We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Velero Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velero Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Good friends who own property on Dominican Republic highly recommend Velero Beach and we were not disappointed. Great location at end of Cabarete Beach provides access to beach amenities with ability to return to serenity of the hotel property. Pool is located right at beach side and view of ocean is outstanding. Staff was also outstanding and was very responsive to our needs, including a special anniversary dinner served on the beach!!!!!
Great places to eat nearby (italian, french, etc.) and within walking distance.
If you love the beach and surf, you will love Cabarete and Velero Beach.
During our stay, the world championship of kite boarding was taking place at Carabete Beach and the sky was filled with kites and colors.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank alindtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 371 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2008

My wife and I have stayed here many times and find it the best spot in Caberete.The attention to detail is tops. The service is the best . The pool and deck area have spectacular views and are just set back enough to be serene. Secure parking and an easy walk to the nightlife of the beach. We just keep coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank acksmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

An absolutely wonderful, full service hotel on the shores of the Carribean. Overlooking beautiful beaches, kite/board surfing, niteclubs just down the beach, the little town a short stroll up the road, was perfect for me. I was even adopted by the Valero mascot, Scoobie the dog, a mutt that rules the beach and befriends anyone that's willing to pet him and throw him a stick to retrieve. The Valero is truly a gem of the Ocean... I couldn't find anything to dislike... I'll be back, for sure. Next time with dog bisquits.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank romtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We honeymooned at Velero for 2 weeks in June-July, and we had a fantastic time! The staff were all very friendly and service minded. The garden was extremely well kept, the pool was small, but nice. We used the hotel restaurant at the beach for breakfast and lunch almost every day. The restaurant is beautifully placed with a fantastic view of the Cabarete Bay. We never tried it for dinner, however, as there are plenty of other restaurants fairly close by. One nice Italian restaurant is placed only 5 metres from the reception, a beautiful french restaurant with Cabaretes best food (?) and a view over the ocean is only 3 min walk away :-). The restaurants located on the beach itself only five minutes walk on the beach from the hotel are mostly nice, but not really gourmet...

Almost every day we spent hours on the hotels beautiful and comfortable 4 pole beds. There are 5 of these overlooking the beach, and they provide the perfect degree of shade to be able to enjoy the beach/pool life. And: There is no extra charge to use the beds. Most days we ordered drinks and lunch to the beds, unless we chose to "take a break" from the sun and ate in the restaurants own facilities. Anyway, the service was always great, the drinks were good and the feeling of absolute heaven was always close by.

We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment. The apartment was nice and well equipped, and cleaned every day. They had presonality, but were not really modern. Then again; minimalism wouldn't really "fit in" :-)

While keeping our apartment in Cabarete we also rented a car and drove to Samana Pinencula, more specifically Las Terrenas. There we stayed at Colibri, which was nice (bigger/better pool area, but less nice apartments) and affordable. We visited Playa Bonita and Playa Coson which are both fantastic beaches just west from the Las Terrenas main beach area. We also drove to a more remote beach called Playa Rincon which is located in the large bay further east on the pinencula. Rough roads, but no problem with a good 4w drive car. Again, fantastic deserted beach!!! The greatest expreience was, however, the waterfall at El Limon. One hour easy horse-back ride each way from El Limon (most everyone can do it, neither of us had been on a horse before) and just stunning!! All in all, everyone travelling to Cabarete or any other destination on the north coast of DR should take a few days "on the road" on Samana!

We had a fantastic honeymoon and can recommend both the hotel at Velero, Cabarete itself, The Samana pinencula and the DR for anyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Norwegiantraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We found Velero Beach listed in Caribbean Travel & Life under "Affordable Vacations". But, we didn't expect too much. The price was reasonable for our budget, so we booked and went July 14-21st, 2008.

Velero far surpassed our expectations in quality, value, and service. We actually got sick on our second day (vomiting, diarrhea, dehydration). The staff promptly called a doctor who came to our room and gave us medical attention. We were back to enjoying ourselves by the next day. But, the staff continued to monitor our progress, checking in to ensure that we were OK.

It's a great quiet spot where families and expats come to enjoy the Caribbean sun. Everyone was friendly and the staff was very supportive and attentive. For every need, they were right there - from scheduling horse-back riding to explaining the local currency.

****Check out pics here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/aprilcunningham/sets/72157606317452529/

Also, the food was good. We had lobster that was phenomenal!!!

In summary, there is a great team at Velero Beach. It's centrally located near everything a traveler needs with staff that aims to please. If you find yourself wanting a Caribbean vacation in the DR, I highly recommend Velero Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fxybrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Just got back from a week at the Velero Beach. Mum, Dad and three teenage boys. It is nicely off the Cabarete 'strip' and at the Eastern end of the bay. We had a deluxe suite with two good bedrooms and enormous living room/kitchen/balcony. Rooms clean, service prompt and friendly. Air conditioning noisy (but it worked).

Pool is small but nice, garden is very clean and tidy with some shade under palm trees (and sheltered when the wind fills in).

Easy reach of the supermarket if you want to cook for your self. All the local restaurants are an easy walk along the beach or use the on-site bar restaurant (breakfast and lunch but closes fairly early most nights).

Kite board launching off the beach directly in front of the hotel if you are competent (i.e. can stay off the reef) otherwise walk a short half a mile east.

We booked direct with the hotel a couple of months in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank x9abm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We just got back from a week in Cabarete and stayed at Velero Beach Resort. We are Americans in our mid 40's and have two young boys ages 8 and 12.

The resort is peaceful, very well kept, and situated ideally for enjoying Cabarete. A lot of the lodging alternatives in Cabarete are a little less refined than most Americans are accustomed to. For example, you may have to pay to sit in a lounge chair on the beach in front of many places.

The best part is that Velero is small, very nice, and private. On the beach, streets, and many restaurants you can expect to be visited by a vendor every 5 minutes on average. It gets tiring after a while, and at Velero the pool is right on the beach and a security guard stands at the access point preventing vendors from coming up. So if you just want some quiet time with your family, want to read, or just don't want to be disturbed for a while the resort provides excellent sanctuary. The pool is uncrowded and a very pleasant place to spend time.

Breakfast, lunch, drinks, and maybe an occasional dinner are nice at the little cafe on the beach (awesome setting). There are lot's of restaurants on the beach a short stroll down. Most are okay but not terrific (we liked Pomodoro best).

For a great meal very close by visit Otra Casa right next door on the beach. Everything is A+ there. Owner is french and the food is about 3x better than anything else we experienced in the area.

We arranged some tours in town and they were all worthwhile. Usually a long day and very nice to return to Velero at the conclusion.

Overall Velero is a very civilized place that we would highly recommend to others. Staff was pleasant, discreet and kind to us.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGDonaohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
1,579 reviews
15.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velero Beach Resort

Address: Calle la Punta #1 | Carretera Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $84 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Velero Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velero Beach Resort was the first luxury Cabarete hotel to be built and the visionary architect chose the best location on the entire beach to build. Our grounds are sheltered from the wind for the non-windsurfers, but 5 meters into the water the windsurfer or kiter will have access to the trade winds. Velero Beach Resort is the only one of the Cabarete hotels to have a small reef right out front that forms shallow tidal pools at low tide. These are perfect for the toddlers to play in protected from the waves. Our restaurant is also the only one in Cabarete that is directly on the water for perfect sunsets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Velero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velero Beach Hotel Cabarete
Velero Beach Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing