We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Best Cabarete Kitesurfing School

GoKite is an amazing school to learn kite. Junior, Pedro and Richard are excellent instructors... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
410dafnec
best place to learn

went on vacation and decide to take some kite classes , the place have a great vibe , Gianluca was... read more

Reviewed July 28, 2021
angelf192
Read all 259 reviews
  
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
242
12
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
242
12
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punta rucia kite beach these guys the owner amazing team package deal positive experience great instructor awesome experience windy days supervision richard equipment crew junior slingshot safety
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 259 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2017

We spent 10 days in Cabarete and 5 of those had good enough winds to work on our novice kiting skills. Richard was great to interact with, and his guide Gabriel taught me how to stay upwind. At one point I crashed the kite out by the reef and couldn't relaunch it due to the waves and slack lines . One his guys, Bico, kited out, retrieved the kite, then came back and gave me a tow back to shore. Great crew of guys.

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Malzbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

We had a great time at the school. Instructors were very helpful and fun to work with. They were able to help with any questions I had and certainly helped me make a big improvement in my mechanics. The location is also great, conditions are perfect for beginners and once you start riding you cant ask for anything better. I definitely recommend to anyone visiting for a short or long-term stay.

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank dancav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

There are lots of kite schools on Kite Beach in Cabarete however I found this school the best for a beginner. The staff are terrific and very helpful. They have great equipment and make the learning process, which can be frustrating for a novice fun and informative and are super helpful and encouraging. Really enjoyed my lessons with the guys and will definatley use their services again!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank PhillipsNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

I spent some time in Cabarete this winter and wanted to take some kitesurfing lessons. There is a lot of schools and choosing one can be overwhelming! I chose Go Kite , they made me feel welcome right away. Richard the owner and Gabriel the manager were always keen to provide me with the best experience possible and tailor a package to meet my specific need at the best price (very flexible). Dealing with Richard and Gabriel was always a pleasure, they are both very friendly and highly professional. The equipment is top notch and very well maintained thanks to Papo who is always eager to help you with a smile, in short a great guy and very knowledgeable in all kite maters. The staff , Juan Carlos, Solon, Junior, Anthony, Raoul, Jean-André are the soul of the school! They are very very patient with newbies like me and always have good words of encouragement creating a great environment in which to learn. The overall vibe at the school is awesome! I didn't regret my choice one bit, they will make you fell welcome no matter your level. Thanks to all at Go kite for a great time, see you next year!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Claude_Leduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

I've spent decades wintering in Cabarete & was instantly hooked when I first saw kiters at Kite Beach around 2000. In the early 2000's, Richard Díaz, owner of GoKite, was my supervisor & helped me to kiting proficiency. RIchard was the first native Dominican to open a kite school in Cabarete. He trains & employs young men from the area and encourages them to learn english and continue their studies in general.
GoKite is a great place to learn to kite for all ages. They have the latest & best gear & stress safety at all times. GoKite teachers all have many years of experience, english fluency & can tailor a program that suits each individual student's strengths. They make it possible for almost anyone, of all ages to become a kiteboarder.
All this is coupled with an atmosphere that is friendly, supportive of all levels of kiter and truly international. I hang out there most afternoon's from mid January until the end of March. Ask the guys "Which one is Alex?". I'll see you there!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank BorisAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews