We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good 2 wks on holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
norfolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good 2 wks on holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

when we first checked out the reviews on here about this hotel we were horrified at some but we had been to other hotels with bad reviews but still it was worrying,anyway all those bad review was nothing that we found infact we had a great 2 wks at the celuisma.no screaming kids,blow up beds in pool & very quite so nice & relaxing.we picked the best time of year cos there can`t have been more than 25 guests in the whole place so plenty of room by the pool didn`t even need to put towels on sun beds to save them & there were even germans at the hotel.
The hotel does need some doing up it is tired looking but what does it matter,in our room same again abit tired but everything worked the air con worked so well it was like the arctic in the morning,the ceiling fan squeeked but it worked,the fridge was nice n cold to put our water in.we always had water in the bathroom & plenty of hot water .the room was good for what you need it for to sleep in.
the food was ok some of it was abit too long under the heat lamps but over all you won`t starve,O & if you like us have been to other places where you dressed for dinner this hotel you don`t or no one bothered to anyway.
the entertainment team where really good they had so much energy it tired you out just watching them.
the trips we went on were really good,monster truck safari,pleasure island,the cable car,river boat safari.we did the blue lagoon which was rubbish it isn`t a lagoon its a cave thats collapsed then filled with water which i do have to admit was blue don`t bother with it.

if you scuba dive then go with DIVE CABARETE they are english i had a great 3 days diving with them & if you can do the zingara wreck its deep 36m but well worth it one of the best dives i did.

So in conclusion the hotel the food & the staff was all very good the advice i`d give show the staff some respect & you will have great fun hope this helps.

Room Tip: there basically the same except the apartments.by the pools are nice we had our room nr the resturan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marc19669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    57
    42
    73
See reviews for
62
148
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We have just returned from two weeks holiday at the Celuisma in Cabarete. The rooms are dated and could do with a major overhaul, however what the rooms lacked in charm and modern facilities the staff at the hotel made up for. We were treated with respect and courtesy from the maintence staff, right through to the animation team. What can we say....Jessica and Yajaira never gave us a minutes peace but we loved them, we felt we were treated as part of the family, the boys Bearra [jose] Pacherro, Cappuchino and Juan were all wonderful....we had the most amazing time thankyou for making our hoilday so special..Other staff too many to mention were all lovely, Maria we miss your smile. You are all such lovely freindly people....
A word of advice to any one going there find Louisa and Carolina, the massages were wonderful, they are geniune lovely special people, we miss you all and cant wait to save enough pennies to come back.
Anne and Philip

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Honestly don’t know where all these bad reviews are coming from, this was one of the best holidays I have been on. Was there at the start of June, only a dozen or so ppl there which was great had the front whole pool to ourselves, very quiet and peaceful. The food was excellent Italian and Mexican especially, fresh pancakes every morning, fair enough the buffet wasn’t great but most nights the restaurant was open. The room was adequate, noisy aircon and rickety fan but it cooled the room down to freezing. Always hot water in the shower. The staff were great, playing table tennis and volleyball in the pool without being pushy. Overall a great holiday, would return just remember its only 3 star so don’t expect 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weebarra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

It's been about a month since we have returned from the Celuisma in Cabarete and it appears we may have been there at the same time as some of the other reviewers! Hurricane Irene did her best to dampen our spirits - lots of wind, some flooding, and a power outtage! But, thanks to the wonderful staff at this hotel, it didn't dampen the holiday! It gave us a Carribean experience that we weren't looking for, but we felt safe and secure the entire time, even with the minor inconveniences that Irene brought with her!

This hotel is a remarkable little hideaway just outside of Cabarete (a short taxi ride into town, or there is a shuttle that leaves from the hotel every morning). It has 2 very well maintained pools, a beach that is a little on the rough side but still very beautiful and jumping into the waves was a work out we took advantage of daily! It is very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning was working in top form in our room every day (well, except for Hurricane night!) and while the rooms could use a little updating, in my opinion, it'd just be for aesthetic purposes!

Our housekeeping staff were so incredible!! Rooms scoured every single day, and often left behind some sort of towel art or flowers. The food was remarkable! Not only did we have the main buffet restaurant where there was always a wide variety of choices, there were 2 a la carte restaurants. The Thai is located right on the beach, in a very romantic setting, with the food prepared right in front of you! And the Windows restaurant is overlooking one of the pools, and each time this was open there was a different theme. One night was Italian, one night Dominican, etc. We always had a fantastic meal, and waiters/waitresses were very prompt!

The entertainment staff really makes this hotel from a 'good one' into a "great one". They do their best to get to know everyone at the entire resort. They try to come up with games and activities geared towards the guests. And they put on nightly entertainment as well! Sometimes it was just dominoes and cards in the sports bar, but other nights there was a fantastic magic show, and the water show that they put on is beyond words. Something you just must see!

We don't speak Spanish, but that was not an issue in this hotel - as management, entertainment staff and reception staff all spoke English. Sometimes housekeeping or bar staff would have a little difficulty understanding, but some charades helped and they were always aiming to please!

We could see that there is ongoing repairs/construction taking place in the different lodging buildings, so we took that as a sign that they were continuously upgrading the hotel, which is always a bonus!

We met people at the resort who had been there multiple times, and who keep going back every year. I think that speaks for itself and look forward to going back myself! I know there are terrible reviews on here, really terrible. But that was not at all my experience and I have stayed at many many hotels throughout the world. So, don't be afraid to book it. You won't regret finding your own little tropical hideaway!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms that we could see! Just be friendly and I'm sure the reception staff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSgalHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

All I can say is this hotel is not safe to stay at! Where to start?

Rooms-
They are dirty and smell like an old antique shop. With damp and dirt everywhere.You don't get hot water from the shower. The ceiling fan swings from left to right (attached by one bolt) Our room flooded and they had to put towels at the front door to stop the water entering our room.. The electics shock you and bare wire's everywhere! Air condition unit is so rusty and old it sounds like a tractor! Staff don't understand english very well so good luck trying to address the above with them!

Food-
If you eat the food!! You will be ill. Simple as that. I am not a fussy eater but my god! The buffet had no lights above it so you cold not see what you were eating. Was a very good job as it smelt and looked disgusting!

Leaving- Trust me if you book this hotel. Your best time will be when you leave and never have to go there again! WHen we stayed there were only 4-6 other guests!

Star Rating- Not even a 1 star.... I think you would sleep better in iraq with the RAF then this place!!!

Should be shutdown!

Beach- North atlantic sea, very dirty, beach is worst than any english beach.... even blackpool!

Conclusion- If you want a nice holiday. I beg you not to book here. Pay extra and get a hotel down Bayhibe. Bayhibe is on the carribean sea and not the north atlantic like this hotel. So the water is clear and the hotels are great. Pay extra and have a nice break. Not a holiday from hell!!

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, please don;t stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cabarete hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have just come back from the Hotel Celuisma near Caberete.
My partner and I had a wonderful 2 weeks stay.
The hotel is fairly isolated which if you are looking for a relaxing retreat it will serve you very well.
The animation team are amazing, and certainly make sure that their are activities throughout the day or night and will not pester you if you just want to take in the sun with a good book and a cocktail.
Our room was most adequate, spacious, cleaned daily and had a lovely balcony over looking the quiet pool.
The food was good and I always felt that their was plenty there. We also eat in the Al Carte Resturant and the Thia, which I would greatly encourage.
We hired a car one day which Jessica a member of the animation team kindly accompanied us, showing us parts of the Dominican Republic that we may have never seen.
I would also recommend a massage at the hotel. It was so good I went back.
My holiday at this hotel was fabulous and we meet so many fun, kind and friendly people.
My motto when on holiday is to make the most of it, and I think the staff and guests at this hotel made it simple for me to chill and forget about the everyday stress in the uk.
A big thumbs up from me.
Best Wishes To All At The Hotel Celuisma xxx. Love Stuart

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarChild1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

A good clean simple hotel. That said it is pretty, the beaches are quite and Cabarete is not too far and offers a good morning out. The staff and animation team made sure that my partner And I had an amazing time. The hotel was not that busy which was great as we we got to make some amazing friends among the guests and animation team

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
3.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.3 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coconut Palms Resort
Coconut Palms Resort
#14 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celuisma Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Property: Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
Address: 2 km from Cabarete, Entrada Camino del Sol, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celuisma Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Celuisma Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Paraiso Tropical
Paraiso Tropical Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing