We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I went with some friends and we had a great time, really enjoyed this hotel and Cabarete. The owner is very helpful, the beautiful long beach is steps away. Hotel Alegria is very well priced. The restaurant in the hotel, run separately by very nice women, serves great breakfasts and is open for lunch.
A few showers over the course of the week lasted about five minutes and didn't interfere with the sun and beach.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are quiet. Rooms facing back get some early morning noise from the next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 198 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Cabarete for a week with another couple. We wanted a comfortable place to stay (nothing super fancy) with a good location without breaking our budget, and Hotel Alegria fit the bill.

The location is great. The hotel has beach access at one end of the beach. It's a short walk from the bars/restaurants on the main strip, but far enough away to not be bothered by all the noise.

We stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment and had a kitchen to cook, and with Janet's Super Market just a block away from the Hotel, we made good use of it. There was also a private patio area off of the apartment with lounge chairs and a hammock. It was really nice to have some private space to enjoy the outdoors.

The staff was also incredibly friendly and helpful. Everyone remembered our names and was more than happy to help with arranging tours and transportation.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay at Hotel Alegria. Would highly recommend to others, and hope we have the opportunity to go back at some point!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aflint26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were expecting a warm greeting from the owner's friendly family and a restaurant on premises as advertised in last year's website but found that the hotel was "in between" ownership and restaurant contractors. We did find fairly good value for the money with its easy beach access and a great place to have breakfast next door at the more upscale Velero Beach Resort.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hotel Alegria has a staff manning reception and greeting guests 24 hours a day. As many of the reviews indicate, the staff deserves as much or more of the credit for the friendly atmosphere at Hotel Alegria. As owner, I get to meet most, but not all guests, at some point during their stay.

I'm not sure where the guest got the idea that the hotel is "between owners". Perhaps because when the guest was here in October our restaurant was temporarily closed while awaiting the startup by the new crew, three women from Holland, who took over the restaurant operation in November. Since then the Alegria Cafe and Lounge has been among the top ranked eating spots in Cabarete according to Tripadvisor restaurant reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just back from another great vacation at the Alegria Hotel in Cabarete,great to see nmy old friends Raphael, Sam and Johnny and meet news ones, Peter the owner has made it even better with the addittion of the Alegria Cafe (they deserve their own review) an amazingly inexpensive cafe with incrediblely good food run by the 3 of the nicest ladies you will ever meet who will quickly become life long friends. The family atomsphere remains as was shown when i was having problems with my bank card, all the staff went out of their way to help and Peter even offer to loan me money if needed...never happen in an all-inclusive. I so evny the people like Papa Jean who are there for a couple of months. This is definetly the best place to stay in Cabarete,cliose to everything,great prices and run by great people Thanks everyone for another great vacation. Same time next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with air condition and kitchen facilities are availalbe....good idea with Janets supermarket r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimjax2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Alegria a couple months back. I was with a group, and four of us were placed in room 15. I'm unsure what the other rooms are like, but this one was awful. Four twin beds, all in one room, no air conditioning (which I can handle), very old style bedding and decor. The vanity in the bathroom was falling apart. The drawers were all broken. The shower was dirty. I flipped on the bathroom light in the middle of the night, and 3 roaches were on the bathroom floor. I could hardly stand to sleep in this room, and wore flip-flops in the shower. Luckily, I had all of my belongings separated in zip-lock bags within my luggage. I suggest you do the same, if you stay here, to avoid bringing any "friends" back home with you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LKRbsn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Well that review certainly stung, but it did point out a couple of things we had overlooked in the large studio where the group stayed. We recently replaced 3 bathroom vanities where the drawers were not working properly due to warping from the humidity with custom made mahogany vanities. We evidently missed the vanity in the large studio and will remedy that right away. The report of the roaches in the bathroom was so unique in our experience or the experience of our guests, we investigated and found that the shower drain in that ground floor room was missing a trap that would prevent an insect from entering through the drain. That is being remedied as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hotel Alegria is perfectly located- just a few minutes beach walk from all of the restaurants and bars on Cabarete beach (and right next door to Janet's supermarket). The hotel's private courtyard, 24/7 concierege (always very friendly and helpful), and wood burning grill give it a very quiet, private, and relaxing atmosphere.

The furniture in the rooms is slightly outdated, but we thought it added to the charm of the hotel. This is a perfect hotel for a fun trip for people looking for great location and not looking for a sleek/shiny resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TL862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Again I spent a great time in Hotel Alegria. Friendly people, proper and calm room made my stay relaxing. Te Hotel is very well situated, a very little walk outside the center of Cabarete, in a calm corner not directly on the street and close to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
3.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
93.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Callejon de los Perez s/n | Between Velero and Sans Souci, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabarete
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $33 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located family-run hotel with ideal beach location, ocean-view rooms, studios with kitchenettes, two-bedroom apartment, rooftop terraza with Jacuzzi, 24-hour front desk, great atmosphere and prices. All rooms have refrigerators, cable TV, free safes and free Wi-Fi Internet. Select rooms with A/C. Biggest grocery store in town and bank ATM just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing