We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Best beach ever ! This resort is good for the price. The food was ok, the Italian Restaurant is the best. Room was nice,everything immaculate, people were nice. Not many Americans. The beach was BEAUTIFUL ! Water awesome, kite surfers in the afternoon, body surfing and boogie boarding all day. Vendors on the beach are a nuisance but they're trying to make a buck. If you are a beach person who loves waves, this is the spot!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Sir,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our Resort.

Thank you for recommending Viva Wyndham Tangerine. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We were robbed the first night we were there. They have a pin in the door for a lock. The person who stole 780 USD, shook the door and the pin fell out and then broke into our room safe stealing mine and my grandmothers money. They didn't believe us, we had to fight to have the police called. When they finally arrived the resort staff and the police went through our belongings including my parents belongings in the room next to us. They even looked behind the pictures hanging on the wall. We were treated horribly, we have video of my step dad shaking the patio door and it took 30 seconds for it to come unlocked. They wouldn't even refund the money for the safe! The resort is beautiful, the beach was okay, but they way my grandmother and I were treated was horrific. We will NEVER return to this hotel! We have been to the Dominican quite a few times and know of a lot of people that go there. They will not step foot on your resort. Even showing them the video and the key hole on the safe they didn't believe us. When asked who had the master key they told us at first that there wasn't one. Only to find out later that they do have one and there is no way they would use the key to break into our safe. If you go to this resort make sure you're not on the ground floor and make sure you're able to walk up flights of stairs because the elevators are not in working condition. We felt so violated and disappointed! Please keep your money on you at all times because the safes aren't safe at all!

Stayed: January 2014
28  Thank Canadian2162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel location was good, near the beach and close the local people. Ocean circulation were hard already close to the beach. Hotel room was good. Hot water came when it was needed, shower and toilet worked well. None of the fauna is found in the room. Only the air conditioner produced a headache. It was really loud and either too cold or not working at all.The hotel itself was not a noise nuisance, but at the gas station next to the locals celebrate by playing music all night. Food and drinks were good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Sir,

We are pleased you could enjoy your time in our resort and hope to see you here again soon.

We are sorry for the inconvenience with the noise caused by the locals celebration in the gas station, please be aware that we have met with the local authority for then to help us to eradicate this inconvenient

Thank you so much for you comments, we feel grateful that you spend a satisfactory holidays with us at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A bit late with the review and note sure what it is like now. However when we went here a few years back this hotel was great, clean and tidy. Food good quality and staff very friendly. Situated on one of the most idilic beaches we have seen.

Room Tip: watch out for the peddlars on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Madam,

We appreciate your feedback it doesn’t matter if it took you a while to post it… We are happy to know you had a lovely holiday in our property, Cabarete Beach is still beautiful and we work harder every day to keep a height standard for our customers to have a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you for your remarks and we hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The territory, locaton and beach were nice. Food was also good. We spent there 3 nights.
Our room though was rather worn out and disapointing. There was no hot water at first, the shower was leaking horribly so there was a small lake even outside bathroom every time you took the shower. Also the phone was not working. They fixed the hot water on the second evening but could not fix the phone :-) The king size bed was great and around our room was rather quiet.

Service was not so good - we asked and got confirmed to have a baby crib in our room - but when we arrived from a very long trip very late in the evening with very tired baby there was none. Although at the reception they said it's there. Phone was not working to complain and it took ages to get the crib. Also to get the hot water fixed took a lot of effort and running from us.

So it is nicer and smaller than average allinclusive resort and after a small renovation and new staff hiring it could be very ok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terri78est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in our viva Wyndham Tangerine.

We are truly sorry that you experienced some technical inconvenience with the room and that our service was not what you expected. Please be aware that your observations are very important to us, and they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

Once again we thank you again for your comments and for have been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine; we hope you can give us a second chance to show you an improvement in a future visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had a great time at this resort this past week! I visited Punta Cana last year, and I have to say I enjoyed Cabarete more. It's about a five minute walk down the beach to some bars, and I would suggest to go check out the local nightlife at least of the nights. So much fun and cheap drinks! The hotel grounds are kept beautifully and the staff is great. They make the drinks strong which is great compared to other all inclusives I have stayed at. Food is good, my favorite was the Italian restaurant which you need to make a reservation for. It was never a problem except for the fact that we wanted to go back our last night and it was closed. Our room was in the perfect location inside of the main building where the buffet is. Pool and ocean view was amazing.

I only have two complaints. 1.) we never had hot water in our shower. We didn't complain, but a warm shower would have been nice. 2.) the "doctor" at the pharmacy had no clue what we were asking for and did not seem like a real doctor. Pretty frustrating.

All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend this resort!

Room Tip: If you don't mind noise, ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our family of 5 enjoyed a 6 day/5 night trip to this all inclusive resort. I paid close attention to detail because I knew I was going to write a review of this property. My whole family was so impressed by the amount of foreigners that were vacationing here. Many people came from Germany, Sweden and Canada. There were only 4 other people from USA besides my family of 5. There was a terrific blend of age groups as well.
Though the landscape and buildings are beautiful at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine, there is no color to the hallways and doors on the levels where the rooms are located. All were a dull dreary white. The rooms were pretty basic with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a small tv, a bathroom(tiny shower stall), a small fridge(equipped with 2 bottles of dasani water per day) and a large closet with a safe ($2/day). There is a hairdryer in each room as well as a bidet.
As far as food goes, the buffet had a large assortment of foods for all 3 meals, so I didn't have to worry about my 19, 21 and 25 year old finding something they liked to eat. The buffet had a different "theme" for dinner each night. The 2 restaurants (Mexican and Italian) included were just okay. If you want better food you'll have to pay for it and walk down the beach to the restaurants and bars in what they call cabarete central. There are several places to eat on the beach and there is a tiny run down sketchy village on the street side. There are no souvenir shops anywhere, the small shop on site has some small things. We ended up buying some at the D.R. airport before heading home. The pool was fantastic and well equipped with enough good quality lounge chairs. Steps from the pool is the glorious beach. A constant beautiful breeze blows, so you are never really "hot" from the sun. Beware of the sun though-you won't feel like you are burning because of the breeze, but you will burn, trust me! The only downside to the beach was that the licensed solicitors would NOT leave you alone! They were such an intrusion. What I wanted to be a calm relaxing time at the beach, turned out to be frustrating. One sells jewelry, others hats, cigars and hair braiding. They patrol all day long and re-approach you even after you say NO! One even spoke loud enough so that I would wake up!
I have never been on a vacation with such a great staff. Everyone was always kind and friendly. The bar staff is super as well, though the alcohol they served wasn't very good. They serve lots of sugary drinks. Stick to the beer, it's good and cold, or a vodka tonic. Cappuccino is available all day and night.
I was very impressed with the energy level of the animation crew. Their job is to engage the entire crowd, and they do just that. There is entertainment every night and you can even learn how to salsa. My girls enjoyed scuba diving and the zip lining, cliff diving and horseback riding trio adventure all for an affordable price.
I would definitely recommend this beautiful and perfectly located Wyndham property. They just need to perk up the walls and doors where the rooms are with some color!

Room Tip: The property is beautiful and absolutely immaculate. Our room was in the main building that was clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank theresa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Family,

We loved reading your nice comments. Thank you… we hope to see you in our property in the near future, we will keep working to make sure you have another lovely experience like that you will never get tired to visit us. See you soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.3 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
15.0 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#4 of 40 in Puerto Plata
1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
374 reviews
15.9 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $82 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing