We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst place to stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

If you want ultra modern rooms with horrible service, this is your kind of place. There were so many accidents of guests triping, banging their heads I was amazed this place still is there. You will eat away from hotel every night which at the price of the rooms per night, is sad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Earthgirlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanCIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Millennium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I am sorry that this was your impression of the resort. If you had stayed at Millennium, I think you would have formed a very different opinion.
If you had stayed here at Millennium, I think you would have found the rooms to be very comfortable, clean, and well-appointed. The hotel is just more than one year old, and I believe you would have found the beds to be luxurious, the amenities convenient, and the staff to be very hard-working and courteous.
Our property is on the beach and only a 7 minute walk from town. We offer peace and quiet at close proximity to all of the wonderful restaurants and nightlife of Cabarete.
Our restaurant is open every day for all meals and for room service. There is no need to eat away from the hotel unless you wish to experience one of the many wonderful restaurants in the area.
I do hope that if you stay with us one day, you will enjoy a wonderful holiday with here and have a review to write based on your experience as a guest. Writing a review of a property you did not stay at can misrepresent and undermine all of the wonderful features and hard work of the employees of this establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    57
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
105
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in a 3-bed suite and it was extremely spacious and comfortable with a large outdoor space overlooking the pool and beach and a full kitchen. This is a truly beach front hotel and for the price it's the best value beach front I've ever stayed in.

We ate at aqua restaurant a few times but found that only the pizzas were really good. Pastas were okay, salad was mediocre, breakfast on the only day we had it was awful. Walked along the beach to Cabarete coffee company a few times where breakfast was fast , fresh and tasty. Also took one of the efficient taxis alOng to Janet's in Cabarete for groceries, you can get everything there including great fresh papaya, pineapples and mango.

Internet speed is terrible and for some reason there are no in room phones in the larger apartments (don't know about the regular rooms) and cell reception was poor.

The pool and beach are very nice but they should look at providing more loungers as it seemed there were only 20 or so for the whole hotel.

I had a massage in the spa and the treatment room was clean and pleasant. The gym looks tiny on the website pics and it is tiny! One treadmill, one stairclImber, two adjustable benches and some weights and kettle bells.

Front desk is only ever staffed by one person which is challenging. Staff member frequently interrupts your query to answer the phone. As we were checking out there were people arriving for check in who were simply told to leave their bags in a side room and come back in 2 hours when check-in would begin!

At check out we were asked to pay $20 for a mislaid key card, which we declined to do as they could not produce any written evidence that this was their policy. We had also paid a $500 security deposit on arrival which we had to remind them of as there was no record of it in their system. Luckily we had the credit card receipt to show them but we felt quite shoddily treated at check out despite having enjoyed our stay. Front desk staff should be the hub of a great experience for visitors to a hotel, and it did feel a little as if we were checking out of a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Magsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the 3-Bedroom Deluxe with friends for 5 days. The condo and balcony was spacious and beautifully decorated. It was home away from home. I could easily live here. The balcony was spaticious and well furnished, perfect for watching the kite surfers. The Aqua grill on site is very good. There are many other beach front restaurants in walking distance. Janets is the best grocery store. (Will need a driver or car.) There are alot of beach vendors. The massages and fruit are very good. Be wary of the fake cigars. They will give you a real tester then sell you a box of moldy cigars. The best tip: There are heafty fees associated with Credit Card use at the Condo. They want cash upon check out. Overall, this vaction was better than an all-inclusive resort.

Room Tip: If you are older (40ish), you will want the rooms closest to the beach. The newer building is geare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed with my family at Millenium for 10 days and had a great time. The rooms were big and clean. The Spa and Gym areas were excellent. The infinity pool was an amazing way to spend the day while waiting for the wind to pick up. And great food at the Aqua restaurant. The service from all the staff was of the highest standards. This was our third time staying at Millenium and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donovjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel enough. This is a great vacation choice. The millennium is a wonderful hotel. It is in an excellent environment, right on the beach it reminds me of Aspen years ago (so beautiful). This is a true 5 star hotel at a great price. They have great service the staff makes you feel very welcome. They never let something go unnoticed. The Millennium hotel is a big part of why I can't wait to go to the Dominican Republic. It's a great escape from city life. I have vacationed there many times and I am never disappointed with the experience while staying there.


Joe P.

NY, NY

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

After going to St Barts for 20 years I am so happy that i found another paradise to vacation away to, which is cabarate. I have been visiting for the last seven years and since millennium opened two years ago I have booked all my stays there, it is a wonderful resort it has everything you need in one place. The food, service and beach are amazing and the staff is extremely polite and helpful. I am leaving for my next visit to millennium next week and i cannot wait to get back to my paradise. Pierre Ouaknine

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pierreouaknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The staff made me feel like family and the way they interact with each other is like family. I never went unnoticed. The staff addressed me by name and said good morning to me everyday. The hotel itself, although under construction, was very nice and comfortable. I wouldn't change a thing. I appreciate the security and truly had an amazing time. I intend to return to the island and the hotel in the next 6 months.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites overlook the ocean at an angel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.4 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
1,541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Resort & Spa

Property: Millennium Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Cabarete-Sosua, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabarete
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cabarete, Dominican Republic – one of the hottest vacation destinations in the world. As one of the most beautiful properties in the Dominican Republic, Millennium Resort offers one, two and three bedroom condominiums providing an exclusive, ultra-modern and luxe environment. At Millennium, experience the best in style, the best in comfort and the most spectacular ocean views in Cabarete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Cabarete
Millennium Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing