We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiting Success with GoKite!”

Gokite Cabarete Kiteboarding School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cabarete is loved for windsurfing, surfing as well as kiteboarding. With constant trade winds and warm waters, Gokite Cabarete is the ideal place to learn Kiteboarding. You will find us located at Extreme Hotel on Kite Beach Cabarete.
Reviewed April 9, 2017

Stayed at Extreme Hotel and my boyfriend and I got the learn-to-kite package. The GoKite team was friendly, knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed teaching. While the wind wasn't the best our week (which is rare), the instructors made sure conditions were right for learning so that we weren't frustrated. We got up within the week, had a great time and now we're getting kite of our own . . . we'll be back!

Thank Gemyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"extreme hotel"
in 34 reviews
"juan carlos"
in 10 reviews
"kite beach"
in 25 reviews
"kiteboarding school"
in 14 reviews
"the owner"
in 16 reviews
"these guys"
in 12 reviews
"punta rucia"
in 2 reviews
"quality equipment"
in 2 reviews
"great equipment"
in 6 reviews
"great place to learn"
in 8 reviews
"amazing team"
in 3 reviews
"best deal"
in 3 reviews
"returned home"
in 2 reviews
"from scratch"
in 2 reviews
"total beginner"
in 2 reviews
"experienced staff"
in 2 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 3 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 191 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2017

The staff and instructors at GoKite were professional, helpful, flexible, and just plain fun. The facility is great, they have plenty of quality equipment, and the restaurant/bar is nice to have close by. GoKite worked around our schedule and the wind conditions. We had a great experience and will definitely be back.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank bisschopsmarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017

Joel was a great instructor. Had me up & kiting in 3 days, about 7 hours of lessons. If I had more energy I would have been up sooner. They have a ton of gear and won't hesitate to swap out kites and boards etc. Great school for a total beginner.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Nate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Came to Cabarete to enjoy some sun and saw the kites. Flown for a bit years ago, but not in over 6 years. Got a referral to Gokite and they set me up with a refresher lesson and equipment. Top notch staff and service, can't wait to get back out there again.

Thank TorontoBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2017

We wanted to get photos of us kitesurfing, paid $30.00 US. They promised to upload the photos within a day or two, but never did. I called after a week, they were blaming the rains for poor internet connection.
I have a bad feeling that we will never get these photos.

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokitecabarete, Owner at Gokite Cabarete Kiteboarding School, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2017

Hi Michael,
we are very sorry that you had to wait for over a week to receive your photos.

Like we mentioned before, we were (and are) having problems with the internet access, as everyone else in the area—especially after the 3-month period of non-stop rain that we just went through.

It took us 6 days of trying to upload, until we decided to process all the photos and reduce their file size, in order to email them to you.

On our end, we’re trying to remedy this situation the best we can, from constantly reviewing the equipment, to purchasing additional wifi packages—but when it comes to the infrastructure, we can’t do much except calling the service providers almost every day…

Again, we’re very sorry for your bad experience, and hope you’ll understand that we’re dealing with non(and sub)-standard conditions here, and that things sometimes don’t go as planned.

Anyway, we hope you enjoy your photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gokite Cabarete Kiteboarding School also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Gokite Cabarete Kiteboarding School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing