We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 29 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, sd
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week in February. The cabana we stayed in was Caracol. It is right in front of the pool. It is so nice and quiet here - no music blaring at the pool or beach. Even though I believe the hotel was almost full, my husband and I walked 100 yards up the beach and had it to ourselves. Right in front of the hotel there is still only 10 people max. No one is trying to sell you anything on the beach. It was such a wonderful place to stay that we didn't want to leave. The restaurant on site is great. For less than $200 for a week you can rent a car and go see the nearby towns. The ocean can be rough right after a storm but overall very nice. I am a wimp about water and the temperature was fine and the waves didn't bother me. The rooms were always cleaned while we were out and they were spotless. The staff there is wonderful especially Oliver.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipDod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    41
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
112
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had no idea what to expect before we arrived but it was an ideal spot for us. We came and went over 2 weeks and stayed in 2 cabanas - some friends of ours stayed in a 3rd. They were all beautiful and very different. Our favourites were piedra and coral. Piedra had a huge kingsize bed, separate dressing room/area for bags and a beautiful bathroom all on one floor. Coral had a similar size bed but this was on the 1st floor. The bathroom was on the ground floor.
We were able to check out late on 2 occasions with no extra charge. The beach is lovely although swimming in the sea is really about catching the waves.We ate at the beach bar for lunch and the restaurant in the evenings. Great food!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnyb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 7 nights over Christmas in Natura Cabana. It is a great, clean place with friendly service about 10 minutes drive from Cabarete. It's quiet and far away from the hustle. The beach is not populated and is great to enjoy a drink from the restaurant. Breakfast is a mix of buffet and egg dishes with juices and coffee (espresso is extra cost). One problem we encountered was that breakfast does not start until 8am and does not allow for excursions scheduled early in the day. Dinner was OK, but not phenomenal. Make sure you try some other places in Cabarete. Great yoga classes offered from one of the best yoga teachers I have had. The actual accommodation is comfortable and interior very original, but website is misleading stating two separate bedrooms. We saw two cabanas and both were not two bedrooms. The first one was a kitchen and bedroom combo on the first floor with another sleeping area on the loft. The staff was very friendly to move us to Playa cabana, which was a separate bedroom with two queen beds (although with open windows toward the kitchen) and a kitchen/sleeping area combo. It is great for families who do not expect to have too much privacy, but inconvenient if you are traveling with teens and expect to have your own bedrooms. The bathroom is also partially open to the rest of the rooms. Moderate problem with domestic insects, but staff is trying their best to deal with it. Overall we had a great stay and would be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a specific cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankakalpazanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with a warm welcome from Belen the manageress, and from the owner. The Hotel is an oasis of green, a stones throw away from the private beach whilst surrounded by lush Dominican landscape.
We were allocated to a beautiful three bedroom cabaña, even although we were only two people, so the space was gratifying. The teak floors combined with the thatched roof gave a Balinese feel to the place and with no TV or noisy tourists the tranquility was perfect.
The restaurant served a nice selection of fresh produce and was well prepared by the Italian Chef. The service was swift and the chef bothered to visit our table and make sure everything was to our liking.
We visited the SPA and enjoyed a wonderful massage.
Overall a very nice place to stay, especially if you are looking for an alternative to the All Inclusive tripe you find elsewhere on the island.
WE SHALL RETURN SOON!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Natura Cabanas is a wonderful place. The grounds are beautiful, the cabanas unique, the food very good, and the staff is extremely friendly. We stayed for 6 nights for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed at all. From our arrival the place was so quiet and friendly; we were instantly relaxed. Here is my run-down of our stay:

-The cabanas are very natural. There are no televisions; so you might want to bring a game or deck of cards for the evenings. In addition, the cabanas are completely open-air (although fully screened so you do not need to worry about insects). So if it is humid and rainy, you are not going to get into crisp bed sheets at night. However, the beds are super comfortable. In addition, because the cabanas are open air, you may hear your neighbors every once in a while (baby crying, someone in the shower, that sort of thing). Overall, the place is very quiet.

-The food is very good. Breakfast includes toast, fresh fruit, muesli, eggs, and perhaps pancakes. The chef and wait staff for Dinner are great; and the dinner menu consists of nicely prepared, very attractively presented, fresh foods.

-The beach is beautiful and private-- no crowds. It is a rough surf; the north coast of the DR is typically rough (good for surfing!)

-Natura Cabana is very family friendly. They have a great play area for children that consists of swings, a tree house/play house, and a wishing well full of turtles!

-The pool area is very nice, with lots of comfortable places to sit! Natura Cabana is a great place for groups--- there are a lot of comfortable congregational areas.

-I think the price is reasonable. For $180/night (for a couple), you are getting a beautiful, spacious cabana in close proximity to a beautiful beach, with a full breakfast included. That seems to be about the "going rate" in the area for an "apartment style" accommodation.

-The location is perfect. We jumped on a non-stop flight from New York, arrived in Puerto Plata 3.5 hours later, and then within 20 min. after picking up our rental car we were at Natura. Natura Cabanas is close to the surfing beach, kite beach, and Cabarete, which is a neat little surfing town.

If I have any suggestions for Natura Cabana, it would be to provide more information regarding each cabana on the website. I do not know if each cabana has a full kitchen, or just a small refrigerator, etc.

We typically do not go back to the same place twice (too many places in the world to see!) but we will definitely be back to Natura Cabanas for a long weekend in the future. It is a beautiful, easily accessible place, with wonderful accommodations, food, beach, and staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erryberry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Natura Cabanas is really a most magical place. My favorite night was when we had a pair of lightning bugs dancing around the cone ceiling of our thatched cabana! My second favorite moment was our first breakfast in the open air, beach side little restaurant when between forkfuls of fresh papaya, a horse ran free along the beach and a cute little lizard eyed us from a chair back.

The place is beautiful - so much more human than the giant white resorts. The cabanas, pool, grounds and beach are lovely. (The surf is a tad rough for we arthritics but others had great fun in it.) The staff were great. Very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious -The grilled prawns and the coconut sea bass were fabulous.

It is located in a private residential area about 15 minutes between Cabarete and Puerto Plato. very quiet and peaceful. it was good for me who just wanted to lay on the beach and sun. (I was disappointed in the shopping in both towns.). My husband was a bit bored but enjoyed some informal bird walks and finding new species.

I would recommend it to adventuresome travelers who are not put off by a bug or two. The place was very very clean and well kept but does sit in a jungly area so has the periodic critter. It is lovely and restful. Very romantic too! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in "La Playa"- a large, beautiful thatched cabana in the middle of everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My sweetheart and I decided to venture out of the city of Cabarete and to Natura Cabana for dinner on 12/7. It was pure delightful! The restaurant's atmosphere, food, service-- everything was perfect. We had the lobster thermador and the filet of beef with goat cheese..and for dessert-- an amazing almond crusted ice cream. It was very affordable (about 125 for our entire meal and bottle of wine) and worth the short drive off the beaten path. Would LOVE to one day visit again and actually stay there. Looked legit! The cabins and beach were amazing. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTvGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
4.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
341 reviews
11.5 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 39 in Puerto Plata
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
No photo provided
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
368 reviews
3.8 mi away
No photo provided
Millennium Resort & Spa
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabarete Maravilla Eco Lodge & Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Paseo del Sol #5, Perla Marina, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURA, immersed in the tropical beauty of Cabarete, is an ecological paradise renowned for its architecture and decor, which fosters the call to tranquility and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing