We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Best cheap food in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordito's Fresh Mex

Gordito's Fresh Mex
Ranked #2 of 121 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gordito's Fresh Mex is a fast serve restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. We serve super fresh salad bowls, burritos and tacos. We can cater to children and vegans as well.Home of the famous "Mambo Fish Taco"
Cabarete
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cheap food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I eat there almost everyday. The food is consistently great and so is the friendly service. It is cheap and very fast. I have not a single bad word to say about this amazing establishment and it's lovely owners.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dadsmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    141
    32
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was by far my favorite place in Cabarete! After all of your activities, it is very filling food for a great price! It is more of a tex-mex style and the always have fresh fish and juices. But what sets Gorditos apart is the staff. I knew everyone by name after the first visit. I have food allergies and they were very accommodating, more so than the other restaurants I ate at while in Cabarete. I even tried their restaurant, Gorditos Cantina, and they were very particular about making sure that I got food that still tasted good. And when I got sick, they gave me complimentary coconut water. Finally, they made me a meal on my last evening to say good-bye. They really treat you like family. They will be my first stop when I get back to Cabarete!

Keep doing what you are doing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank byrneje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What can you say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The locals and tourists always pack this place out....Fish tacos are excellent and the guac is heavenly. Gordito's Cantina (next door) is even better if you want a more formal dining experience....the Cantina Chef is crazy. He'll have you eating off the floor...yes, he's that good....ask for the Chef's menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VTMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“As fresh as can be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great healthy food along with a fun atmosphere .mexican with a local flair. Relax setting in which you don't want to leave.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank titilulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fresh and amazing! Sat outside and ate six of the best tacos I have ever had. The owner wouldn't even let me pay for the first two !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitesurf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordito's Fresh Mex also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Gordito's Fresh Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing