We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Velero Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Rifle, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My family and I (18month old and 5 year old) just spent 2 weeks at Velero and could not have had a better vacation. The room was clean, ground level (easy access to pool, ect), wonderful view and frequent visits from "Scooby" made my kids smile! Diane and ALL the staff, from security to maids to front desk, were friendly and accommodating! Velero is easy access to Janets and Cabarete beach. The pool is a bit deep so if you do have small children keep them at the steps but when the tide is low you can walk to the tide pools to the east of the hotel and those are perfect for small children. Overall, awesome place and couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with small children, try lower level... you still get views but you have easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergener13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    69
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
94
140
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at Velero for a month. Very nice affordable vacation that my husband and I enjoyed very much. The place is nothing fancy, but very well built, clean and everything you need available. Many great restaurants and grocery store within walking distance. Every room has an ocean view.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabrielle0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

As soon as you walk onto the grounds of this property, you exhale with relaxation and can't help but say "this is the life!". A beautiful oceanfront setting with a pool area and sandy beach just steps away. All of the rooms have ocean views and it was truly one of the highlights of our trip to just sit on the balcony and listen to the ocean. The rooms are well-appointed and the service was always friendly and responsive. The location is perfect: steps from the beach, or, out the front door you have a grocery store a block away and the quaint little town of Cabarete is all right there. Great beachfront bars and restaurants, shops etc. are all there, and you can easily walk the beach all the way around the bay and past the point for a little excercise and to watch the kite-surfers in action. All in all, a perfect stay and we will be back again soon!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view, some are perpendicular to the ocean and others are parallel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CroozerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I am an affectionado of Cabarete and the Dominican Republic, and as such i like to try out different options all the time. Velero is a a well positioned resort, with a nice garden area, but that's about all i liked. Personally i found that the price/quality correlation was marginal. I found that the rooms were outdated and in need of refurbishment, which isn't really a problem for me… but as i mentioned previously, too pricey for what it is.

i also had a problem with the internet usage, while it would be nice to access my research looking at the sea, the internet was intermittent. So i could only hope that i could connect on my way to the sea front. Unfortunately, wifi in the rooms is unavailable. You can only connect via Ethernet, and alas the chair provided was uncomfortable for my back.

The last thing i did not like was the absence of beach at the front of the hotel. Cabarete has a very vast beach, but Velero (although well situated as far as the street location is concerned) i found had a great flaw when it came to the beach. Having been "man made", with the passing time the underneath boulders and concretes have come to surface slightly, so while walking into the water one needs to be attentive in not cutting the soles of the feet. it's quite uncomfortable. So we had to walk about 10 minutes to reach the good part of the beach.

I tried the restaurant a couple of times… although the staff was very kind, it wasn't enough for me to continue trying the cousine. I found the morning breakfast stale, and absent of passion. The fruit seem to be cut the day before, and portions were small. Again, over priced for what you get. wonderful for a pot of tea too unwind.

Although i can't fault the cleanliness… As a whole, the experience i had will steer me clear from further returning to this location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

First time at Velero Beach. We stayed in a 3 Bedroom appartment. Very spacious and comfortable. Diane and her staff are excellent ! Looking after our every need.
Walking distance from the restaurants on the beach and next door to Otra Cosa restaurant with delicious French Cuisine.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our third vacation at the Velero and we simply loved being there. Everything was perfect and secured for vacation. The staff helped to make our vacation a great souvenir. The manager Diane was of a lot of help. We did appreciate she could speak currently in French, English or Spanish. Our little daughter loved the Velero and use to call it, her second home. For sure we will be back and this hotel should be recommended for those looking for a vacation in Cabarete, close enough to downtown and casino by walk (5 minutes) but quiet if you prefer a diner for lovers at its restaurant by the sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

i have been coming to velero for 3 years about every 4 months.
diane, omar the hotel staff and the owners as well as the sweet mascot scobby
are all very kind and helpful and make my stay wonderful.
everything is keep to perfection and the suite i just stayed in was freshly painted
with new lights, the blender and the ac are great.
the pool is relaxing and i swim about a half mile a day in warm ocean waters.
velero is a paradise and im happy and blessed to have found it.
eric from southold ny

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 21 in Cabarete
1,559 reviews
15.6 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velero Beach Resort

Property: Velero Beach Resort
Address: Calle la Punta #1 | Carretera Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velero Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velero Beach Resort was the first luxury Cabarete hotel to be built and the visionary architect chose the best location on the entire beach to build. Our grounds are sheltered from the wind for the non-windsurfers, but 5 meters into the water the windsurfer or kiter will have access to the trade winds. Velero Beach Resort is the only one of the Cabarete hotels to have a small reef right out front that forms shallow tidal pools at low tide. These are perfect for the toddlers to play in protected from the waves. Our restaurant is also the only one in Cabarete that is directly on the water for perfect sunsets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Velero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velero Beach Hotel Cabarete
Velero Beach Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing