We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Night in Cabarete”
Review of Hotel Kaoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kaoba
Ranked #20 of 30 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We got into Cabarete at 9.30pm in bad weather also very tired after a long bus journey from Punta Cana. The first place I had been advised of was full so we tried the Hotel Kaoba. They had rooms so we decided to stay and sort out long term accommodation the next day. The boy on reception was missing when we first arrived and so we waited 10 mins or so, he didn't speak English but we muddled through in my broken Spanish. The room charge was $55 and when I asked about breakfast he shrugged and said yes.

We went upstairs down a very tired and dim hallway to our room, it had a kingsize bed AC a balcony overlooking the garden and pool and cable TV. We were told it had hot water but it didn't that night even though the boy came back to try and fix it.

We walked into town Cabarete it has 1 main road with bars and restaurants all along situated both on the beach and down the main street. We had a snack in a restaurant and headed home as it was raining.

The next morning we magically had hot water so showered, the bathroom was the best thing about the room. We went down for our included breakfast only to be told it wasn't included!! so wandered off and ate elsewhere.

Koaba is Ok but nothing special as a 1 night only it was fine, but I feel overpriced for what it is. A good clean and a lick of paint would transform it.

Forgot to mention the big smelly dog in reception Im an animal lover but with the rain and his long coat the smell was quite awful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellebrown2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 106 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Kaoba for 5 days. This time around, I enjoyed that the hotel has wifi- throughout the building and even out in the pool. Great to sit on their balcony overlooking the street with morning coffee - and your Ipad to keep in touch.

The bar is opened to later and there are locals that come in to mingle with guest. I plan to make this my regular hotel. It is affordable - accessible and the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: This is hotel is similar to a bed and breakfast -in the states. Keeping that in mind you will enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

By sharing my experiences i will help you decide about coming to the Dominican republic , choose cabarete and stay at hotel kaoba for the trip.
This hotel is really clean , with clean sheets, a good bed, etc...
the only problem i had it's the hot water didn't work. :( (ROOM 313).
The price is reasonnable for 4 people. I'm not gonna say it cheap because what i can find cheap for myself may not be for others.
About the night life it was off the chain, party by the sea, nice and good looking people, good music .....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soumaho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I arrived to Dominican republic on Oct 18, 2012, and was very very disappointed. When you first walk into the hotel the windows has not been washed in months. I proceeded to walk in and was greatly but a nice lady who had on regular clothing not a uniform. As i looked around i noticed the hotel front desk phone was dirty and had black gel all over it. Still i wanted to see things and did not want to jump to conclusion so i allowed one of the staff member to show me a room....OMG is all i could say some of the room doors was broken, the landscaping was not done and months and the pool water was dirty. I was extremely disappointed and requested to change my reservation through Expedia. Please take this review seriously you are getting what you paid for. I would not put anyone in this hotel and the location is not safe. Please stay away unless you really do not care where you lay your head.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank genise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night during our 2 week holiday in the DR and it's the only hotel we couldn't wait to get out of. Had a ground floor room by the pool which was dingy, smelled, dark and infested with cockroaches (tot he point where we kept our luggage on the table / chairs so that it wasn't on the ground!). Now we're seasoned travellers and used to hotels in Central/South America and Asia, so it's not like we were expecting 5*. We didn't find the front desk helpful with any information on recommendations or local attractions (trying to find El Choco National Park which is right near them and they didn't know where it was...). No one helped with bags down/up stairs like we normally find in other hotels (be aware that there is the equivalent of about 2 flights of steps from reception down to the pool area rooms, and probably up as well but we didn't see that). The reception area smelled of the dogs that were constantly there. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExploringSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

good location near downtown cabarete,close to cabarete beach, near night spots, hotel average US $39.00 off season. The hotel has clean pool, restaurant within hotel, room has kitchennette which is great for couple and big family. Clean room, cleaning staff daily. Will definetely stay hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Im currently staying here for 4 days, i read the reviews previously but i wanted to see how bad it really was. Some reviews mention dingy and old well all in dominican rep is old, hotel is cozzy great warm pool at nite, little bungaloware fantastic 3 beds if needed for 14$ per person great. N

Cons WIFI almost every where in the hotel

Pros location away from disco and noise price nature all around the hotel great ambience.


Recommended for singles on a low budget

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank hmedco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hummingbird
The Hummingbird
#7 of 30 in Cabarete
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
1,579 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Magnifico
Hotel El Magnifico
#9 of 48 in Cabarete
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaoba

Address: Calle Principal, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range: $25 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kaoba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Cabarete just a few steps away from the worldknown beach of Cabarete. From the outside, it is impossible to imagine that our area of 4,000 m2 encloses a hotel with 25 bungalows and 31 rooms in a lush tropical setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kaoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaoba Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing