Those double pane windows really do work, I must say. Our focus is on casual, family, friends and always fun. Looking forward to having you at the Velero again. We have some great new specials for longer term stays now, check out the new website, it's all there, and more enticing than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A family friend recommended the Velero Beach Resort for our family's stay in Cabarete. We could not have been happier! The setting is idyllic...clean, quiet, beautiful grounds, perfect setting by the ocean. We had a first floor suite just steps from the pool and beach. It felt secluded yet restaurants, night life and sports activities were just a 10 -15 minute walk down the beach. The best part about the Velero was its staff...totally professional and committed to ensure you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. A special shout out to Danny and Omar at the front desk for their attentiveness. We would definitely return to the Velero on our next trip to the area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 920susanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingofbanff, General Manager at Velero Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Great to have you and the family Susan and I'll be sure to tell Danny and Omar they received your thanks. So glad you enjoyed your stay and was fun speaking with you guys. We'll keep the Presidente chilled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 21 in Cabarete
1,559 reviews
15.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velero Beach Resort

Property: Velero Beach Resort
Address: Calle la Punta #1 | Carretera Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velero Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velero Beach Resort was the first luxury Cabarete hotel to be built and the visionary architect chose the best location on the entire beach to build. Our grounds are sheltered from the wind for the non-windsurfers, but 5 meters into the water the windsurfer or kiter will have access to the trade winds. Velero Beach Resort is the only one of the Cabarete hotels to have a small reef right out front that forms shallow tidal pools at low tide. These are perfect for the toddlers to play in protected from the waves. Our restaurant is also the only one in Cabarete that is directly on the water for perfect sunsets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Velero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velero Beach Hotel Cabarete
Velero Beach Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing