We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by locals, maybe we were just unlucky?”
Review of Pomodoro

Pomodoro
Ranked #22 of 132 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Recommended by locals, maybe we were just unlucky?”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a small pizza place, right next to Lax (the main bar scene in Cabarete), with simple plastic tables and chairs on the beach. I had heard that the pizza here was suppoused to be very good, so I think maybe we should have ordered something else - as we weren't particularly impressed.

Service is, as usual in DR, average to poor. But hey - if you don't expect a 5-star-treatment, you won't be disappointed either.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Solveig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    103
    23
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eggplant pizza!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great pizza spot on the beach. The eggplant pizza was really nice. The vendors are a bit tiresome, but overall it was a nice spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pasnstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best calzone ever”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Placed at the beach just beside Celinas. Italian pasta/pizza place, tend to be crowded and prices are not the cheapest in town. But the food is great, i recommend pasta alfredo or the calzone (which is my all time favorite calzone in the whole wide world). whoa!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coco_r77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay away, they trick tourist with prices”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a place i will never go to again. The prices in the menu are just a trick to attract costumers, because when they deliver the check you will see they charge way more claiming prices don't include taxes, but what is fishy about this is that they charge you two separate taxes and don't tell you the percentages, so basially they can charge you what they feel.
This is the only place where we had this problem and felt they rip off tourists. When we expressed our dissagrement to pay those charges the waiters got really nervous as if they were doing something fishy.

Go somewhere else, you will find better food at good prices, don't visit places where they just want to rip off tourist!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Petiteeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I used to order pizza twice a week from them”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I really love their pizza although their consistently has declined a bit lately. Sometimes I get a pie that isn't realy circular and it just looks like they have a lazy pizza chef..

Regardless, all the flavors are there and they seem to use very high quality ingredients. Wife recommends the pasta with shrimp alfredo (ask for the heads to be removed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing