We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not maintained or up-kept” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
1 review
“Not maintained or up-kept”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The manager was too important to speak directly with me preferring to play with his phone when i had to complain about the shower not working or the loo being blocked,however the staff were lovely. They were lovely but very young and inexperienced. The food was good if limited though the bar was poorly stocked. The young staff tried hard to put on entertainment but it was very much school level stuff. There are two nice pools with cold "hot tubs" but the hotel beach just steps from the restaurant was very nice.
I know money is tight the hotel was maybe 10/15 percent full but they need to improve standards.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ftdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    56
    42
    72
See reviews for
61
148
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Harbour
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited this hotel feb 2012 and were very disappointed in services. We are not hard to please but they were continuously out of things at the bar. One day no ice, another no limes. Another no beer etc. drink selection limited with only 8 fancy drinks to choose from. Buffet had theme nights but was just average. Salad bar small and limited.Beach rough. Rooms were good. Resort clean. But I would not return here on a vacation because it was just an ok place to stay. Had coworker who just returned from there and half way through their 2 weeks they asked to move to another hotel. His comments were the Same so it looks like things have not improved in a year.

The pluses were very friendly rec staff who always kept things lively. Could always get a chair at pool. Small hotel which made it easy to meet people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobaltgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cabarete hotels

LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel seemed to be priced better than the competition and the reasons became clear soon after arrival. The hotel is located very far from the center of Cabarete ($10 cab ride) and at night it is a scary journey back down dark unlit roads. The room was peeling and cracking and badly in need of updating. The breakfast was decent. Had I known what I now know, I would have stayed somewhere else. I thought I was saving money but I nearly lost my mind.

Room Tip: Just say no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank santiagoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

i have been traveling to DR a couple times and have stayed at different resorts and this one by far was the worse.... stayed at this resort for 2 nights. had to wait more than an hour to check in considering there was only 2 person infront of me. after checking in went to the room hoping to relax after traceling for good 2 1/2 hours from sdq, but the room was disgusting and filthy. dust all over and the sheets were nasty and brownish. then the bathroom was disgusting and toilet didnt flush. food was ok i guess. decided to book to eat at the restaurant i think it was a jamaican resto. the food was horrible that we left in the middle of eating and went to the buffet instead.

not only everything was bad but one of the guest got robbed in her room. stole her money and belongings. she asked the manager to help her and call the police so she can file a complaint and the manager just turned away and refused to call maybe they were scared to be held responsible. poor canadian lady who was a missionary for santiago was left on the curb crying. being a good samaritan, had to asked what was wrong and that was the story. i was livid... this place is not safe. she had a feelin lg it was one of the staff coz she made sure her patio door and front door was closed before she left. JUST PLAIN HORRIBLe!!!!! THIS PLACE SUCKS!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemika79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I don't recommend this hotel at all. First it's not really located at Cabarete so you need a car to go in to town. The food is terrible. The room conditions are very poor. This hotel has a lot of potencial but it needs to be remodeled urgently!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Decamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I just wanted to let everyone know that this hotel is NOT located in or near Cabarete town. It is approximately 25 minutes down the highway and in a very isolated area. Many travel sites have the place mapped incorrectly and even Google Earth has it marked as right down town in Cabarete.
I originally booked at this hotel and when I discovered it was located in a depressed and scary part of the coast I immediately changed hotels. This area contains miles and miles of abandoned hotels and resorts... it's very bizarre - like a ghost town.
Local Domincans live all around the hotel in their small shacks next to these crumbling resorts.
Since I was travelling alone and had no car, it would have been awful to stay here.
Happy Travels.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank ElleFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I booked a birthday weekend away for my daughter and her friends. When they arrived they were checked in only to find a couple having full on sex in the pool, this went on for hours. My daughter was then called to reception to be told Sunwing had contacted them to inform them not to let them in as the payment had not gone through. I reconfirmed with my daughter the booking confirmation receipts from sun wing and verified with my bank the funds had been withdrawn from my credit card. In the midst of all of this as there were few guests at the resort, service was appalling, only food available at certain times, no shuttle to Cabaret as it had broken down and the list goes on, no phones in room, mini bar not stocked, their idea of juice is sugar and water.....and the couple is still having sex in the pool (other pool is too dirty to swim in). They (my daughter and friends) had had enough and wanted to leave but were told they could not without a credit card payment WTBleep!!!!!! This has already been paid for! Sunwing could not be contacted, I sent emails to them, and they have no emergency number. When I asked resort for fax and email address to get them my credit card so my daughter and friends could leave this awful resort, they said they had no fax or email but gave me a local workers hotmail address to kindly send my credit card details to...!!!! I finally sent a long email to my daughter to pass on to the resort again with copies of sunwing confirmations that this had been booked and paid and they insisted on still charging my card so everyone could leave without calling in the local police. A nightmare, a fun planned birthday weekend has turned into a disaster, I have been charged twice now and have no contact with sunwing until tomorrow. This is disgusting, I would not recommend this resort, yes it is a lower budget one but still has guarantees as per the sunwing site and nobody deserves this sort of treatment. Recommendation: stay away.

Room Tip: No do not book here! Sleep quality low as how can you sleep when you are stressed out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank peanut63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
3.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
5.3 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#8 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kite Beach Hotel
Kite Beach Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celuisma Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Property: Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
Address: 2 km from Cabarete, Entrada Camino del Sol, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celuisma Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Celuisma Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Paraiso Tropical
Paraiso Tropical Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing