We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How and good Concierge and Service can make a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millennium Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“How and good Concierge and Service can make a difference”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Lovely well located hotel. Rooms are well appointed with great fresh and clean layout. Cleaning staff did an excellent job. The difference that made this hotel truly good was the Concierge who was attentive and on the mark with guest needs and requirements. She went out of her way to make our group feel comfortable and organised several events that more than made up for the slight lack of hotel service which at times was a little frustrating .
All in all a wonderful hotel which I will go back to .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirk g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    58
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
105
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Came by myself to kitesurf & it proved a great choice. Hotel feels brand new, super clean, and located right on the beach for super easy kite launch (see room reviews below). Perfectly manicured interior court garden leads from rooms to the infinity pool facing the pretty beach and the kites dancing on the water beyond it. From concierge Meghan to Delmy at the front desk, upbeat staff was both competent and helpful.

Either walked 10 minutes to the town center via the beach or took a cheap motorcycle-taxi ride into town at night. Not a big fan of riding on the back of motorcycles ---especially without a helmet- and probably wouldn't have done this if hadn't been alone much of the time.

Slightly inconvenient that restaurant, bar, and spa bills can't be added to hotel bill because they're run as independent businesses. Spa is small, but very nice. The restaurant food is clearly subpar for such a hotel and overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Garden Suite (room #325) & in a One Bedroom Suite (room # 121). Both sparkling whit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sachster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

To all those people who told us "you have to stay at an all-inclusive when you go to the Dominican Republic...it's not safe to be on your own", we're glad we doubted you. This statement is absolutely not true. Millennium is not an all-inclusive and we were perfectly safe during our entire 9 days there. The Millennium resort itself is lovely...nice and clean throughout the property from the entryway, to our hotel room, to the restaurant and pool area. Our one-bedroom was huge with a proper kitchen, dining area, living room and balcony. This made it easy enough to do some grocery shopping and then eat breakfast in, satisfying our picky son. The only thing that concerned us at the beginning of our search for the right location was the payment system. We weren't initially able to pay via credit card...the first half of our payment was via wire transfer from our bank. Not difficult, but not what we are used to elsewhere. However, our second (and final) payment was made via PayPal which was very easy. Perhaps the Millennium is moving in the direction of PayPal for all payments to make it easier for guests? Not sure, but even though we had to do a wire transfer initially, the Millennium staff sent me an email immediately to let us know the payment was received, confirming our reservation. May not be the way things are done here in the US, but a pain-free transaction none-the-less. And we couldn't be happier that we chose this location. The pool...so perfect for lounging...the beach, immediately beyond the pool...great restaurants within a 5 minute walk along the beach (Gordito's is right next door and not to be missed!). And this review cannot be complete with our thanks again to Meghan, the Concierge. She hooked us up with fantastic excursions and gave us her honest opinions when we inquired about a few that she could not wholeheartedly recommend. We appreciated that insight and every single organization she sent us to (3-2-1 Takeoff for surfing lessons, Iguana Mama for the Monkey Jungle, Rancho Lobo Gris for horseback riding, Dive Cabarete for snorkeling) was exceptional. We plan to return to the DR and when we do, we'll definitely stay at the Millennium again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bklyn_Girl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We enjoyed the hotel and the grounds, but we were disappointed that as
paying guests, it wasn't more exclusive. Each day during our stay
people were accessing the swimming pool who were not guests of the
hotel. We inquired with the local staff and were told that people were
allowed to use the pool if they were consuming in the restaurant. We
witnessed one group of about 10 people that shared 1 soda in the
restaurant and spent hours in the pool. That is not the kind of
atmosphere that I like to pay $100 a night to be a part of. A few of
the inidividuals were swimming in the pool in their underwear. I was
under the impression that the Millenium was a first rate hotel, but
this policy was an extreme disappointment. I am not likely to stay
again as long as this policy continues. Furthermore, I did not receive any response when I brought this up with the hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AV1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanCIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Millennium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
I must extend our apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. As we are not all-inclusive, we do extend to outside guests the opportunity to enjoy our infinity pool provided that they solicit our restaurant during that time. This practice is one that we have security monitor to ensure that no one is abusing this privilege or causing a disturbance.

We have also just increased our pool-side amenities to include more pool-side service so that all needs and requests are attended to immediately.

I do hope that the next time you are in Cabarete, you will come by and enjoy the restaurant and pool or give another stay with us a try. We always seek to improve our guest's experiences. While we enjoy great feedback, negative feedback only helps us to improve our services and the stay for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our stay at the Millennium Resort and Spa was everything I imagined. We had checked it out the website and it measured up perfectly. When we arrived we did not have any excursions planned, but the Meghan, the Concierge, knew the area well and set up everything. We went hiking into caves with spings, and kayaking in mountian rivers. It was great! The beach was wonderful for boogie boarding. Mornings were best by 1:00 PM the Kite surfers rule the waves. You can still swim but you need to be on the lookout. The room, service and spa were excellent.

Room Tip: Oceanview has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My stay at the Millenium Cabarete surpassed all of my expectations. The rooms were clean and comfortable and touted an appealing modern design. The property was well groomed, and had comfortable lounge chairs by the pool and beach. I was hopeful that the Millenium would stand up to the website photos, and I am pleased to share with readers that it absolutely does.

The accommodations seem to be marketed as condominiums (ie suites and residences) as opposed to standard hotel rooms. So it is wise not to expect 5 star service, although we were pleased that staff was friendly and helpful. The concierge, Meghan was terrific and she had endless advice and tips about Cabarete. Kudos to the team.

Just a word about Cabarete; if you have never been to the Dominican Republic before (which was the case for me), you might have heard mixed reviews about traveling to the Dominican Republic. I was very glad to find that Cabarete has incredible beaches, restaurants, water sports, and warm & friendly people. We loved it. Of course, do your homework ahead of time (re: currency, bottled water, taxis) and you will enjoy it too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benlaurenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in the Millennium Resort and Spa in april 2012.
After looking for different hotels we found Millennium. The images and video's on their website are really what it looks like in real life.

The appartment had a magnificant ocean view, was clean, modern and has everything you need.

A few steps from LEK - Laurel Eastman Kitesurf, which is located in front of the resort on the beach next to a very good restaurant called Ocean. Here you can eat nice dishes. A very welcome snack after a good kitesurf session :-)

Overall: it might not be the cheapest but you get all you ever wanted.

It seems that the resort is Miami style but it suits the kitesurf coast of Cabarete very good.

When we will return, no doubt we go back to Millennium Resort & Spa.

Keep up the good work guys

Roger

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogervu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.4 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
345 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Cabarete
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 21 in Cabarete
1,558 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Resort & Spa

Property: Millennium Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Cabarete-Sosua, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabarete
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cabarete, Dominican Republic – one of the hottest vacation destinations in the world. As one of the most beautiful properties in the Dominican Republic, Millennium Resort offers one, two and three bedroom condominiums providing an exclusive, ultra-modern and luxe environment. At Millennium, experience the best in style, the best in comfort and the most spectacular ocean views in Cabarete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Cabarete
Millennium Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing