We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place n Location in DR”
Review of Hotel Monte Cristo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monte Cristo
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Jeff was an excellent host providing everything for a comfortable stay. The rooms were spotless, soft bed n pillows, a clean private pool, and a stocked bar with a great breakfast. I recommend anyone looking for a relaxing getaway close to the beach and with great device visit Jeff at Casa Roma de Cabarete.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaromacabarete, Owner at Hotel Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you Ashley. I enjoyed spending time with you and your friends. Hope your next visit will be longer and very soon! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

This place was fantastic, nice and cozy with clean rooms and really comfortable beds. And the owner Jeff makes you feel right at home. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaromacabarete, Owner at Hotel Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you Tasha, you guys are a blast. Nice to hear you loved the beds. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Don't let the lower price scare you. When we arrived here we knew we had scored! This place is small but beautiful with large rooms well furnished and very clean and newly remodeled. It was blessedly quiet after all the loud noisy hotels we've been in around the country. For us it was the perfect place. Just a few minutes driving from the center of Cabarete and less than a 10 minute walk to a long and mostly deserted beach. Jeff, the owner, took great care of us...taking us to great restaurants and to beaches further down the coastline. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lifeinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaromacabarete, Owner at Hotel Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Your visit was a pleasure. It was like having family stay with me. I am thrilled you liked the hotel location so much. It really is very peaceful and private. Everyone who stays feels the same...they love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

If you’re looking to relax and get away from reality, then people, this is the spot!! The owner (Jeff) was very welcoming and accommodating. Cool, professional guy to talk to and hang out with. Makes you feel at home. He really knows his stuff. He recommended great places for me and my friends. Casa Roma de Cabarete has a refreshing pool, sweet (nice) spacious rooms and O.M.G the beds… Incredibly comfortable!!! It’s a clean and safe place over all. The location is perfect, not to near, not to far from the local shops, restaurants and of course the playa (beach). You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickyBobbyFrmTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This little gem of a place was a nice reprieve from hard beds, big hotels, and hustle and bustle of the city life.It was also a nice break from having to speak my spanglish and speak to someone who completely understood what i was saying in English! My friends and I were excited about the little american luxuries like little snack bags of chips ahoy and nutter butter cookies. We also appreciated being able to have access to water without having to buy a bottle of water every time we were thirsty. Thanks Jeff (owner) from preventing us from being dehydrated! Rooms were very clean and pretty. Love the openness and colors of the rooms and property.

Jeff was amazing! He is very personable, checked in with us daily about our comfort and needs, fun, relaxed, and full of great suggestions. I appreciate his creativity and trying out new things to make Casa Roma unique. Drinks and conversation at the bar were wonderful. Thanks Jeff for introducing me to Dominican coconut rum...I am now a follower for life. The price for the stay was truly reasonable and worth every penny. The property is lovely and very well-maintained. It really is a hop, skip and jump away from the center of town. Caberete itself is a charming beach town. The diversity of restaurants that are available is surprising and delectable. My inner foodie loved that! There's also nothing like dancing in the sand on the beach, with a gorgeous breeze, delicious drinks, hip swinging music, and friends of the heart!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

For the price of this room, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and in very good repair. The bed was comfortable and there wasn't a musty smell that you sometimes get with hotels close to the water. The road to the beach was a little rough and almost made me take my rating down. But the view and privacy that you had once at the beach was worth the bumpy road. The owner informed us that they were looking at repairing it soon...so hopefully this will happen. The pool was clean and refreshing. The owner asked us about what we would like to eat and drink and really cared about what we wanted. I will be planning to go back again for our next vacation.
We went when it wasn't really busy in town. The was a large selection of places to eat right on the beach. This was nice. We were able to watch people kite surf which looked fun and exciting. They had little schools along the beach where you could take lessons.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs with vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aunaturalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

After visiting the North Coast of the Dominican Republic several times we finally found the perfect place to stay. It is close enough to enjoy the hustle and bustle of Cabarete, but it is just far enough east of town that in the evening it is quite and soothing. We enjoyed hearing the crash of the waves while enjoying a drink at the bar. And the short walk was well worth it. The beach was clean, clear and very private. The pool was clean and refreshing. I enjoyed sunbathing all natural on the roof top deck and was able to get an all over golden tan. One of the very best things is that for under $100 we recieved first rate service from the owner Jeff and had clean room with comfortable beds (and trust me this is hard to find). Planning my trip to go back in December already.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sunkatOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaromacabarete, Owner at Hotel Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

THANK YOU! for such a positive review. We enjoyed having you visit and look forward to your return to Cabarete. We are continuing to improve the property for the comfort of our guests and is nice to hear our efforts are paying off.
Thanks again,
ps: book early for high season, we're hoping to be very busy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 19 in Cabarete
132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kite Beach Hotel
Kite Beach Hotel
#10 of 19 in Cabarete
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Cristo

Address: Calle Principal Playa Dorada 42, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel Carré Rouge Casa Roma)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Price Range: $59 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Cristo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaded by coconut palms along the north coast of the Dominican Republic, this boutique hotel property offers easy access to area activities. It features comfortable accommodations any traveler would appreciate. Our Hideaway Bar & Grill is now operating. Our menu offers bar drinks, a hot breakfast and other items served throughout the day. Try our homemade Rum Punch and Jerk chicken! All the air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Monte Cristo feature cable TV, free WiFi, ceiling fans, and an in-room safe. Allergy protected bedding with memory foam toppers and full bathrooms with a second sink are standard in each room. Guests can relax at the outdoor pool while enjoying the peaceful tropical atmosphere. The hotel also includes a private rooftop sundeck where clothing optional sunbathing is permitted. On the north coast beaches, guests can discover a variety of recreational activities, including windsurfing and diving. Kite surf instruction at huge discounts can be arranged by the hotel. Charming shops and delicious local restaurants are only a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Cristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing