We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“first trip”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A bit late with the review and note sure what it is like now. However when we went here a few years back this hotel was great, clean and tidy. Food good quality and staff very friendly. Situated on one of the most idilic beaches we have seen.

Room Tip: watch out for the peddlars on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Madam,

We appreciate your feedback it doesn’t matter if it took you a while to post it… We are happy to know you had a lovely holiday in our property, Cabarete Beach is still beautiful and we work harder every day to keep a height standard for our customers to have a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you for your remarks and we hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    587
    309
    130
    122
See reviews for
396
513
69
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
estonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The territory, locaton and beach were nice. Food was also good. We spent there 3 nights.
Our room though was rather worn out and disapointing. There was no hot water at first, the shower was leaking horribly so there was a small lake even outside bathroom every time you took the shower. Also the phone was not working. They fixed the hot water on the second evening but could not fix the phone :-) The king size bed was great and around our room was rather quiet.

Service was not so good - we asked and got confirmed to have a baby crib in our room - but when we arrived from a very long trip very late in the evening with very tired baby there was none. Although at the reception they said it's there. Phone was not working to complain and it took ages to get the crib. Also to get the hot water fixed took a lot of effort and running from us.

So it is nicer and smaller than average allinclusive resort and after a small renovation and new staff hiring it could be very ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri78est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in our viva Wyndham Tangerine.

We are truly sorry that you experienced some technical inconvenience with the room and that our service was not what you expected. Please be aware that your observations are very important to us, and they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

Once again we thank you again for your comments and for have been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine; we hope you can give us a second chance to show you an improvement in a future visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had a great time at this resort this past week! I visited Punta Cana last year, and I have to say I enjoyed Cabarete more. It's about a five minute walk down the beach to some bars, and I would suggest to go check out the local nightlife at least of the nights. So much fun and cheap drinks! The hotel grounds are kept beautifully and the staff is great. They make the drinks strong which is great compared to other all inclusives I have stayed at. Food is good, my favorite was the Italian restaurant which you need to make a reservation for. It was never a problem except for the fact that we wanted to go back our last night and it was closed. Our room was in the perfect location inside of the main building where the buffet is. Pool and ocean view was amazing.

I only have two complaints. 1.) we never had hot water in our shower. We didn't complain, but a warm shower would have been nice. 2.) the "doctor" at the pharmacy had no clue what we were asking for and did not seem like a real doctor. Pretty frustrating.

All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend this resort!

Room Tip: If you don't mind noise, ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our family of 5 enjoyed a 6 day/5 night trip to this all inclusive resort. I paid close attention to detail because I knew I was going to write a review of this property. My whole family was so impressed by the amount of foreigners that were vacationing here. Many people came from Germany, Sweden and Canada. There were only 4 other people from USA besides my family of 5. There was a terrific blend of age groups as well.
Though the landscape and buildings are beautiful at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine, there is no color to the hallways and doors on the levels where the rooms are located. All were a dull dreary white. The rooms were pretty basic with 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a small tv, a bathroom(tiny shower stall), a small fridge(equipped with 2 bottles of dasani water per day) and a large closet with a safe ($2/day). There is a hairdryer in each room as well as a bidet.
As far as food goes, the buffet had a large assortment of foods for all 3 meals, so I didn't have to worry about my 19, 21 and 25 year old finding something they liked to eat. The buffet had a different "theme" for dinner each night. The 2 restaurants (Mexican and Italian) included were just okay. If you want better food you'll have to pay for it and walk down the beach to the restaurants and bars in what they call cabarete central. There are several places to eat on the beach and there is a tiny run down sketchy village on the street side. There are no souvenir shops anywhere, the small shop on site has some small things. We ended up buying some at the D.R. airport before heading home. The pool was fantastic and well equipped with enough good quality lounge chairs. Steps from the pool is the glorious beach. A constant beautiful breeze blows, so you are never really "hot" from the sun. Beware of the sun though-you won't feel like you are burning because of the breeze, but you will burn, trust me! The only downside to the beach was that the licensed solicitors would NOT leave you alone! They were such an intrusion. What I wanted to be a calm relaxing time at the beach, turned out to be frustrating. One sells jewelry, others hats, cigars and hair braiding. They patrol all day long and re-approach you even after you say NO! One even spoke loud enough so that I would wake up!
I have never been on a vacation with such a great staff. Everyone was always kind and friendly. The bar staff is super as well, though the alcohol they served wasn't very good. They serve lots of sugary drinks. Stick to the beer, it's good and cold, or a vodka tonic. Cappuccino is available all day and night.
I was very impressed with the energy level of the animation crew. Their job is to engage the entire crowd, and they do just that. There is entertainment every night and you can even learn how to salsa. My girls enjoyed scuba diving and the zip lining, cliff diving and horseback riding trio adventure all for an affordable price.
I would definitely recommend this beautiful and perfectly located Wyndham property. They just need to perk up the walls and doors where the rooms are with some color!

Room Tip: The property is beautiful and absolutely immaculate. Our room was in the main building that was clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theresa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Family,

We loved reading your nice comments. Thank you… we hope to see you in our property in the near future, we will keep working to make sure you have another lovely experience like that you will never get tired to visit us. See you soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
göteborg
Level Contributor
171 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated near Kite Beach where the surfers stay and of course they prefere it windy! To me that was excellent! I could stay in the sun much longer then usual cause there is a wind blowing all the time! Sometimes it so windy that you might blow away ;-)
The staff is attending and polite. If you like to take part in games there is an animation team that works hard. If you don't like that you have to be prepared listening to them shouting and laughing if you hang by the pool!
If you like to see danceshows there are different shows each night performanced by the animation team as well.
The rooms are OK, we had rooms near the reception and away from the restaurants, 2225 and 2224. My mother had problems with the stairs and the staff in the reception helped them to move to another room in the same building as ours!
The food was good and you have a lot to choose from!
I am not fond of "All inclusive" and this type of hotel, but I must say that this was nice and relaxed and there is always the beach and the bars there if you want to go out from the charterconcept!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mamamiaindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our all inclusive week at the resort was very pleasant...of course the weather co operated nicely! We arrived in the evening and weren't too pleased with our balcony view. We approached the desk and they were most accommodating; we switched next morning to a lovely room and balcony. The beach is beautiful, with palms to provide shade as the day wears on, and lots of chaises; so there was no stress there! The food at the resort was the best i have experienced at an all inclusive; several meals were actually delicious! Staff at the resort were absolutely lovely (except perhaps the 'towel guy'. who appeared to think he was doing you a great favour and somewhat rude). All in all, it is a spot i would return to without hesitation...and the Beach Bars of Cabarete are a fun i option!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim082015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our Resort.

Thank you for recommending Viva Wyndham Tangerine. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards,


Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This resort is mostly for couples and families, if you're single, head into town. Cabarette is a 10-15 min walk along the beach with some nice options. Lazy Dog bar in town is good for NHL and NFL games, Irish pub, a Mojito bar and some decent restaurants as well. Jose is your best friend at this resort, Beach is windy and packed with vendors trying to sell you stuff. Pool is a decent size and the activities crew make you join in fun n games during the day. Local Disco is open till 2am as the lobby bar closes at 1am. Rooms are average, A/C and fridge only works from time to time. Italian resto is better than the Mexican resto, otherwise buffet is your best option. Try eating in Cabarette a few nights because the 24hr snack bar only serves Pizza and hotdogs/ fries. Pizza is very good but you'll be sick of it by the 2nd or 3rd night.

Take the 12 Waterfall exertion and skip the catamaran, this beach is known for kite surfing, horse riding, a tour of the no.1 Rum in Dominican Republic distillery called Brugal. Bring OFF as the bugs and mosquitoes do come out at night when it's not breezy. There is a Pool table on the 2nd floor and a theater in the evening with some entertainment till 11pm, after that your best bet is Cabarette. Rent a room safe for $2 a day, worth it. There is also a quite pool next to this resort but not part of the all inclusive deal. Mirage pool n lounge costs extra but maybe good for people that like to take it easy on vacation. All n all, decent holiday if you don't pay too much, but don't expect the best service or food selection at this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the Mirage lounge n pool are the best and quietest. 2nd floor is a better option than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us… We want to assure you that your opinion is very important to us and we will always appreciate our customers feed back.

Thank you,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
961 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
339 reviews
15.9 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,404 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
15.9 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Property: Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing