We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I will come to this hotel again, I booked for the 2 bed, 2 bath apartment at the hotel and it was great, everything worked perfectly. the staff was great, the owner was very helpful. I was there for Easter weekend. great place, great time and great people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josco26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    60
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
57
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neepawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

again another fabulious stay at the hotel alegria. quiet, home away form home. staff is great. very secure. close to everyhting. luggage did not arrive. recieved a messge when it would be there. delivered right to our door.
all is good. helpful and very informative. after 5 years of staying there. still one of my favorites.
budget friendly. joseph and rapheal, good people. and again Kia is always looking for a visit. will be back. thanks peter for the great accomidations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Super hospitality ,clean ,reasonably priced and save .seconds to the beach and the market, all together a great experience .will definatly return.Peter the owner kind reasonable .Raphael ,Joseph and Edrin are the hosts and around the clock security and are always there to help you with any questions you have about the area.Can't wait to return

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronnyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neepawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Did I mention the location was great?
This is a perfect place for the budget minded traveler which we are. It's a nice,quiet and clean hotel very close to the beach and to the big supermarket on the main road through Cabarete. We stayed in Studio #12 which has a small kitchen and AC and was perfect for us. The hotel staff and owner were very friendly and helpful and the maid did a great job with our room.
I expected a drip coffee maker in the room but they only had a stove-top espresso maker but after the first cup of coffee from it I was glad that we didn't have to drink the drip coffee after all.(be careful what you ask for, you may get it!)
A short walk on the street or the beach will put you in the middle of some of the great restaurants and shops that make dining here part of the Cabarete experience.
We'll be back....

Room Tip: Studio #12 and 13 on the ground floor both have AC and kitchenettes and a view of the beach through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week with two friends for a destination wedding. This place has a great location. The staff is very helpful they will get you anything you want. Peter is very knowlegable about area and will point you in right direction along with giving you helpful tips. Very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthgirlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Everyone here from owner to the women that cleans your room are very friendly and attentive. Rooms are clean, we had kitchen so if we would want to cook we could.
We came down for a wedding and err supposed to stay in an expensive hotel, we opted out and glad we did. We paid one tenth and service a hundred times better. Everyone here like to socialize with each other.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying here. Save your money for having fun.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

It's a lil place located behind hotel sans souci, yesterday was my 4th times in 2 months in this hotel .
Highly recommended my dear travelers ?
Over there you gonna meet the friendly guy by the name of John :) .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Soumaho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kite Dreem Hotel
Kite Dreem Hotel
#12 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Property: Hotel Alegria
Address: Between Velero and Sans Souci, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabarete
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located family-run hotel with ideal beach location, ocean-view rooms, studios with kitchenettes, two-bedroom apartment, rooftop terraza with Jacuzzi, 24-hour front desk, great atmosphere and prices. All rooms have refrigerators, cable TV, free safes and free Wi-Fi Internet. Select rooms with A/C. Biggest grocery store in town and bank ATM just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing