We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best cheap food in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordito's Fresh Mex

Gordito's Fresh Mex
Ranked #2 of 126 Restaurants in Cabarete
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gordito's Fresh Mex is a fast serve restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. We serve super fresh salad bowls, burritos and tacos. We can cater to children and vegans as well.Home of the famous "Mambo Fish Taco"
Cabarete
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cheap food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I eat there almost everyday. The food is consistently great and so is the friendly service. It is cheap and very fast. I have not a single bad word to say about this amazing establishment and it's lovely owners.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dadsmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    153
    35
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was by far my favorite place in Cabarete! After all of your activities, it is very filling food for a great price! It is more of a tex-mex style and the always have fresh fish and juices. But what sets Gorditos apart is the staff. I knew everyone by name after the first visit. I have food allergies and they were very accommodating, more so than the other restaurants I ate at while in Cabarete. I even tried their restaurant, Gorditos Cantina, and they were very particular about making sure that I got food that still tasted good. And when I got sick, they gave me complimentary coconut water. Finally, they made me a meal on my last evening to say good-bye. They really treat you like family. They will be my first stop when I get back to Cabarete!

Keep doing what you are doing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank byrneje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What can you say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The locals and tourists always pack this place out....Fish tacos are excellent and the guac is heavenly. Gordito's Cantina (next door) is even better if you want a more formal dining experience....the Cantina Chef is crazy. He'll have you eating off the floor...yes, he's that good....ask for the Chef's menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VTMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“As fresh as can be.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great healthy food along with a fun atmosphere .mexican with a local flair. Relax setting in which you don't want to leave.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank titilulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fresh and amazing! Sat outside and ate six of the best tacos I have ever had. The owner wouldn't even let me pay for the first two !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitesurf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordito's Fresh Mex also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Gordito's Fresh Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing